Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are Arthur Waley's words "very easy to understand"?
This is the first translation of Tao Te Ching (pronounced Dao De Jing) that I read and I felt that it was superb at the time. However I have since come to doubt the Arthur Waley's translation simply because of his arrogant introduction where he claims that all of the 800-odd translations before his fail to "get to the heart of the Tao Te Ching." As Master Cheng Man-Ching...
Published on 23 Feb. 2005 by rp

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
really poor quality,some print missing.
not good.
Published 2 months ago by Indogo beauchamp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are Arthur Waley's words "very easy to understand"?, 23 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
This is the first translation of Tao Te Ching (pronounced Dao De Jing) that I read and I felt that it was superb at the time. However I have since come to doubt the Arthur Waley's translation simply because of his arrogant introduction where he claims that all of the 800-odd translations before his fail to "get to the heart of the Tao Te Ching." As Master Cheng Man-Ching states "Lao Tzu wrote 'My words are very easy to understand' so why are we still left in the dark?"
I suspect the truth is that there is no definitive translation of Tao Te Ching. Instead you have to choose one that is tailored to your specific needs. Waley's serves as a good introduction, but adjusts the text (very, very slightly) to suit the needs of the reader with a grounding in Western schools of philosophy. This is the impression I get.
If you are more interested in the Eastern perspective, especially
the relationship between the Tao and Chi, then I would recommend Cheng Man-Ching's translation with running commentary, titled My Words Are Very Easy To Understand.
I also found Waley's footnotes to be a little obtrusive and not greatly informative. However, these are minor complaints. On the whole I would recommend this translation. Arthur Waley knows more about the Tao Te Ching than I do. But is he a Taoist himself or just a very good scholar? After reading his translation I think you'll know the answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, but good., 13 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
This is a very small book but contains very important and interesting material for everyone who sympathises with philosophy or religion. Also a very good self help book giving you deep information on how to empty the mind, become calmer and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
The words in this book helped me see the world with better clarity. I found that I already agreed with much of the ideas and reading them in the Tao Te Ching reaffirmed my beliefs. I felt so empowered even months after reading this that I now want a tattoo that symbolises the balance of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
This translation of the book of the way truly captures Lao Tzu's original meanings. Having read many trnslations i have found this to be the best that is out there at the moment. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He who has wide learning does not know..., 5 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
For others like me who are interested in some of the world's most fascinating literatures on politics, war, poetry, culture, etc. this is one book to certainly get one's intellectual teeth into. A book more moral in tone that mystical, it aims to direct the reader towards a manner of thought that is as old as China itself. Make of it what you will for that is the capacity (or incapacity) of this piece of literature. It can be enjoyed as a manual for living, transcripts of a religious belief, indirect insight into a culture or merely for its poetry alone. But it is none of these, yet all of them at once too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest writing ever., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I was introduced to this book when I was quite young, Reading it many times the wisdom slowly thinks in. I used the wonderful book as a bithday present for a good friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
really poor quality,some print missing.
not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
one of the finest books youll ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Brilliant.
Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Not the right one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature)
Tao Te Ching (Classics of World Literature) by Lao Tzu (Paperback - 5 Jan. 1997)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews