Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, enthralling and easy read!, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Rebecca Pitts (Wiltshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
I am currently in the process of reading the second story in the book, 'Five Weeks in a Balloon' - which is apparently Verne's first novel - after reading 'Around the World in Eighty Days', and so far have been blown away by how easy a novel from the 19th century has been to read, and particularly how enthralling. The character of Phileas Fogg never ceases to amaze with his calm etiquette and unshakeable nerve, whilst his manservant Passepartout adds a brilliant aspect of comedy to the race against time. Verne's description of the various locations around the world are also incredibly detailed, making me wonder whether he has actually been there himself or not. If not, then the man had a very accurate imagination as to what these places would look like!

So far 'Five Weeks in a Balloon' has proven to be very good, with the typical Vernian adventurer of Dr. Samuel Fergusson, his Scottish friend Dick Kennedy and servant Joe going on a journey across Africa to discover the sources of the Nile in a magnificent balloon. Be warned however, that Verne's novels do contain a lot of scientific description in the earlier stages of the books particularly, something that means practically nothing to a non-scientific person like me, but is easy enough to just read through if you also don't understand. Other than that, I would say that 'Around the World in Eighty Days' is more colourful than 'Five Weeks in a Balloon', with more interesting characters, but overall they are both brilliant novels that I would highly recommend to someone who wants to start reading classic literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, brilliant price, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
Considering I found the same books for over five times the price I think this one certainly scores well on value for money at 2. These are excellent books, essential Jules Verne and amazing to read. I love this genre and the style of the books. My boyfriend has since stolen this book and can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this classic!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
I have the kindle version and this was a present for my partner. Amazing book! Must read whatever age you are!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
Classic reading and a lovely story to read aloud to the grandchildren.
It never disappoints and will continue to bring pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnetic Field of the Earth, 24 Feb 2013
By 
N. Demir Kupeli (Ankara, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
This is a very advanced unified field theory book related to journey to Mars now the main dream of very high level sciencetists all around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
the book was brand new and is really nice buying the whole set for myself as like them all and want to read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable easy read, 8 Mar 2001
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
What do you do first? read the book or watch the film. In my case I saw the film first, and consequently had the vision of David Niven playing Philious Fogg painted in my mind. This however was not a bad thing as in my opinion Mr Niven plays an excellent Mr Fogg. This fast paced book took a slow reader like myself just two days to read such is its infectious nature. The very 'Englishness' of the leading character made the book all the more enjoyable, as he seemed to apply his principles in the most amazing circumstances when a mere mortal would surely have crumbled. In conclusion relaxing and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for gods sake have i got to do this every time i buy a book?, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
this is a total waste of everyones time, isn't it? I mean it's a bloody book, a very old book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days & Five Weeks in a Balloon (Wordsworth Classics): AND Five Weeks in a Balloon (Paperback)
Red it as a child myself, now bought it for our 12y old son who finished it in 2 days and loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews