Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to poetry for children!
One of the great classics of children's verse, but this one deserves it's reputation 100% ! Great fun for children and an easy starting point for any parents who feel unsure about how to introduce poetry to thier children, It's the sort of book which may even pursuade "poetphobic" parents to reconsider their attitude.
Published on 19 Aug 2001 by Catherine-Marie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I cannot fault the quality, printing etc. of this book - but I also can't think of a child that would find it appealing. These are the classic poems of childhood, and editions with illustrations by people such as Brian Wildsmith made them wonderfully accessible - but this book is small, and has illustrations which, while beautifully executed and very interesting to an...
Published 7 months ago by S. Walsgrove


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to poetry for children!, 19 Aug 2001
One of the great classics of children's verse, but this one deserves it's reputation 100% ! Great fun for children and an easy starting point for any parents who feel unsure about how to introduce poetry to thier children, It's the sort of book which may even pursuade "poetphobic" parents to reconsider their attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just nostalgia, 10 Mar 2009
This review is from: A Child's Garden of Verses (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I am just rediscovering this book with my daughters, having had it as a child myself. In doing so, many of these poems come flooding back, the words which were forgotten springing back to my mind. Unlike some books, though, which are nostalgic but lose their sparkle in adulthood, I now realise how well these modestly titled 'verses' work as poems. This is real poetry, entirely accessible to young children but also technically perfect, thoughtful, wistful and beautiful. Never trivialising or condescending, they capture perfectly a child's view of the world in a way that can enlighten parents as well as children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very special book., 24 Feb 2003
This book was bought for me by my father when i was about six years old. I used to learn poems from it and recite them to my mum.
This is a lovely book for any child and even now, at nineteen, i still look throught this as it reminds me of my childhood.
(The edition i have was illustrated by Brian Wildsmith- amazing colourful artwork-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poetic Treasure, 15 July 2008
It is hard these days to find new good poetry at all. Luckily, the world of poetry for children has been rather less ventured into by those contemporary writers and as a result old times' favourites such as this collection remains in print, generally fairly intact in their old times' marvellous compilation if not presentation. This volume offers even the old times' marvellous presentation!

Stevenson, a member of the venerated three Scottish masters though he is, is ghastlily overlooked as a poet. Notwithstanding "A Child's Garden of Verses" is surely one of those poetry collection most frequently published in its unbutchered original compilation, and separately not in an omnibus. Its power of wonder and delight is awesome yet gentle - everything to transport the youngs and olds alike to that enchanted place. It is not quite so witty as A.A. Milne's but that is precisely why it serves up so much halcyon pleasure - its vision practically idealistic.

Among the rank of illustrators to have taken on this work Charles Robinson remains the most perennialand certainly my personal favourtie. Charles has a rather less clutterd style than either of his brothers and his sharply outlined decorations magnify the verses' innocence as much as is possible. This facsimile edition presents in its entirety the book as envisioned in Charles' design. Sturdily bound and dustwrapped and gilted all over, aside from nostalgia of former times when books were treasures, this volume is a treasure trove befitting Stevenson's poerty of wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Christmas present, 14 Nov 2011
If you are looking for a present, this is it. Lots of wonderful illustrations by different artists, lovely poems by Stevenson, high quality paper, a font large enough for a child to read. In short, very good engaging short poems, extremely good design, high quality product to last years and years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Child's Garden of Verses (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
my 8 year old loves to pick this book up all the time and just randomly choose a poem to read aloud to me on her own accord, fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a lovely gift, a classic book for any child. The illustrations are beautiful. Bought many copies of this over the years, never fails to be received well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The goods were quickly delivered and arrived in perfect condition. I loved it because the content is very entertaining and I loved the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Child's Garden of Verses (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
my copy came with a different (much nicer) front cover, the illistrations are really lovely. my mom had this book in the 70's and i used to look at it when i was little. its something i think every child should have growing up. this is a really nice paper back version and such an excellent price with fast free delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Childrens verses, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived in a timely fashion and in excellent condition. I am sure my grandson will come to love this book as much as his granny and Mum do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Child's Garden of Verses (Wordsworth Children's Classics)
A Child's Garden of Verses (Wordsworth Children's Classics) by Robert Louis Stevenson (Paperback - 25 Aug 1994)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews