Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how is should be done........
This book has been on my reading list for a long time, but for some reason I have avoided picking it up - Perhaps because of the size (I am against Kindles in principle), or perhaps because of the stigma attached to this mammoth classic, I just assumed it was going to be beyond my mental faculties and I was certain I was never going to be able to finish it.

I...
Published on 6 Feb. 2011 by Book 1981

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would not go for this translation
I love Tolstoy's novels - both War and Peace and Anna Karenina are the most fantastic things I have ever read.

He has the ability to take you right inside the characters very being, so you feel you know exactly what it would be like to be that character.

But I read the old Penguin edition with translation by Rosemary Edmonds. I found that translation...
Published on 3 April 2013 by John in Derbyshire


‹ Previous | 114 15 1622 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Wanted this book for so long, but it will take some time to read and I'm loving the read, yawn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dumb, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Long long long long long long long long long long long long long long long long. Good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 18 Jan. 2002
I never thought I'd ever get through the book because of its length but Im glad I never gave up. The descriptions of battles particularly the battle of Austerlitz is very vivid and the subtle way in which characters develop throughout the book is excellant. Though not for everyone (the language, length, and 509 characters can be daunting!) it still brings to life the effects of war on the Russia population and the vivid characters are ones I probably shall never forget. It is however slightly marred by Tolstoys critiscms of historians and his own philosophical outlook on war which for many people may be difficult to comprehend. That said it is excellent read for those with patience and an interest in 19th century history, and a good read for those simply willing to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic of course - have read before but always some more food for thought in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War and Peace, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book to read, long book did take a while to read but really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value!, 11 July 2014
This review is from: War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, perfect condition and extremely good value for such a big book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
This review is from: War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Great book you should have in your collection. The only minus is the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read..... just makes sure you have a few weeks set aside to finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really well organised edition with a great translation and good footnotes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Positives and Negatives, 8 Jan. 2015
Length:: 5:19 Mins

My feelings about the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1622 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics)
War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics) by Leo Tolstoy (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2001)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews