Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2008
i'm not going to review the actual play as this was done very well by another reviewer, however when wishing to purchase this play you may realise their are loads of different editions to choose from, and you may be wondering 'is this edition right for you?'

This really breaks down the text by having the play on every right-hand page and on the left has a short description of what is happening on the page opposite as well as a glossary of some of the page's most challenging words and phrases, just like in the heinemann shakespeare. This is what attracted me to this edition, however i found myself just slightly disappointed.

As well as the description and glossary on the left-hand page there are various exercises for you to do either alone or in groups that will help drama students to understand the text and the context in which it should be played. These exercises looked very helpful to those studying drama, even including photos from past productions. However as i was doing this play for english i would have liked a little more indepth insight to the actual text.

At the end, after the play there are analysis of the characters and setting as well as some on the context of the play which ive just started reading and have found very helpful, as well as more information on staging 'as you like it'. This is all great, i would just have liked a little more specific insight during the reading of the play.

in short, this edition is ideal for anyone practicing drama, and while it is more than adequate an edition for anyone who needs a little help while reading the text, it lacks a little for those wishing for a more indepth insight.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2006
i could not imagine a more foolish and silly afternoon in a forest. lol. i loved this so much it has everything anyone ever wanted of shakespear!

what a fantastic play i really want to see it but i fear it could never live up to my reading of it. i wish it were translated into modern language for all the people who have trouble understanding it.

well i loved it anyway. should be read under the trees on a sunny afternoon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I hated this at school, so it is not to everyone's taste - but I purchased this copy for my husband, who is a great Shakespeare fan. I always thought the title was nonsense. The book is a useful size, & easy to read. Excellent & recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As You Like It has many qualities to attract readers and audiences. Rosalind is one of the great heroines of all romantic literature. The play has more outstanding speeches than almost any other that has ever been written. Astonishing plot complications are quickly resolved in the simplest possible way, reflecting a playwright's tour de force. The Forest of Arden appears as a character in creating a magical atmosphere whereby all perceptions change, and all are healed. Right wins out, especially in drawing on good character . . . even from formerly badly behaving people. And for those who love marriages, this book has one of the most impressive ceremonies of all time in literature. Humans have never looked nobler in the end than in this play. Yet the play also abounds with some of the greatest lines of Shakespeare's fools that cause all of us to see that humility is more called for than pride or ambition. Certainly, As You Like It will make you feel the presence of an unmatched genius, that should inspire even the most arrogant to feel humbled in the Bard's presence.

My recommendation is that you first see a performance (whether in person, or on a recording). If that's not possible, try for an audio. Many outstanding actors have been taped. After you have the sights and sounds of the play firmly in mind, then read the play. You'll find that your earlier experiences will unlock more of the play's depths, imagery and pleasures for you.
Where in life is being true to your word very important? How can you improve your life by being more reliable in this way?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
how lovely. a portable readimg device holding such a great tale as one of shakespeares all in your pocket or handbag or wherever. and its free and a classic so theres no reason not to get this. get it now why not
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
The only book I have received in the collection of Folio Society Shakespeare was a bit of a let down. The binding is badly faded so that the spine is brown where the cover should be pale green. OK it's quite an old book but I don't remember the description mentioning the state of the cover otherwise i might not have ordered it. Inside the book is perfectly accepable but it was a bit of a let down after having received so many fine editions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
I bought this version as recommended by the tutor of a course which included a close reading of 'As You Like It'. Apparently the Arden series is preferred by professional directors of Shakespeare plays. The introduction gives a comprehensive history and analysis of the play. I thoroughly enjoyed this play and the rigorously researched notes which accompany the text. I fully recommend this book which would be suitable for both the academic and the interested general reader.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Very simple and short re-telling of the play. It misses out parts of the story and some of the characters, but it is a manageable introduction to the play for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
this is witty and not so long. You can read it in one setting. I really enjoyed this as a 16 year old and still find it amusing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Bought for English A level studies. Very pleased, most helpful. Arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)