Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable, heart-warming story
Possibly the most beautiful book of the twentieth century, the Little Prince will appeal to the hearts of adults and children alike. It tells the story of a little prince, who falls to earth from a star, and of the airman, stranded in the desert by the crash of his place, who seeks to understand the prince's secret. The premise is simple and the story simply told, and yet...
Published on 14 April 2004 by Beautiful Freak

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but dismal edition
Yhe book is good and well worth reading and rereading, but this is not an atractive edition. Poor printing a dark black pictures so far from the original ones, The wrong format as well.
Published 17 months ago by Ingela


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable, heart-warming story, 14 April 2004
By 
Beautiful Freak (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Possibly the most beautiful book of the twentieth century, the Little Prince will appeal to the hearts of adults and children alike. It tells the story of a little prince, who falls to earth from a star, and of the airman, stranded in the desert by the crash of his place, who seeks to understand the prince's secret. The premise is simple and the story simply told, and yet Saint-Exupery creates a tale that is full of poignancy and hope.
As the little prince journeys the planets around his own home, Asteroid B612, he encounters a variety of individuals: the Conceited Man, the King, the Accountant, the Drunkard, the Geographer and the Lamplighter. Each one becomes a parable of human nature: or rather, the nature of adults. The Little Prince is a story about childhood, mortality (made all the more poignant by the fact that Saint-Exupery died in action in WW2, the year after the book's publication), friendship, love, hope and the magic in our lives that we are at risk of losing as we grow older. For me it held enormous personal emotional value.
If you can manage to read it in the original French then by all means do, but any translation still conveys some of the treasure in Saint-Exupery's words. Personally I recommend the Wordsworth Children's Classics edition for its translation, if not the poorly reproduced illustrations, but I think I may just have a personal bias for the first edition I read.
For a so-called 'children's book,' this is one that will live with you for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless masterpiece, 30 Dec 2002
By 
Mr C J Holm (East Boldon, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This truly wonderful book should enchant people of all ages. The story is about an encounter between a stranded pilot and a golden-haired prince in the middle of the desert. The book is full of Saint-Exupery's wonderful insights into human nature and contains many delightful drawings which are both witty and moving. It only takes a short while to read, but once you're finished you will feel that you will never look at the world in the same way again. This really is one of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but good!, 16 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Had heard of this book before, but never really knew much about it other than it was supposedly 'a classic'. Bought it on the strength of references made to it in the Torey Hayden book 'One Child'.

I read it to my 7 year old daughter, and she loves it. It IS a little bit weird, but in a very charming way; and its observations about humanity and the things that are truly 'important' in life are actually quite profound.

A great book for promoting discussion with young children about loss and separation, love and attachment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent Journey, 14 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
The little prince is a magnificent spiritual journey which sweeps the reader away. It is in a way a story which connects mankind to the galaxy hence to the universe. A brilliant metaphor, through the eyes of a little prince one can find the dreamy sides of life. The desert is related to the universe and to eternity, and the little prince is what the reader just wants to become. After reading this story for so many times I never got tired of it. On the contrary, the little prince is a story that can be read time after time after time, and each time there is another detail that sweeps the heart away. By far out one of the best classic stories ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
My first encounter with this book was nearly 40 years ago when a teacher at my school lent me her copy. She said it was here favourite book and that it meant a great deal to her. I kept it for an evening and returned it the next day. Sadly I did not read it snd for years have felt vaguely guilty about this. Maybe because it meant so much to my teacher, the thought of my grubby schoolboy fingers harming such a beautiful book made me nervous of reading it. Besides, I thought it was a kid's book and I was 12.

Moving forward 16 years, I went to Paris for a holiday and visited the Pantheon (a place where France's most renowned men and women are buried) and saw Saint-Exupery's tomb underneath his aeroplane. Clearly he is a much loved writer in France.

Anyway, finally I have got round to reading the book and can understand the hold that it has on its readers. It is short and simple. A pilot lands in the desert because his aeroplane has broken down. There he meets a little prince who has arrived on earth from another planet. Over the course of a few days they have a series of oblique conversations in which the prince's childlike directness gradually cuts through the pilot's adult preoccupations and provides a kind of commentary on the human condition.

The simplicity of the book ensures a quick read but the messages are often profound. I liked the idea of taming, a word I had always thought of as breaking down of a person or animal's will. However, here it is about making a connection with another person.

This is a book to which I believe I will return to again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should own this, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Everyone should have a copy of this book, whether you think you'll like it or not it is a 'MUST READ'. Put it on your list. If you've read it before but don't own it - put it on your list. Just buy it now. Small book, you can read it in an hour or so, carry it about with you, pass it to a friend. Just get on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but dismal edition, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Yhe book is good and well worth reading and rereading, but this is not an atractive edition. Poor printing a dark black pictures so far from the original ones, The wrong format as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Little Prince, 22 July 2013
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I was really disappointed in the format of the book - text was missing , the margins ran off the page with a huge space on the left hand side! although it was cheap I brought it for a foreign student and had to throw it away. Altogether very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment - no colour illustrations, 30 April 2011
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This is a basic version (economy), seems to be well bound and is small and handy. In "The Little Prince" the illustrations are by the author and form an important part of the book. I was disappointed to discover they were in B & W (not in colour like the original) as I didn't see any comment informing of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Prince, a little book, 31 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
The Little Prince has been one of my favourite books for a long time now and it is considered to be a childrens story for grown ups. I actually learnt quite a bit about life after reading this. Its a very philosophical story but good nonetheless. A good read if you need understanding about an elephant in a snakes belly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics)
The Little Prince (Wordsworth Children's Classics) by Antoine De Saint-Exupery (Paperback - 5 Jun 1995)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews