Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, insightful and entertaining - Shakespeare at his best
Whilst I would tend not to review classic literature there was something about this tale of deception and love that compelled me to review it. On seeing there were few reviews on here, I would like to present my opinion that this is one of Shakespeare's lesser known but still entertaining and though-provoking works. Still culturally relevant, I read this to prepare for a...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by Jack Percival

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor formatting
This play is presented in Kindle format exactly as it appears on the printed page. The notes are included after whichever line they appear under in the printed text: since the Kindle pages are not the same length, they frequently appear in the middle of the page on Kindle.
Published on 8 Sep 2011 by Scribble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, insightful and entertaining - Shakespeare at his best, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Whilst I would tend not to review classic literature there was something about this tale of deception and love that compelled me to review it. On seeing there were few reviews on here, I would like to present my opinion that this is one of Shakespeare's lesser known but still entertaining and though-provoking works. Still culturally relevant, I read this to prepare for a performance that I thoroughly enjoyed, mainly due to this text. At this price, I would put it down as something that everyone must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor formatting, 8 Sep 2011
This play is presented in Kindle format exactly as it appears on the printed page. The notes are included after whichever line they appear under in the printed text: since the Kindle pages are not the same length, they frequently appear in the middle of the page on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Measured text, 12 Dec 2010
My first experience of Shakespeare's problem play about sex and legalism was as a set exam text I had to teach this year. This edition of the play text is ideal for both GCSE and A-Level, and would also be appropriate for younger Secondary school students should it be on the curriculum. Unlike the Cambridge New Shakespeare version, the supporting text and layout are extremely accessible, although unlike that edition it is slightly lightweight in terms of academic detail.
Overall I would definitely recommend this for both students and teachers of the play, and for those simply interested in understanding the play better it would also be well suited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Formatting Fail, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The notes do not appear at the bottom of the kindle screen, nor is there a hyperlink from the term. It is as if the pages were taken from the paper edition and simply kindle-ized without reference to how the text would appear on the screen. Therefore, the page notes generally appear on the following page, somewhere perhaps in the middle of the page, sort of at random and based on the general formatting of the play itself. There's no rhyme or reason. But in general, where the notes fall on the following page, this requires one to go back and forth to access the notes. This could be bearable, given the cheapness of price, but the lines of the play are not numbered. The notes are numbered - but what good is a numbered note if one doesn't know what line number one is on? In addition, the notes follow one after the other, not as in a list with each note occupying its own line, but one after the other, in paragraph form, making for a very tedious, eyeball wrenching experience. Even for the discounted price, this edition is not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Measure for Measure, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this before going to see an outdoor performance and it certainly helped me to understand the plot, however it was a good job I wasn't relying on the notes as they seemed to be all over the shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his greats, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I don't think this is one of Shakespeare's greats but as an edition it does the job if you want the text and not much more (the notes aren't worth bothering about).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Measure for Measure review, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I am studying English Literature at A-Level and this book is great because I only needed to look at a few of the key scenes. There are notes at the end of the book as a glossary section, which makes it incredibly helpful to understand what Shakespeare's characters were saying in modern day English. The affordable price makes it even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for son for his A level course, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Arrived very quickly, new so very pleased, excellent value for money, i would order again from this web site thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very glad to get this free of charge, and enjoyed reading it. I plan to recommend it to my friends. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Measure for Measure, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
One of my favourite Shakespearean plays. Text clear and very affordable, easily transportable and useful for quick reference. I enjoyed re-reading this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics)
Measure for Measure (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 1 May 1995)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews