Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, great selection.
I'm also reviewing the edition, and not the author himself: that's a job for the literary critics.
Formally, this edition has many good features: the font size is just right, not too common in cheap editions for 800-page tomes; the notes are very helpful; and succint introductions are supplied.
It doesn't get 5 starts for a minor flaw in the content. A very good...
Published on 10 Dec. 2008 by Wolfgang

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My review is against this version, rather than Byron himself
This is quite a disappointing version of Byron's works, it does contain "Don Juan", but it only contains extracts from "Childe Harold's Pilgrimage" which is the better book and true source of the Byronic hero, i would suggest a different collection of his works as this does not do him justice, i would suggest Lord Byron: The Major Works (Oxford World's Classics) as a...
Published on 21 Mar. 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, great selection., 10 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Selected Poems of Lord Byron: Including Don Juan and Other Poems (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
I'm also reviewing the edition, and not the author himself: that's a job for the literary critics.
Formally, this edition has many good features: the font size is just right, not too common in cheap editions for 800-page tomes; the notes are very helpful; and succint introductions are supplied.
It doesn't get 5 starts for a minor flaw in the content. A very good surprise was that it contains the whole of Don Juan, arguably Byron's masterpiece. However, I can't disguise my disappointment at not finding two of Byron's most famous short poems, "So we'll go no more a-roving" and the superb "She walks in beauty".
Overall, a fairly good edition. Byron is a must in any library, and this book fills the gap in the Romantic period shelf neatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My review is against this version, rather than Byron himself, 21 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Selected Poems of Lord Byron: Including Don Juan and Other Poems (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
This is quite a disappointing version of Byron's works, it does contain "Don Juan", but it only contains extracts from "Childe Harold's Pilgrimage" which is the better book and true source of the Byronic hero, i would suggest a different collection of his works as this does not do him justice, i would suggest Lord Byron: The Major Works (Oxford World's Classics) as a better collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as presented, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems of Lord Byron: Including Don Juan and Other Poems (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
This was a full paperback edition of Byron in the Wordsworth series but was pretty old and looked nothing like the advertised copy on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Byron the Hero, 31 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Selected Poems of Lord Byron: Including Don Juan and Other Poems (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
Byron is, by definition, a puzzle of a poet. He adores baiting and testing the reader with his piquant mixture of gossip, gravitas and grace. The poet is capable of ascending into 'high' poetry, and amusing himself with the crudest of jibes at the expense of his esteemed Romantic peers. 'Don Juan' is the perfect example of this tendency in the poetry, and Byron's melancholic reputation is revealed to be a part of this theatrical poet's act. His technical mastery is difficult to better, and his sense of play allows him to subvert the epic in an almost revolutionary style, provoking even modern critics into a frenzy of disagreement as to his true achievement. Joyce and Dostoevsky are his true inheritors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems of Lord Byron: Including Don Juan and Other Poems (Wordsworth Poetry Library) (Paperback)
very good and as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews