Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful find - great for the very young Homer reader!
Very easy reading style, but which preserves some of the high Homeric style. The stories have 'glosses' sometimes to help young children understand motivation, and that I particularly liked. I much prefer the writing to 'Black Ships before Troy', which is much more popular, yet very stolid prose. Tales include Iliad, Odyssey, Perseus, Theseus and Jason, etc. Highly...
Published on 28 Aug. 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the dark reproductions of the images
I expected this edition to be one of the best avaiable in paperback - but alas it has been reprinted not from the original 1907 edition but from a 1941 reprint. This may account for the fact that the reproduction of the original Henry Ford illustrations seem dark and heavy and suffer from loss of delicate detail. Otherwise of course the work itself is a classic and it's...
Published on 30 Oct. 2011 by Angela Skrimshire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful find - great for the very young Homer reader!, 28 Aug. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Very easy reading style, but which preserves some of the high Homeric style. The stories have 'glosses' sometimes to help young children understand motivation, and that I particularly liked. I much prefer the writing to 'Black Ships before Troy', which is much more popular, yet very stolid prose. Tales include Iliad, Odyssey, Perseus, Theseus and Jason, etc. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the dark reproductions of the images, 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I expected this edition to be one of the best avaiable in paperback - but alas it has been reprinted not from the original 1907 edition but from a 1941 reprint. This may account for the fact that the reproduction of the original Henry Ford illustrations seem dark and heavy and suffer from loss of delicate detail. Otherwise of course the work itself is a classic and it's good to see it is still available unabridged and with all the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value , very good reproductions of illustrations, 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Though very cheap,and with a quite different front cover from that illustrated by Amazon at the moment, I find this edition preferable to some more expensive papaerback editions because the reproduction of the original Henry Ford illustrations inside the book is far better. Some other editions (eg Dover and Wildhorn Press) have reproduced the pictures from a 1941 reprint rather than the 1907 original, and they are dark and heavy and lose detail. In contrast, the Wordsworth edition, despite its present rather silly front cover (which may actually make it look more approachable to new young readers), reproduces the original illustrations inside the book without losing any of the delicate detail. This is important to me, since I have known the original illustrations since I was aged about 7, and am hoping that children now will still find them as fascinating as I did. At the same time the text, while seeming faithful to the original, is reprinted in a simple, easy modern format, which is all to the good these days. I am in process of buying another copy of this edition to give or lend to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes and Villains, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
J. D. Waters (Cambridge. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This book recounts the tales of the Trojan War and other aspects of Ancient Greece. I found it useful because the editor included explanations of known history to put everything into a proper context. For example, it was explained that the Greeks rode Chariots but not horses. And the siege of Troy did not involve surrounding it and cutting off supplies. This is partly why it took so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A condensed, understandable, informative and thoroughly enjoyable read. I would recommend to anyone wishing to obtain a better understanding of greek mythology especially homers epics. Will be enjoyed by all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok book, 5 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) (Paperback)
this book was a little too much for the children i was hoping to read it to i.e. year 5 but i found it interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TALES OF TROY AND GREECE, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Not what I expected when I purchased the book. To be quite honest I found it boring and very difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics)
Tales of Troy and Greece (Children's Classics) by Andrew Lang (Paperback - 5 Dec. 1995)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews