Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable
i very much enjoyed this novel and can't understand why it has only 3 stars when it is of superb literary character. Very charlotte bronte, reminded me of vilette, with most of the novel set away from england - cue lots of french, which unless you are fluent means alot of time flicking back to the notes section. However the plot line is charming, in the introduction...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by mrs_t

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars COULD DO BETTER
THIS WAS MY FIRST KINDLE BOOK SO I SPENT THE FIRST FEW CHAPTERS GETTING TO KNOW HOW TO USE IT. I WELCOMED THE EASY TO USE DICTIONARY, AS CHARLOTTE BRONTE USES SOME WORDS THAT WERE UNFAMILIAR TO ME. I DIDN'T CARE FOR HER CHARACTERS, BUT AS SHE HAD SUCH A LIMITED EXPERIENCE OF LIFE,THEY REFLECTED THIS. I HAVE READ MUCH BETTER BRONTE NOVELS, AND NOW KNOW WHY THIS ONE IS LESS...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. M. A. Grimble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i very much enjoyed this novel and can't understand why it has only 3 stars when it is of superb literary character. Very charlotte bronte, reminded me of vilette, with most of the novel set away from england - cue lots of french, which unless you are fluent means alot of time flicking back to the notes section. However the plot line is charming, in the introduction charlotte is said to have stated that she refused to give her protagonist an easy time, that he would have to earn his money and his wife..and that he does. It is essentially a love story from the male perspective - which is a lovely change from the austin swooning/ heart racing/ carrying on's of some novels
i found it charming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Professor (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I don't understand why this book, Charlotte's first, which she wrote before Jane Eyre, was rejected for publication at the time. I thoroughly enjoyed this book just as much as all her others. The book is beautifully written, if not as powerful as her later works, she nonetheless still exhibits her brilliance & talent as a writer. I would highly recommend this book to all Bronte fans. I just wish the sisters had lived longer to produce more wonderful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author's first novel, 22 Mar 2006
By 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professor (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Readers aspiring to have a knowledge of Charlotte Brontë’s work should read "The Professor" as it contains the key to much of her subsequent writing like "Jane Eyre" or "Vilette". The novel is based on the author’s own experiences in Brussels. The central character, William Crimsworth, an orphan, leaves his dreary clerking post in a Yorkshire mill to start a career as a teacher of English in the Belgian capital. He falls in love with a Protestant pupil, Frances Henri, teacher and lace mender. However William’s relationship is complicated by the manipulative and beguiling Catholic headmistress, Zoraide Reuter, and her cunning attempts to divert him from his destiny.
The novel, written in 1846, astonishes by its brevity and realism and by its portrayal of the heroine’s insistence on a working career after her marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professor (Kindle Edition)
I think it's wonderful that one can enjoy such classics for completely free. I loved the book, as I love all of the Brontė's novels. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professor (Kindle Edition)
I have read this many times and still love it u cant beat a fab classic..every one should red this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars COULD DO BETTER, 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professor (Kindle Edition)
THIS WAS MY FIRST KINDLE BOOK SO I SPENT THE FIRST FEW CHAPTERS GETTING TO KNOW HOW TO USE IT. I WELCOMED THE EASY TO USE DICTIONARY, AS CHARLOTTE BRONTE USES SOME WORDS THAT WERE UNFAMILIAR TO ME. I DIDN'T CARE FOR HER CHARACTERS, BUT AS SHE HAD SUCH A LIMITED EXPERIENCE OF LIFE,THEY REFLECTED THIS. I HAVE READ MUCH BETTER BRONTE NOVELS, AND NOW KNOW WHY THIS ONE IS LESS WELL KNOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Charlotte Bronte book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professor (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book for all the Charlotte Bronte fans out there. It was well worth downloading and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The main character is a self-made man, 1 Feb 2011
THIS IS CHARLOTTE BRONTE'S FIRST BOOK, BUT NOT A FIRST ATTEMPT, AS THE WRITER SPECIFIES IN HER PREFACE AT THE BEGINNING OF THE BOOK. NICE PLOT, NICE CHARACTERS.... THIS IS A NOVEL ABOUT TWO PARALLEL SUCCESSFUL CAREERS... WILLIAM AND FRANCES ACHIEVE A POSITION IN THE WORLD ONLY BY THE SWEAT OF THEIR BROW.

HERE IS A SHORT PLOT (NO SPOILER ABOUT THE ENDING!!! DON'T WORRY! ;-) )

This is the story of William Crimsworth, a nobleman, who decides after his studies to Eton to refuse his uncles' proposal to enter the Church and consequently, to receive as a gift a remarkable patrimony. He decides to become a tradesman like his father and his brother Edward. Once he gets a job in his brother's factory, where he must translate some business letters, he soon understands that this kind of work is tedious and monotonous; sick and tired to be treated unfairly by his tyrannical brother, William resigns from his post as a clerk to take up a career as a professor in Brussels. Here he works as a professor in two schools, one for boys and another one for girls. First fallen in love with his headmistress Madame Reuter, he soon discovers her duplicity. When he meets a young woman who teaches lace-mending in Reuter's pensionnat he understands that she is his kindred spirit. Like him, Frances is ambitious... She dreams to come back to England and open a school there... but in order to realize her dreams she must take up lessons in English from William, because Frances is half Swiss from her father and half English from her mother... their professor-pupil relationship soons changes... they fall in love with each other.... But one day all of a sudden, Frances leaves Madamoiselle Reuter's establishment.... William must look for her... but where is she?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Male Perspective, 26 July 2004
This review is from: The Professor (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This book did not live up to my expectations. I was originally very excited to read this book because I wanted to see how C. Bronte wrote from a male perspective. In William Crimsworth, she creates a character with a great deal in common with Jane Eyre; yet, he is not as interesting to follow or as sympathetic.
William continues to perservere through any struggle that life has given him. He holds his head with dignity while his closest relative throws him on the street. Then, he maintains a strong Protestant work ethic in the heavily Catholic city of Brussels. C. Bronte seems to be reflecting upon her own experiences while living in Belgium; however, I found the constant negativity surrounding the Catholic faith to be distracting from her message concering hard work and perserverance. When descibing the girls at his school, William says, "I suspect the root of this precocious impurity so obvious, so general in Popish countries, is to be found in the discipline if not the doctrines of the Church of Rome." The comparison between Catholics and Protestants is contant thoughout this book. I found it zenophobic and ignorant while reading.
While a teacher at a girls' finishing school, Crimsworth falls in love twice. First with the coquettish Catholic school mistress, Zoraide Reuter and then with the subserviant Protestant lace-mender, Frances Henri. Frances and Zoraide are as different as night and day; however Crimsworth is attracted to both of them. Again, it seems as though Charlotte is making a comparison between two religions as well as two different types of women with her choices of love interest for William C.
All in all, William Crimsworth is not the character I was expecting to meet. He is pompous, conceited, and non-sympathetic. I suppose there is usually a touch of superiority in most Bronte characters, yet I usually find their circumstances to cause sympathy. I felt none for WC.
One more thing about this addition: there are frequent typographic errors. I suppose that is why it only costs 1.50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Professor, 20 April 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Oliver (Birchington, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professor (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written book and Charlotte Bronte's first attempt at a novel. It is involved in the affairs of William Crimsworth as he finds his way in life. The budding romance with Frances, his student, is quite charming. His discoveries that people can be very dishonest, false and even cruel are a bit painful to follow. In this first novel, the pensionnat or boarding school first appears. There is a deal of religious philosophizing and description which becomes quite tedious at times. I did enjoy the read however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Professor (Wordsworth Classics)
The Professor (Wordsworth Classics) by Charlotte Bronte (Paperback - 1 July 1994)
£1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews