Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bernardthebolt
What a story!
Definitly for the serious reader. Amazing, stupendous,heart-wrenching,spiritual, historical, minute-in detail. A work of art.
Make the reading of this one of your 'Ten things to do before... ect'
Published 6 months ago by Bernard the Bolt !

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Text size too small
Great book, but I'm now reading the Penguin version because the text in the Wordsworth copy is too small to read comfortably.
Published 19 months ago by Ray Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Text size too small, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Great book, but I'm now reading the Penguin version because the text in the Wordsworth copy is too small to read comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bernardthebolt, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
What a story!
Definitly for the serious reader. Amazing, stupendous,heart-wrenching,spiritual, historical, minute-in detail. A work of art.
Make the reading of this one of your 'Ten things to do before... ect'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hate to say it but... just too darn long, 30 Jan 2010
By 
A. Garland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Victor Hugo has many positive qualities as a writer but brevity is not one of them.

I read quite a lot but don't have infinite time to indulge. Hence if I'm going to commit to a lengthy book it needs to really draw me in.

Despite a lot of breathtakingly well-written passages, Les Miserables ultimately fails to do this due to a lack of discipline and attention to structure on Hugo's part. As I said to someone recently, there's enough material in here for about ten excellent books - it's just a shame he felt the need to write them all at once!

Having made it through the entire first volume a couple of years back, I have for the moment at least abandoned Les Mis halfway through the second volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Novel., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This book is not the theatre show or film, it is a gritty account of the inequalities of French society in the 1800's. Hugo intertwines reality with fiction expertly, and uses his own experiences to bring additional colour and life to the story. It is a social and political commentary of his time. His account of The Battle of Waterloo is very insightful, even though it is, understandably, somewhat biased toward the French point of view. Be preared for a long hard read. If you can stick it out it is very worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed the musical and the film; then read the book., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
An excellent historical novel.Wordsworth classics are a superb buy.They always contain a most informative introduction which helps one understand the context of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story .., 7 Nov 2013
By 
G. Chambers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Brilliant story , compact edition but the letters are painfully small ,as I think somebody else mentioned in a review !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very small typeface, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
love the book but the type in this edition is almost too small to read without a magnifier overlay.
Good value but hard work to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Such a fantastic story. Yes it does go off on a tangent now and again, but don't be daunted by the size of the two volumes. Definitely worth investing time in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars volume two., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
like volume 1 im going to enjoy part two and the service that you so promply give.
I have the book by victor hugo which was more expensive so these volume"s
one and two are more value for money.plus always a good and quick service.

by the way I work for mc-graw hill education in maidenhead and we have a lot of
books that get sent to you.
mr.ford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Worth persevering though I did give up and miss out some chapters full of historical detail and facts about Paris at the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics)
Les Misérables Volume Two: 2 (Wordsworth Classics) by Victor Hugo (Paperback - 5 Jan 1994)
£1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews