Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A textbook for little princesses.
This is a nicely produced edition with an unfussy modern translation, clearly printed on reasonably good quality paper. The illustrations are ink line drawings from Edwardian editions that lend the book a certain charm but it's by no means lavishly illustrated and they're rather sporadic actually.

There can't be many people who don't know what they're getting...
Published on 17 April 2012 by M. Lawton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice children stories
good read, although I must say that the most known stories are also the best, some were bit too long
Published 22 months ago by laros76


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A textbook for little princesses., 17 April 2012
By 
M. Lawton (TWells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nicely produced edition with an unfussy modern translation, clearly printed on reasonably good quality paper. The illustrations are ink line drawings from Edwardian editions that lend the book a certain charm but it's by no means lavishly illustrated and they're rather sporadic actually.

There can't be many people who don't know what they're getting with a collection of Andersen's stories and this book contains most of his best works and is fairly free from the repetitious themes that pad out much of his output. However, be aware that this edition has some distinctly dark stories that aren't suitable for young children. Even the ones that aren't overtly child-friendly contain some questionable themes. The fact is Andersen had a bit of a problem with women and there's an underlying streak of misogyny that runs pretty deep in his work. In the main his women are either angelic virgins or ghastly harridans intended to serve solely as objects of admiration or contempt. Interesting from a psychological perspective but you wouldn't want your daughter to use them as role models.

At his best he's a fine story teller, a keen social observer and is good at puncturing the pomposity of the privileged. At his worst when he goes all nauseatingly pious and godly, he's pretty unreadable. This book contains both the best and the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love them as a teenager, wouldn't have been so sure 10 years ago!, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Ms. R. A. Bowen (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I bought the book as I thought it would be fascinating to read fairy tales from the perspective of a 17 year old, rather than as a child, and although I did really enjoy the book, I honestly do think the stories are terrifying for children! I'm pretty sure the fairy stories I enjoyed when I was little were fairly heavily edited...

I can't recommend this book highly enough beyond that, it may seem an odd thing to read but honestly, the style in which fairy stories is written is almost haunting in its simplicity and economy. And the contrast between nostalgia and vague horror - fairy stories are actually fairly gothic in content - is unbelievably powerful.

Enjoy :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of classics., 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Lovely book - nice to read the classics to and for kids. The book is well written and the vocab is good compared to the usual recounts of these tales - whether it will impact on the kids remains to be seen but its nice to read something well written. Arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful cover and translation, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
R. Waby (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The cover on this book is beautiful, as is the paper. I'm a really big fan of Penguin Deluxe Classics and this is perhaps my favourite cover design. Great for kids and adults alike, perfect bedtime stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend and I were discussing books we'd read in our childhood and I wanted to get her a copy of this. It arrived quickly and was in excellent condition. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very beautiful Art work and my friend loved it for her birthday!! I recommend it to whoever loves books:) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars printed well, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the whole book had a very vintage feel to it fom the cover illustration to the thich rough cut pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice children stories, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) (Paperback)
good read, although I must say that the most known stories are also the best, some were bit too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Very nice book. A bit too dark for children today but it's always great to read the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was for a babys baptism day some thing for her to enjoy as she grows up, also makes good bed time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics)
Andersen's Fairy Tales (Wordsworth's Children's Classics) by Hans Christian Andersen (Paperback - 5 Jan. 1993)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews