Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably relevant even now
I had heard lots of good things about the Diary of a Nobody, but was not really sure I would enjoy this type of work so put off reading it. However, finally I got round to it and found a pleasant, amusing read which, whilst it didn't become one of my all time favourites, I am nevertheless glad I read. This edition contains not only the diary itself, but lots of the...
Published on 8 Dec. 2011 by Stracs

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great book printed nastily and on the cheap
This is a great book, and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Just don't buy this edition. The cover is a cheap, blurry facsimile of a traditional cover, and the text itself might as well have been printed on a home printer. It is currently sitting on my desk covered up by other books, I'm so embarrassed to be seen with something so shoddy! Amazon published...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by Nick


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No matter how many times I read this, it never ceases to amuse. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent copy, clean and tidy, exactly as described by the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
One of the best and funniest reads for a very long while. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST, 19 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A brilliant witty book as relevent today as when it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not For Me, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I too find myself in a minority with this book. I read it as an adult and was expecting to be treated to some cutting humour. There's nothing to be said for personal choice and for me a successful book is one that entertains or excites interest. Typical British in that we always wonder at least in part, why we all can't be impressed when so many are. My advice, don't bother, if you find the book dull, then it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Humour, 6 July 2009
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Hilarious. There have been many imitations, but Mr Pooter's is still the best diary of a rueful put-upon man trying to keep his dignity intact in the face of a shrewish wife, a smart-alec son and any number of trying friends and uppity tradesmen.

I have read this book many times and it has always been one of my favourites since I first read it nearly forty years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Diary of A Nobody, 7 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I love reading classics and this is one of my favourites. Very funny without trying to be. I can't believe this book was written in the 19th century. Found myself giggling a lot. The only fault I can find is that I wanted it to continue. Alas, the book is quite short :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful understated humour, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
One of my favourite books.An absolute delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful story. must read. short but sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Really fast delivery and has described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics)
The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) by Weedon Grossmith (Paperback - 5 May 1994)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews