Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars541
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2011
Excellent story, which my daughter has been listening to for several years. This CD replaced the tape we had. She is nearly 13 and still listens to this story most nights. Having listened to it she then chose to read the book. It also opened her to a whole world of timeless classics, such as The Secret Garden, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables and the Famous Five. It's been great for her education too. Her English teacher commented on her use of vocabulary.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 24 November 2011
Bought this last year and my children ask for it everytime we go on a long journey. They love it!! They gaze out the window whilst listening. Better than them watching the dvd player! Also played a lot in the kitchen whilst they colour/I clear up. A brilliant buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2011
One of the better read and produced childrens' audio books. The story is still relevant today, and the kids asked to listen to it 10 times
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Reading this brought back great memories of the film.

Whentheir Father is taken away in the middle of the night Bobbie (Roberta), Phil (Phyllis) and Peter think it is to do with his work. However, they soon find out that they are not staying in their little red bricked villa in London but are instead going to live in the country and are now quite poor.

Their Mother writes stories to make ends meet and for the most part the children are left to their own devices. What does interest them though is the railway. Every day they sit and wait for the express to go by and wave to an old gentleman who always sits in first class. They also make friends with Perks the station keeper. He is written about just as he was in the film...........I could even imagine Bernard Cribbins talking to them as I read on.

The children have lots of adventures and try to be helpful and kind to everyone. Sometimes of course they get it horribly wrong like in the case of Perk's birthday presents.

Of course they quarrel as children will always do but they always make up with each other usually by saying Pax. That brought back memories of going to school for me as well.

There is a sentence towards the end of the book uttered by Bobbie that had me in also had me in tears when I watched the film.

This is a delightful classic and I believe is adored by both children and adults like.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2011
The railway children and their parents live a happy, middle-class life in Edwardian London until their father is hauled off to prison. The rest of the family - mother, Bobbie, Phyllis and Peter - are forced to move north to the countryside and live a (relatively) impoverished life, their mother spending long hours writing children's stories to help make ends meet.

My children's book encyclopaedia calls The Railway Children 'sentimental' which seems a little harsh. Rather Nesbit is, like Dickens, alive to the frailty and suffering of human beings but, nonetheless, levens her work with humour. She captures the tension between adults and children, town and country and between different social classes perfectly and she pours much of her own life experiences into the story, adding a depth of realism and emotion absent from many other novels of the time.

The Railway Children is Edith Nesbit writing at the height of her powers and a true masterpiece of children's literature.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2008
The brilliance of the Railway Children is that E Nesbit refuses to talk down to her readers - she handles a variety of complicated emotions, and she does so in a way that enables us to see things we wouldn't have worked out for ourselves about the character, but that are very true and beautifully observed. Okay, a few too many things happen to these kids - even the film removed one or two sensational twists too many - but those things all bring new insights and emotional rewards. It's a great book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2010
as a teenager growing up in the 21st century i couldn't love this more. this kind of feel good book is the kind of thing my mum would read and i would look straight past. i first read the secret garden which is also a puffin classic and really enjoyed it and therefore decided to read another. having seen the film every christams for as long as i can remember this came top of my list and it didn't disappoint. it contains both tense scenes and enjoyable family ones.

this book has everything and should have a space on everyones bookshelf. in this edition it has been left as was when first printed with the addition of an introduction by popular author jacqueline wilson.

though first published over 100 years ago it has not lost any of the charm that would have been enjoyed by the children of the early 1900's. well worth 5 stars and has compulsed me to invest in a few more puffin classics.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
I think everyone must know the basic story of this classic, either through reading the book or seeing the film The Railway Children [DVD], (I was only little, and I immediately fell in love with Jenny Agutter). If you have only ever seen the film before though, there is a lot more in the book.

Roberta 'Bobbie', Peter, and Phyllis live in the suburbs with their mother and father, in some comfort. One day though, their father mysteriously disappears and the rest of the family are forced to move into the country, where they live in straightened circumstances. As the children grow accustomed to their new surroundings they start to gradually make friends, helping people and getting into all types of adventure.

Why I think this story works so well, whereas others have fallen by the wayside and not been so popular over the years is the way that Edith Nesbit portrays the children. If you have siblings yourself then you know the bickerings and other things that go on when you are little. This is shown really well in this book, and surely has led to its popularity. I know you have probably read it when you were young, but it is a nice book to come back to when you are older, and something that your children should also love.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 6 January 2006
Before J.K.Rowling and Roald Dahl, there was E.E.Nesbitt; the most prolific and inventive children's author of all time, even if the inventor of Harry Potter may be close to usurping that title. Even though her books were written a century ago, such was the universal appeal of her themes and the ease with which children could identify with her characters that she has remained in print to this day and the stories are just as good now as they were then.
As with any children's classic - and "The Railway Children" is both a classic and most probably her best book - its appeal lies in a cracking plot, good character development and adult accessibility; parents are as keen to read as their children are to listen. The plot is simple: well-to-do-kids living ideal life in London suddenly have to "play at being poor" in the country after Daddy mysteriously disappears. After a series of adventures, all based around the railway that runs near their house, events coalesce into a satisfying finale.
The story centres on Roberta (Bobbie), the eldest daughter through whose eyes the story is narrated. She is one of my own favourite literature heroines and, as she suffers loss and hardship; and gains friendship and love, I would challenge even the most hard-boiled cynic not to shed the odd tear. The story is not, however, nearly as fluffy as all this may intimate. Like Rowling, Nesbitt loved to include magic and enchantment in her stories (it is, perhaps, ironic that her best tale contains none although it is certainly enchantING). Like Rowling, her stories also tend to have a dark side: many contain, and even hinge around, an absent, idealised father, reflecting the loss of the writer's own parent when she was just six. I've worn my way through two copies already!). Buy dozens! Spread them around your own children, their friends, nephews, nieces, grandchildren, neighbours ... any child who can manage joined-up writing will be enchanted by this story - and so will their parents
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 March 2013
Purchased for my 4yr old son.

Since he loves books and stories in general, audio books have become a big part of our weekly lives with our daily commutes interupting book time, he loves the audio ones though, the dramatisations even more.

The Railway Children is what I consider to be a classic childrens story and this version with its cast of voice actors has really brought the story to life, taking you back to a time when life was simpler but by no means easier as the family relocate and change their way of life and the adventures they have along the way.

This is a story I do think all children should hear but with affirming corrections that it is dangerous to go on the tracks (something that is never mentioned at any point in the story).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Railway CHILDREN, New Edition
The Railway CHILDREN, New Edition by Edith Nesbit (Paperback - 21 Jan. 2015)

The Railway Children: Illustrated
The Railway Children: Illustrated by Edith Nesbit (Paperback - 6 July 2015)

Ladybird Classics: The Railway Children
Ladybird Classics: The Railway Children by Ladybird (Hardcover - 3 April 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.