Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written, sweet story
The brilliance of the Railway Children is that E Nesbit refuses to talk down to her readers - she handles a variety of complicated emotions, and she does so in a way that enables us to see things we wouldn't have worked out for ourselves about the character, but that are very true and beautifully observed. Okay, a few too many things happen to these kids - even the film...
Published on 11 July 2008 by V. Carlin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible formatting
This ebook is badly formatted, with an ugly font which cannot be changed. Also, cannot link to chapters from the contents page as the contents list is rendered as an image.

This book is advertised as illustrated, but the images are of such poor quality you can not see what they are.

Recommend that everyone downloads a different version of this book.
Published 21 months ago by Crystal


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written, sweet story, 11 July 2008
By 
V. Carlin (London, England) - See all my reviews
The brilliance of the Railway Children is that E Nesbit refuses to talk down to her readers - she handles a variety of complicated emotions, and she does so in a way that enables us to see things we wouldn't have worked out for ourselves about the character, but that are very true and beautifully observed. Okay, a few too many things happen to these kids - even the film removed one or two sensational twists too many - but those things all bring new insights and emotional rewards. It's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 5 Jan 2010
By 
N. Reed "bookloving kid" (cambridge,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
these are a great series of stories with lively illustrations and excellent quality books to stand up to even robust useage. This is well written and holds on to the original story well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start to introduce modern children to timeless classics, 13 Nov 2011
By 
H. Tagg (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent story, which my daughter has been listening to for several years. This CD replaced the tape we had. She is nearly 13 and still listens to this story most nights. Having listened to it she then chose to read the book. It also opened her to a whole world of timeless classics, such as The Secret Garden, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables and the Famous Five. It's been great for her education too. Her English teacher commented on her use of vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For car journeys, 11 Jan 2011
One of the better read and produced childrens' audio books. The story is still relevant today, and the kids asked to listen to it 10 times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the hardback investment, 13 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: The Railway Children (Hardcover)
Before J.K.Rowling and Roald Dahl, there was E.E.Nesbit; the most prolific and inventive children's author of all time, even if the inventor of Harry Potter may be close to usurping that title. Even though her books were written a century ago, such was the universal appeal of her themes and the ease with which children could identify with her characters that she has remained in print to this day and the stories are just as good now as they were then.
As with any children's classic - and “The Railway Children” is both a classic and most probably her best book - its appeal lies in a cracking plot, good character development and adult accessibility; parents are as keen to read as their children are to listen. The plot is simple: well-to-do-kids living ideal life in London suddenly have to “play at being poor” in the country after Daddy mysteriously disappears. After a series of adventures, all based around the railway that runs near their house, events coalesce into a satisfying finale.
The story centres on Roberta (Bobbie), the eldest daughter through whose eyes the story is narrated. She is one of my own favourite literature heroines and, as she suffers loss and hardship and gains friendship and love, I would challenge even the most hard-boiled cynic not to shed the odd tear. The story is not, however, nearly as fluffy as all this may intimate. Like Rowling, Nesbitt loved to include magic and enchantment in her stories (it is, perhaps, ironic that her best tale contains none although it is certainly enchantING). Like Rowling, her stories also tend to have a dark side: many contain, and even hinge around, an absent, idealised father, reflecting the loss of the writer's own parent when she was just six. This tale is no exception.
Amazon is selling the paperback version at a ridiculously knock down rate (although I would still recommend investing in hardback ¬- I've worn my way through two copies already!). Buy dozens! Spread them around your own children, their friends, nephews, nieces, grandchildren, neighbours … any child who can manage joined-up writing will be enchanted by this story - and so will their parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better childrens' audio cd's, 24 Nov 2011
Bought this last year and my children ask for it everytime we go on a long journey. They love it!! They gaze out the window whilst listening. Better than them watching the dvd player! Also played a lot in the kitchen whilst they colour/I clear up. A brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Railway Children, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent for its intended market and purpose. Bought for six year old young reader. Lots of illustrations. Plot simply but accurately related.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impeccable, 19 Sep 2010
By 
book worm (nottinghamshire, england) - See all my reviews
as a teenager growing up in the 21st century i couldn't love this more. this kind of feel good book is the kind of thing my mum would read and i would look straight past. i first read the secret garden which is also a puffin classic and really enjoyed it and therefore decided to read another. having seen the film every christams for as long as i can remember this came top of my list and it didn't disappoint. it contains both tense scenes and enjoyable family ones.

this book has everything and should have a space on everyones bookshelf. in this edition it has been left as was when first printed with the addition of an introduction by popular author jacqueline wilson.

though first published over 100 years ago it has not lost any of the charm that would have been enjoyed by the children of the early 1900's. well worth 5 stars and has compulsed me to invest in a few more puffin classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic writer's classic book, 6 Jan 2006
By 
Before J.K.Rowling and Roald Dahl, there was E.E.Nesbitt; the most prolific and inventive children's author of all time, even if the inventor of Harry Potter may be close to usurping that title. Even though her books were written a century ago, such was the universal appeal of her themes and the ease with which children could identify with her characters that she has remained in print to this day and the stories are just as good now as they were then.
As with any children's classic - and "The Railway Children" is both a classic and most probably her best book - its appeal lies in a cracking plot, good character development and adult accessibility; parents are as keen to read as their children are to listen. The plot is simple: well-to-do-kids living ideal life in London suddenly have to "play at being poor" in the country after Daddy mysteriously disappears. After a series of adventures, all based around the railway that runs near their house, events coalesce into a satisfying finale.
The story centres on Roberta (Bobbie), the eldest daughter through whose eyes the story is narrated. She is one of my own favourite literature heroines and, as she suffers loss and hardship; and gains friendship and love, I would challenge even the most hard-boiled cynic not to shed the odd tear. The story is not, however, nearly as fluffy as all this may intimate. Like Rowling, Nesbitt loved to include magic and enchantment in her stories (it is, perhaps, ironic that her best tale contains none although it is certainly enchantING). Like Rowling, her stories also tend to have a dark side: many contain, and even hinge around, an absent, idealised father, reflecting the loss of the writer's own parent when she was just six. I've worn my way through two copies already!). Buy dozens! Spread them around your own children, their friends, nephews, nieces, grandchildren, neighbours ... any child who can manage joined-up writing will be enchanted by this story - and so will their parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 6 year old daughter loves it, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My primary school teacher Miss Stevens read this to us one chapter at a time 40 years ago. I bought this book to read to my kids because I remembered how much we enjoyed it. I didn't expect I'd have to explain what railways and petticoats were, and why the train needed coal! But she is just as taken with the story as I was, and couldn't wait for the next chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

The Railway Children (Wordsworth's Children's Classics)
The Railway Children (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) by E. Nesbit (Paperback - 1 Mar 1993)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews