Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars27
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2008
This rating is only for the paperback version not the text itself. The quality of this version is so horrible that I can not even read it and have to buy the hardcover version. Don't make the same misstake I did!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Wow! I didn't expect it to be so thick! This will keep me going foe a little while. Have always admired O.W. but didn't know his background, this book tells it in detail. Fast delivery. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
This review is more about the product it self than about the contents. I mean, we all know Oscar Wilde, it's a big classic and people who buy it usually know what they do.
SO, the book i received is the not the one showed : the cover is different. But it really doesn't matter because it's still nice. The inside contents are well presented, nice and cosy to read.
It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Thumbs up !
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 1999
It's not really necessary to say that Wilde is one of the best authors ever. His works are obligatory to any serious reader's bookshelf. If you are not a native English speaker, it's also a good fountain of vocabulary and "Brit" wit. Well done Oscar, wherever you are!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I read De Profundis. If you haven't already, you should too. It's stunning - an incredibly moving, profound and beautifully written piece of prose. Wilde, languishing alone in Reading Gaol, approaching the end of his two-year sentence for gross indecency, is writing to Lord Alfred Douglas, the vain, empty-headed, upper-crust young man whose outrageous, selfish behaviour brought him to ruin. In his letter, Wilde talks of the misery and shame he has endured since his conviction and imprisonment. He talks of his mistakes and regrets, of the 'revolting scandal' that led to his downfall, of the effect that his disgrace has had on his family. And he talks too, brilliantly and with heartbreaking clarity, of the love and humility and wisdom that he has found in his suffering. "Where there is Sorrow there is holy ground," Wilde tells his former lover, whose arrogance and stupidity he has long since forgiven. "Some day you will realise what that means. You will know nothing of life till you do."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 1998
Whoa! I was totally unfamiliar with the works of Oscar Wilde, until I bought this one on a friend's recommendation. It's huuuuuge, yet incredibly beautiful. Dorian Gray must be one of the greatest stories ever told, his poems are razor-sharp, his letters not less, and every line he comes up with is quotable. If you want to make sure you don't miss a thing, this is the book to get (and try his biography, especially the part about the trial).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
The kindle edition does not contain De Profundis. I bought this in my desperate search for a way to read De Profundis in its entirety (which is harder than it might initially appear), and this is not the solution. Furthermore, it does not have Teleny, either. It's hardly the complete works, and I would advise attaining another edition.
Two stars, because I do not have the heart to give anything associated with Wilde one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
As new Amazon customer I was very disapointed with this as all it contained was The Picture of Dorian Grey and The Importance of Being Earnest. It promised the Complete works but they are nowhere to be found. I have no idea how to complain to a company like Amazon, so hpefully this negative review will warn others of the problem and if Amazon want to refund me for the purchase that would be good
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
I bought this used and it was in good condition and at a very good price. I didn't read the plays, but apart from those I found the compilation extremely worthwhile reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Kindle edition: Chapter 10 appears before chapters 7, 8 and 9 in The Picture of Dorian Gray, making for a confusing and frustrating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse