Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linguistic Nostalgia for the Raj
This is a concise version of the original which is a very sad thing. Nowhere in the ordering information the word "concise" was mentioned. In that sense it was a let down.

Nevertheless,the book is a great treasure trove of the Anglo-Indian terms. A must for any student of modern Indian philology or to anyone interested in the Raj lore. The book was first...
Published on 10 Mar. 2010 by Satish Nimkar

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has not been updated for current Anglo-Indian speech
I am Indian and although not Anglo-Indian grew up around the large Anglo-Indian community in my hometown, and all my life have enjoyed their colourful, distinctive ways of speaking English. So when I bought this dictionary I expected to find some of that in here. But have to say this is more a 'historical' guide, in the sense that you have a much better chance of finding...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by A. Raghu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linguistic Nostalgia for the Raj, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
Satish Nimkar (Barcelona,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
This is a concise version of the original which is a very sad thing. Nowhere in the ordering information the word "concise" was mentioned. In that sense it was a let down.

Nevertheless,the book is a great treasure trove of the Anglo-Indian terms. A must for any student of modern Indian philology or to anyone interested in the Raj lore. The book was first published in 1886,meant as a help to any Englishman going to India to serve the Queen and the Empire: for the civil servants,soldiers,memsahibs,missionaries, fortune hunters etc. Apart from being a concise version,it has another drawback. There is no information whatsoever about the compilers of this wonderful miscellany.

Sir Henry Yule (1820-1889) was a Scottish Orientalist. A member of the Bengal Engineers, having served in both the Sikh Wars, he was a member of the Council of India, and advisor to the Oxford English Dictionary in Oriental matters.

A.C.Burnell(1840-1882)a English scholar in Sanskrit. He was a member of the Indian Civil Service in South India,having also the excellent knowledge of South Indian and other exotic languages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, and endlessly fascinating and instructive, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
Barry J. Tabor (Cambridgeshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
This is a book that was recommended to me by an old Indophile, as a provider of insights into words and ideas whose meanings and origins are now lost to most of us now. 'Anglo-Indian Dictionary' may be an accurate definition, but it only tells a bit of what this book is into. At this price, if you have any interest at all in India and her history, but were not born there, you will find this reprint of a very old book endlessly fascinating and useful to help you understand countless historical and other books and records about the place, and when you discuss anything Indian with a native Indian interested in his or her own birthright. Take 'pukkah' and 'kachcha' as an example...... or 'Hobson-Jobson' itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Glimpse into the Past, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
The Hobson-Jobson Dictionary is a wonderful way to take a glimpse into the world of the 19th century empire. A delightful book to browse through on a rainy Sunday afternoon while smoking a pipe and bringing back to living memory a long-forgotten world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 28 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
I have looked for this book for years having decided to buy it from a little corner bookshop about 20 years ago then returned the next week to find the old bookshop had gone bankrupt and was empty of stock !!!
it is times like this you can depend on amazon
extensive researched text if now slightly dated in content
an historical document of a bygone age and really enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Concise Hobson Jobson, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
A diverting dip into languages and how these cross borders with so much ease. Not a book to read from cover to cover - more something to dip into from time to time. It makes for a perfect book for the bathroom :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have the full version of the book which I found very useful when I lived in India and I recommended it ..., 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
I bought this for a neighbour who was born and brought up in India. I have the full version of the book which I found very useful when I lived in India and I recommended it to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hobson-jobson dectionary, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
This is great fun as a book to dip into. Within a couple of days of receiving it, I answered 2 questions on TV quizzes that I couldn't have answered before. Great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shelf book, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
One of those books that's really interesting but you don't read it from cover to cover. You find it every so often and lean something new by flipping threw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anglo-Indian Dictionary, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
This is a fascinating work of reference about the linguistic and cultural heritage we have from the time of the British in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and amusing read, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference) (Paperback)
Enjoyable and informative read, you lose a little in concise version from full but a quick and easy reference for most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Concise Hobson-Jobson: An Anglo-Indian Dictionary (Wordsworth Reference)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews