Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably relevant even now
I had heard lots of good things about the Diary of a Nobody, but was not really sure I would enjoy this type of work so put off reading it. However, finally I got round to it and found a pleasant, amusing read which, whilst it didn't become one of my all time favourites, I am nevertheless glad I read. This edition contains not only the diary itself, but lots of the...
Published on 8 Dec. 2011 by Stracs

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great book printed nastily and on the cheap
This is a great book, and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Just don't buy this edition. The cover is a cheap, blurry facsimile of a traditional cover, and the text itself might as well have been printed on a home printer. It is currently sitting on my desk covered up by other books, I'm so embarrassed to be seen with something so shoddy! Amazon published...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by Nick


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful understated humour, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
One of my favourite books.An absolute delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful story. must read. short but sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
just started to read it so far so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this - it was gently satirical and although set a while ago, I still identified most of the traits being mocked, while it never got really mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
On time as described. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lupin said, "It's all right, I'm engaged to be married.", 14 Jan. 2012
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A charming episode in the rise of the middle-classes, the diary shows how much fun can be had by pricking the pomposity of poor Mr Pooter. If you start out by rather despising him, you end up by sympathising. Carrie, his wife, has a lot to put up with too, but she gets her own back by backing up their son Lupin, the rising man, in any altercations. They are all delightful, except perhaps Mr Posh, who seems destined to ensure no one rises too far above their expectations.

One hears in the background the trump of a euphonium - it's all very Gilbert & Sullivan without the efficacious lyrics. A great little book, but also a little - inconsequential? Of course, isn't that part of the point of Mr Pooter after all? Perhaps we are too used to satire that bites these days, because this is satire, but in its gentlemanly form which rather than biting just nibbles a little. As such it is a welcome change from it's more rabid sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to enjoy it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
v good - as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's no great piece of literary work but that doesn't really matter, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a enjoyable read. It's no great piece of literary work but that doesn't really matter. The story, set in the 19th century, is about a guy who is beginning to 'get up' in the world and is trying to make 'connections' with those a couple of rungs further up the social ladder. Nothing ever goes smoothly for him for and he finds himself in 'deep water' sometimes when his troublesome son, Lupin, throws the odd spanner in the works. If you enjoy a light read, laced with a bit of self deprecating humour then this is a book worth a second glance. I haven't finished the book as yet so I don't know how it ends. Maybe you'll get there before me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics)
The Diary of a Nobody (Wordsworth Classics) by Weedon Grossmith (Paperback - 5 May 1994)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews