Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to Revisit this Classic, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Hana Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I had my little nieces with me for a time. They brought this with them as they had started it at home and were eager to continue. It is wonderful to see them embracing books I cherished as a young girl. This version is a lovely book. I enjoyed the revisit to Heidi's world and especially her personality. We read together and they read more on their own after. A book like this is excellent for encouraging good reading habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It still makes me cry!, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This was one of my favourite books when I was a child in the 1960s. Every time I have re-read it as an adult, it has made me cry because it is such a wonderful book. The relationships Heidi forms with the other characters ~ grandfather, Peter, Clara, the doctor, Peter's grandmother and Clara's grandmama ~ are expertly written by Johanna Spyri. As a child I wanted to be Heidi, sleeping in the hayloft ~ she seemed to have a magical childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stocking Filler!, 1 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Basic book quality, but a classic story. I wasn't disappointed and the price was very good for what i received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good spirited girl, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
The character of Heidi is an inspiration. She is wonderfully natural in speech and manners, kind, thoughtful and loving. I grew up watching the serialization of this book on television and reading this charming book for the first time in my 45th year has been joyous.

I wish Heidi was the current role model for children, showing the transformative power of natural, unaffected goodness.

Oh dear, I fear I am beginning to sound like the elders of every generation, waggling their fingers and complaining about "youngsters today"!

I love this book and recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Arrived quickly & was well packed. Everything was as expected and good to have a cheap version of an old classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This is an ideal "starting-off"book for my Grand=daughter who just loves reading at school.
My son reads to her each night at bed-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This is another childhood classic that had to be added to the collection - there
are some books that you cannot not have on your shelf and this is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect read, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
How can anyone young or old not love this book. It arrived within 2 days of ordering. Excellent condition and good sized print.
I have several copies of this book already, but I teach Speech & Drama and have to lend copies to students. This was a good price for that purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heidi, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Another 1.99 Wordsworth classic book that I've bought. I read or have them read, to or by the grandchildren depending on their age. I have a few of these books now & love the way the grandchildren have taken to them, I also, to be truthful, enjoy them as its been so long since I read them. I recommend these books without hesitation to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heidi, 24 Jan 2013
By 
J. Bramley "Jaybee" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Always my favourite book as a child, but not the same version unfortunately. No mention of the cow called Vashti in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb17e8de0)

This product

Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics)
Heidi (Wordsworth Children's Classics) by Johanna Spyri (Paperback - 1 Dec 1993)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews