Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Hardy's best, but profound - and wonderfully atmospheric - nonetheless
First published in instalments in 1878, The Return of the Native is still an immensely readable and engaging story well over a century later. It's the tale of how the return to Egdon Heath (a fictionalised version of Dorset's Canford Heath) of native son Clym Yeobright affects the lives of those around him: proud, bored romantic Eustacia Vye (whom he marries despite the...
Published on 15 Oct. 2010 by Jeremy Bevan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!
I reluctantly read this book for a Book Club meeting, expecting it, as one of Thomas Hardy's books, to be tedious and it was! It was an interesting look into social conventions of the time, but the story was dull, descriptions of the countryside were overly long and the relationships were not very believable.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs S Rickerby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in every sense, 12 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real delight to hear this great story beautifully read, in its unabridged form, by brilliant Alan Rickman. Perfect for cold winter evenings by the fire ! Highly recommended, particularly at its reduced price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 23 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
What a wonderful book. I read this whilst on holiday in a countryside village which turned out to be the perfect place to read it. I couldn't put it down. It's well plotted with interesting characters. The dialogue and interplay between the background characters is particularly entertaining.

It certainly has its dark side with the brooding menace of the moor either constricting or exalting each character depending upon their personality and mood. There is also a slightly disturbing voyeuristic theme to it with characters assuming they are alone in the vast empty wilderness but often being secretly spied upon.

Rich and engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
i got this book for my english literature coursework. the pages are a good thickness for writing notes in the margins without causing tearing or imprints on other pages. the cover and spine are also holding up well against the battering it takes in my school bag. i didn't expect to enjoy the book based on what my friends said, but I've loved every word. i guess its more for some people then others. some of the language is a bit archaic and the description is dense so i don't know if anyone but those who really love sinking their teeth into a book would like it, but personally, as a die hard reader, i would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great characters, 11 April 2013
This review is from: The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This is a very good book, despite Hardy displaying his tendency to use over-elaborate prose. There are so many different descriptions of Egdon Heath- each blade of grass, each gorse bush, every pond....and the wild, wild weather, that one loses sight of the story!
But persevere! The characters are magnificent and the story is gripping- the reader is really involved by the end. Each of the main characters is rounded and believable, Clym, Thomasin, Eustacia, Wildeve (should have been called Wildeye!) and, above all, Diggery Venn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading of a less than excellent book, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was challenged to read Return of the Native about 30 years ago, but found it tough going and have never managed to stay interested enough to get even halfway through - the only "classic" I've ever given up on. Finally bought this set, thinking I could read along to the sublime voice of Alan Rickman. It worked! Have finally finished the book (only slightly cheating, but it really was sloooow going) and, as a bonus, have that wonderful voice to soothe me to sleep any night I want...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting Hardy., 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Dr. David Rands (Romsey, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Returning, like the native, to Hardy's novels, after a 60-year break, I find I'm not as enthusiastic as I was - but I haven't finished it yet, so it's too early for a considered review. He was a great story-teller with an unsentimental view of human tragedy & joy, and his portrayal of the Wessex landscape and natives is delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I reluctantly read this book for a Book Club meeting, expecting it, as one of Thomas Hardy's books, to be tedious and it was! It was an interesting look into social conventions of the time, but the story was dull, descriptions of the countryside were overly long and the relationships were not very believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure bliss !, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complete and unabridged.

The beauty of Thomas Hardy's language, his amazing talant for description, an intriguing story and very powerful story. Combine all those with the meliflous voice and perfect diction of Alan Rickman. What more do I need to say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raven-haired hotty takes on Egdon Heath, 13 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. J. Wade "thebardofb6" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Underneath the dense verbiage of the Hardy prose, lies a superb tale. The story of an exotic-looking maid, with the sort of mouth Hardy takes a page to describe. With her daddy coming from Corfu, she brings a raven-haired exotic beauty to the dower and sombre Egdon Heath. She's eaten up with a wanting and a yearning and she'll do anything and ruin any life to get what she wants. So this young vixen needs a man but she can't make her mind up. Her burning passion and love of drama fuel a self-destructive caprice. Blinded by her own narcissism and egotism. Karma? Nemesis? A deus ex machina dressed in red. A snake in the grass. She must escape. She must. Will she? Hardy's exquisitely constructed mechanism relentlessly ticks away, bringing her closer, closer to her fate. Amusing country yokels prividing comic relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully descriptive writing, 6 July 2013
By 
Diana (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a real pleasure to read a book written by a classic writer. I hadn't realised how much more enjoyable it makes reading! Haven't finished the book yet but look forward to each time I sit down to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics)
The Return of the Native (Wordsworth Classics) by Thomas Hardy (Paperback - 5 Feb. 1995)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews