Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-constructed childrens edition
This is not a bedtime story for the pre-teens. The latter part of the tale would hardly induce sweet dreams for those with active imagination. It is well suited to those old enough to read the tale for themselves, and is written in clear,simple language and in chapters of just the right length to regulate reading sessions. A good introduction to the 10-12-year-olds to...
Published 17 months ago by P. H. Racionzer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun selection from the original tales....
This review is of the Wordsworth Classics version of the tales, edited by Andrew Lang, with illustrations by H. J. Ford.

Andrew Lang's pedigree as editor is beyond reproach, and as he explains in his jaunty preface, the tales from the Arabian Nights have undergone various modifications over the centuries: "a great deal that is very dull and stupid was put in,...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by LittleMoon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun selection from the original tales...., 2 Nov 2011
By 
LittleMoon (loving my life in the rain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This review is of the Wordsworth Classics version of the tales, edited by Andrew Lang, with illustrations by H. J. Ford.

Andrew Lang's pedigree as editor is beyond reproach, and as he explains in his jaunty preface, the tales from the Arabian Nights have undergone various modifications over the centuries: "a great deal that is very dull and stupid was put in, and plenty of verses. Neither the verses nor the dull pieces are given in this volume." This will alert the reader to the fact that these are "selected" tales, and as such the stories are slightly disjointed at times. It seems unclear why references to previous tales, that aren't covered in this book, should be retained - causing confusion for the careful reader who will search in vain thinking "I don't remember reading that." If you're buying this version you must also take it for granted that Mr Lang's idea of what is "dull and stupid" corresponds with your own.

Lang does include Aladdin and all seven voyages of Sinbad the Sailor ... although there's no Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves. The stories contained in this selection are bursting with genii (good and evil), magical deeds and flying horses, noble Princes and Princesses, and many other classic Eastern folkloric elements. Many of the stories are interlinked, particularly at the beginning, where a character from one tale is required to relate the story of their life in the next; though this effect peters out.

The book rests within the framework of Scheherazade who volunteers to be the King's wife in order to end his daily ritual of murdering the woman he is going to marry. Her storytelling is the means by which she forestalls her death, and the opening of the book sets this very scene; somewhat unsatisfactory then is the fact that Scheherazade's own story is never concluded. There's also the danger that readers today may not be quite so rapt in the content, as the Sultan obviously was, which has a tendency to become repetitive.

H. J. Ford's illustrations are a highlight, they come detailed and often, and those in the voyages of Sinbad are some of my favourites ... where the giant roc attacks, or enormous ogres tower over Sinbad's tiny ships.

For younger readers, or those like myself curious for a taster of the original tales of the 1001 Arabian Nights, Lang's edition offers a readable and fun collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Selected stories only�, 30 April 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
The most frustrating thing about this collection is that it contains only selected stories from the Arabian Nights, and while most of the time omissions are seamless enough (for example, all 7 of Sindbad's voyages are included) on a couple of jarring occasions events are referred to which are in stories not included, and worst of all there is no closure given to the framing device of Scheherazade's threat of execution. Despite these niggles, there are still some enjoyable fantasy tales here, and while the tales become a little repetitious with their repeated themes and motifs, there is enough here to keep the reader interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-constructed childrens edition, 14 Mar 2013
By 
P. H. Racionzer (Kirriemuir Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a bedtime story for the pre-teens. The latter part of the tale would hardly induce sweet dreams for those with active imagination. It is well suited to those old enough to read the tale for themselves, and is written in clear,simple language and in chapters of just the right length to regulate reading sessions. A good introduction to the 10-12-year-olds to the great arabian classic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled., 5 July 2014
Yep, this seller is selling these ebooks, which are taken without permission from the free site, GlobalGrey. All his books are from that website, and are available there for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) ..., 5 July 2014
By 
A. Tahir "globalgrey" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) (where they are completely free) and which I worked hard on formatting, and is selling them on Kindle, passing them off as their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I had this book when i was tiny.
Then it seemed such a long story and enjoyable.
Now it brings back all those childhood memories.
A keeper to pass on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Arabian Nights, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Not quite what I expected, but I love the short stories and they all follow on.
Great for a quick read before bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arabian Knights?, 28 Oct 2010
By 
J. D. Waters (Cambridge. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This book is edited by Andrew Lang and illustrated by H J Ford. It gives a traditional account of tales which we see in Christmas Pantomimes etc. I particularly like the illustrations and enjoyed hunting for the signature of the illustrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arabian Nights, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Desmond W. Mitchell (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book arrived promptly and was well wrapped. However it was very obvious that it was second hand and well used with marks on the cover and on the inside pages.
I am not sure whose fault it was, but I wanted the version with illustrations by "Dulac" not the one received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from the Arabian Nights (Wordsworth Children's Classics)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews