Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dubya Be - I had no idea
Over the last few months I have found myself writing a lot of poetry. This is something I've always dabbled in, but that seems lately to have acquired a new urgency and facility. As a result I have found myself reading a lot more poetry than I have at any point since my twenties when my early favourites were established (I've just turned fifty one). My recent reading...
Published on 11 May 2009 by John Ferngrove

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Messily done
Contrary to the title, this in fact contains no table of contents at all, nor title page or introduction, but launches straight into the poems. There seems to be a good selection arranged by date and publication, but no verse structure has been maintained, each poem is just one big block of text. This, along with some typos and the fact that a few of my favourites are...
Published on 26 April 2011 by auryx


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Format of the eBook is very poor, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lines of poetry are not set out properly and this makes reading or speaking the verses difficult. For an example - the poem 'Easter 1916' has line breaks where they should not be line breaks and does not have line breaks where they ought to be (see 'loc 1561' as one example of many).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive collection, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Actually received a newer edition, but it is still the definitive collection. This came recommended by my professor and is a 'must have' collection of poems for anyone studying Yeats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and excellent value for money., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Angel House "Poet" (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
This collection of all of Yeats's poetry is great value for money. His poems are organised by collection so the reader can follow the sequence of his work. One minor irritation which is why I have only given four out of five is that the poems run on after each other - rather than starting a new page for a new poem. Of course, this saves paper and makes the book a smaller size. It is just something that takes a bit of getting used and then it is fine. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Collected Poems of W B Yeats - A Review by Barry Van-Asten, 27 April 2012
By 
Mr. B. P. Van-asten (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
This classic introduction to W B Yeats (1865-1939) and his collected poems is a real work of art, and as can be seen the poetic strength of the great Irish nationalist, who was well versed in his native Irish mythology, does not diminish through his progression into old age. Here you will find the romantic lyricism of his early poems with their Celtic twilight, magical woods and fairies in such collections as his `Crossways' (1889) with its `Down by the Sally Gardens' and `The Rose' (1893) with the wonderful `Lake Isle of Innisfree'. Yeats found inspiration from his unrequited love for Maude Gonne, an ardent revolutionary, in collections such as `The Wind among the Reeds' (1899); `In the Seven Woods' (1904) to his infinitely beautiful `The Wild Swans at Coole' (1919). Then there are his more mature and political poems [he served as a senator of the Irish Free State from 1922-1928]: `Michael Robartes and the Dancer' (1921) with the astonishing `Easter 1916' and the great prophetic poem `The Second Coming'. `The Tower' (1928) contains his `Sailing to Byzantium'... Then there is `The Winding Stair and Other Poems' (1933) to `New Poems' (1938) with `The Gyres' and his `Final Poems' (1938-39) and `Under Ben Bulben'.
Yeats became interested in the Theatre and he created an Irish National Theatre; his narrative and dramatic works are also included, from his `The Wanderings of Oisin' (1889) and `The Shadowy Waters' (1906) to his `The Two Kings' (1914).
For me, Yeats is a giant among modern poetry and there are elements of Wordsworth's nature poems, Spencer's fairy kingdoms and Blake's `occult and mystical' realms in the collected poems. Yeats was a member of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn and he was more than familiar with occult symbols, ceremonial magic and demonology; yet for all this, I find there is something curious about the man, a sort of `anaemia'; a `wateriness' where there should be `steel'! But that said, his words are blood which pulse between worlds - an unseen world of ghosts and fairies and a world of political unrest. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Collected Poems of W B Yeats, 25 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
This book was bought for my husband, it arrived quickly and in pristine condition. What more can you say, but excellent and much appreciated!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry by W.B. Yeates, 8 Nov 2011
By 
M. P. Newman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything I expected from Ireland's greatest poet. Craft impeccable, contents always thought-provoking (even in the short lyrics). Beginner poets could do worse than buy and study this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collected Yeats - hardcover, 27 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected Poems (Hardcover)
I was fortunate enough to purchase this text cheaply at a book fair with its accompanying guide. It is a well-produced book - sewn sections, firmly glued - typical of Macmillan's publishing standard.

Yeats needs no recommendation from me, especially if readers have found their way here looking for a comprehensive anthology. I recommend this to anyone with an interest in Yeats and, if readers are able to purchase it at this price I paid, it is a real bargain. (I have been unable to find its accompanying guide volume on Amazon, but recommend it too; it is almost the same size and looks very like the anthology.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collected Yeats, 27 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I was fortunate enough to purchase this text cheaply at a book fair with its accompanying guide. It is a well-produced book - sewn sections, firmly glued - typical of Macmillan's publishing standard.

Yeats needs no recommendation from me, especially if readers have found their way here looking for a comprehensive anthology. I recommend this to anyone with an interest in Yeats and, if readers are able to purchase it at this price I paid, it is a real bargain. (I have been unable to find its accompanying guide volume on Amazon, but recommend it too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
So nice a poet!
It's one of the most beautiful English book of poems I've ever read.
And a very nice edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the time., 10 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I began reading Yeat's collected poems twenty-five years ago and still turn to them regularly. The best ones do not fade with time but provide increasing enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0468dc)

This product

The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry Library)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews