Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her greatest work
Less well-known than "Emma", "Pride and Prejudice" or "Sense and Sensibility", this is an absolute gem of a novel, and my favourite of all of Jane Austen's works. It has all the flair and comic brio of her other, more celebrated work, but a sadness and delicacy of tone that elevates it to a different level. Anne is a magnificent character, with an intelligence steeped in...
Published on 27 May 2003 by Lovborg

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certain passages are missing
I bought this item as "unabridged", but I know the novel very well and am very sure that certain passages are missing. Unfortunately, some of these passages are great favourites of mine, so I was very disappointed on finding they were simply left out. For example, the highly entertaining passage relating Mary's complaints about "her mother-in-law's way with the children"...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Nebelfischer


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her greatest work, 27 May 2003
Less well-known than "Emma", "Pride and Prejudice" or "Sense and Sensibility", this is an absolute gem of a novel, and my favourite of all of Jane Austen's works. It has all the flair and comic brio of her other, more celebrated work, but a sadness and delicacy of tone that elevates it to a different level. Anne is a magnificent character, with an intelligence steeped in experience coupled with a good and true heart, and is at the centre of a novel that offers absolutely everything that you could wish for in a novel. Perfect. Absolutely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Delicately Wrought Autumn Minuet, 3 July 2004
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
Like all of her novels, Jane Austen's PERSUASION is essentially a comedy of manners--a work in which the characters must negotiate a complex code of conduct in order to survive, much less achieve their ends. And in a certain sense the novel is indicative of Austen's great talent, razor sharp, laced with irony and wit, and remarkably phrased. And yet PERSUASION is quite unlike Austen's other novels in the story it tells.
Eight years earlier, Anne Elliot fell in love with a man named Wentworth. Her family and friends disdained the match, arguing that the man was below her in station and lacked any fortune with which to maintain Anne in her accustomed mode of life. Persuaded to reject him against her own will, Anne broke off the engagement--and thereafter found herself unable to love another even as she endured the follies of her father and two sisters. But Wentworth has returned, having made his name and fortune with the British navy, and it is now his turn to reject her.
Published in 1816, PERSUASION is the last novel Austen completed before her death a year later, and it is remarkable for a very autumnal tone. Unlike such Austen masterpieces as PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and EMMA, the herione is not a spirited, quickwitted young women on the verge of matrimony; the hero is not a dashing gentlemen of great estate; there is no verbal duel between the sexes. It is instead the story of a commonsense and pleasantly ordinary woman who considers herself past the likelihood of marriage--and who now wishes only to escape the emotional pain and humiliation visited upon her by a suitor from long ago.
While PERSUASION does not really stand along Austen's greatest works, it is nonetheless a very fine novel, a delicately wrought tale of opportunity lost and the passage of time, told in the uniquely piercing style so typical of the author--and while, of course, all eventually comes right for the romantically downtrodden Anne, it has a touch of melancholy quite unlike the tone of her other novels. Austen readers will find it a delight.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unalloyed delight, 24 Jan 1999
By A Customer
A Cinderella story from the pen of one of England's finest. Anne is saddled with a father whose ego is the size of a small caribbean island and two sisters whom you will certainly love to hate. Elizabeth makes her father look modest, whilst Mary possesses all the sense and sensitivity of Sir Toby Belch. The fairy godmother figure(her deceased mother's best friend)has unfortunately made a singular error - she advised the youthful Anne against marrying a certain Captain many years ago and as a result our heroine was persuaded to let the love of her life slip through her fingers. Now perched firmly on the shelf, Anne finds herself unexpectedly swept back into company with her erstwhile lover. No longer so young & blooming herself, Anne suffers the mortification of watching him courting another girl and knowing that she has nobody but herself to blame. Enter another suitor, stage left - will Anne allow herself to be swept away by this new charmer? Will her father realise that beauty is only skin deep? Will Mary's long-suffering husband try strangling his dreadful spouse? Will Elizabeth win herself a husband? Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jane Austen Masterpiece - My Favorite!, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
"Persuasion" is a great literary work and, to my mind, Jane Austen's finest book. This was her final completed novel before her death, and was published posthumously. As is often the case with Ms. Austen's fiction, "Persuasion" deals with the social issues of the time and paints a fascinating portrait of Regency England, especially when dealing with the class system. Rigid social barriers existed - and everyone wanted to marry "up" to a higher station - and, of course, into wealth. This is also a very poignant and passionate story of love, disappointment, loss and redemption. The point Austen makes here, is that one should not ever be persuaded to abandon core values and beliefs, especially for ignoble goals. There are consequences, always.
Sir Walter Elliot, Lord of Kellynch Hall, is an extravagant, self-aggrandizing snob, and a bit of a dandy to boot. He has been a widower for many years and spends money beyond his means to increase his social stature. His eldest daughter, upon whom he dotes, is as conceited and spoiled as he is. The youngest daughter, Anne, is an intelligent, sensitive, capable, and unassuming woman in her late twenties when the story opens. She had been quite pretty at one time, but life's disappointments have taken their toll and her looks are fading. She and her sister are both spinsters. Anne had once been very much in love with a young, and as yet untried, navel officer. A woman who had been a close friend to Anne's mother, persuaded Anne to "break the connection," convincing her that she could make a much better match. After much consideration, Anne did not follow her heart or her better instincts, and she and her young officer, Frederick Wentworth, separated. She has never again found the mutual love or companionship that she had with him. Anne's older sister never married either, because she hadn't found anyone good enough! She still hopes, however, for an earl or a viscount.
The Elliot family is forced to financially retrench because of their extravagance. They lease Kellynch Hall to...of all people...Wentworth's sister and her husband. Elliot, his oldest daughter and her companion, move to a smaller lodging in Bath for the season, leaving Anne to pack up their belongings before joining them. She gets the Cinderella treatment throughout the book. Anne decides to first visit with her middle sister, an abominably spoiled, whiny hypochondriac, Mrs. Musgrove. She has made a good, but not brilliant match to a local squire. Her husband, Charles Muskgrove, his parents, and their two younger, eligible daughters, Louisa and Henrietta, are delightful. They all tolerate Mrs. Muskgrove, barely, and adore Anne. It is at the Muskgrove estate that Anne meets Frederick Wentworth again, after his absence of seven years. He is in the neighborhood, because his sister is now in the area, residing at Kellynch, of course. Wentworth is now a Captain in the Royal Navy and quite wealthy. When their eyes meet for the first time, you can absolutely feel Anne's longing and remorse. He is aloof with Anne, although civil. The man was hurtfully rejected once before and it appears that he still feels her snub. Now Wentworth is on the marriage market and Louisa sets her cap for him. Accidents and various adventures ensue, from the resorts of Lyme and Bath to the Muskgrove estate, bringing Anne and Wentworth closer together. The passion between the two is so palpable, although very understated, (this is Regency England after all). I think this is Ms. Austen at her most passionate. Some scholars say that she modeled Anne Elliot after herself.
"Persuasion" is a remarkable novel and the issues it tackles are just as germane today as they were when the book was written. And the romance...well, no one does romance better than Jane Austen.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave Jane Novel, 12 July 2007
By 
I know most people like P&P best, but if you're a Jane Austen fan, or just someone who's seen the ever popular film adaptations of her work, I think you'll find this one a real page turner. With the speed of a more contemporary romance, it rollicks and flows through one drama after the next, all with miss Austen's incomparable wit and vivacity. If you are sticking to the more popular titles only (Pride & Prej and Emma) then expand your horizons and fall in love with these characters. Great, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persuasion not necessary, 6 April 2008
By 
MG Eldridge (Anywhere but Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Persuasion is not a perfect novel. It is not the most perfect novel written by Jane Austen. It is, however, by some measure the most poignant, written at the end of her life and might be described as an Indian Summer of a book.

Juliet Stevenson reads superbly - every word to be savoured. I recommend this recording highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly Influenced My Emotional Life, 22 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This book came into my life at a time I really needed it. Perhaps that makes me partial to it, but I found it compelling, compassionate, and greatly moving. Not a general reader of Austen, but compelled to pick it up after viewing the movie, I was impressed with it's insight and its emotional and social commentary. But more than social commentary it is, though to some it may sound trite, a book of the heart and soul. For me it was spiritually cleansing and emotionally purifying. A book of beauty and love, a work which has become a personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD to iron to!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Ali (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
The CD is everything I expected it to be. Juliet Stevenson is brilliant at reading Jane Austen novels and it is a delight to have a complete unabridged version of Persuasion. I listened to it the first time whilst ironing and ended up looking for more ironing to do so that I had an excuse to carry on listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best love letter I've ever read!, 23 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
We had to read this for our final year exams, and let me tell you it was luxurious being able to read one of the two best Jane Austen books (alongside with "Pride and Prejudice") and still say that you were doing homework. While somewhat bleaker than "Pride and Prejudice", the characters are lovingly drawn, from the past lovers Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth to the biting satire used on Walter Elliot, Baronet. The love letter contained is not to be missed as it is one of the most eloquent parts of the novel, and you will definitely want to visit Bath after reading this book, and to "see the steps where..."!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Jane Austen!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Kindle Edition)
As ever Jane Austen ticks all boxes no matter how many times you read and re-read her books. Persuasion is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuasion (Wordsworth Classics)
Persuasion (Wordsworth Classics) by Jane Austen (Paperback - 7 Jun 1993)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews