Customer Reviews


1,585 Reviews
5 star:
 (869)
4 star:
 (337)
3 star:
 (217)
2 star:
 (94)
1 star:
 (68)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential piece of 20th century literature
The iconic novel of the 20s and an American classic, F. Scott Fitzgerald's greatest novel finally gets the edition it deserves.
Published 18 months ago by O P J

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely classic, worth checking out.
I have been meaning to read The Great Gatsby for some time now, so I’m glad I was inspired to read it recently. It’s not a long read, or hard to read so it was perfect to slot in between reads! I thought it was an enjoyable enough read, but I didn’t feel blown away by it. I think it’s because it was so short, I didn’t really have time to get...
Published 1 month ago by Chrissi Read


‹ Previous | 1145 146 147159 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable adaptation., 27 May 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Great Gatsby (BBC Audiobooks)
A BBC Radio full cast dramatisation

An enjoyable adaptation of the F. Scott Fitzgerald novel "The Great Gatsby".

It retains all the atmosphere of the 1920's cleverly by linking the scenes with authentic music of the era. The characters in the story are linked together by object of the story, Jay Gatsby, who depicts all the decadence and excesses of the age.

Good acting and a thoroughly enjoyable adaptation of the book. One I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars readable and fairly interesting though for me not a classic, 27 May 2012
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Kindle Edition)
Thought I would try this great American novel as it is a) short and b) only 49 pence on Kindle. It probably portrays quite well the closed world of a group of well off people in the 1920s. It is a little rambling in places, but builds up to quite a dramatic and sad conclusion. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good look at mankind, 17 May 2012
In beautiful, gripping prose and in under 200 pages Mr. Fitzgerald tells us what despicable and/or sorry creatures a lot of human beings really are. Thank God, he has also room for the decent ones. Anyhow, an absolute must read because it shows with great clarity the emptiness, hollowness of the rich and famous.

The 53 pages of introduction in this Penguin modern classics edition are completely superfluous to me. Also, Fitzgerald's prose deserves better printing than Penguin grants him in this edition. But still a great read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitzgerald Gatsby: What's in a name?, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jay Gatsby is a reflection of the author's, Scott Fitzgerald's, hero-image for 1920s America, but seen mostly - not consistently -through the device of Nick Carraway's first-person narrative; yet, as Tony Tanner points out in his excellent Introduction, is not Nick the real Gatsby and Jay the clone robotically engaged in a five-year attempt to allure Daisy across the bay? Jay Gatsby behaves, with his 'old sport' mantra, his 'oggsford' background, his obviously sleazy, criminal underworld connections, like a personage manufactured for the Prohibition age, whose meaning, though, cannot be entirely separated from that image of the ideal America possibly perceived by the first sailors to arrive on its shores. A deep novel, as intriguing as a metaphysical poem, and a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 11 May 2012
By 
B. Welbourn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Kindle Edition)
I read this book many years ago and enjoyed reading it again.It conjures up a fascinating picture of the jazz age and the plot was much more interesting than I had remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Kindle Edition)
What a delightful book. A little slow to get off the ground but that is its only flaw. Fitzgerald's use of language is fluid, poetic and what can only really be surmised as beautiful. He also has a wonderful almost gossipy way of relaying a story with some wonderful perceptions and notions of the world and people around him. I've just started the Beautiful and the Damned such is my admiration for this eloquent and poetic style of writing. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply sparkling!, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Stuart Ayris (Tollesbury, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Kindle Edition)
Reading The Great Gatsby I feel I have taken a step forward in many ways. It is not a long novel and not really much happens. You don't really get to know too much about the main characters nor really get to have a fondness for any of them. Despite all that, and perhaps in part because of it, I found the book to be wonderful.

Nick Carraway narrates the events of the summer of 1922 during which he meets Jay Gatsby and participates to a degree in the story that unfolds. The subtlety of the novel is its heartbeat. Each line is so well crafted, just tempting you to see what is implied as well as what is written. If I were to use one adjective to describe it then that word would be 'sparkle'. It is a hard, uncompromising tale of rich people falling apart, the story of people who can overcome anything so long as material possessions abound - even taking the life of another or being married to someone you don't love.

Inbetween all the perfect descriptions and genteel mannerisms of the main characters there are outbursts of violence that really do make you gasp. Tom Buchanan, a brute of a man, takes Nick with him to an apartment in New York where Tom has his away days with his mistress. Another couple are invited and a drunken party ensues. Then Tom's mistress begins taunting him about his wife and...

"Making a short deft movement, Tom Buchanan broke her nose with his open hand."

Literally stunning.

The novel seems to me to be an allegory of the capitalist dream, that constant pursuit of some definable attainment that tells everybody else you have 'made it.' Gatsby, on the surface, has made it. He has an amazing house and throws lavish parties for complete strangers yet the foundations are built on lies and deceit. Even the love he has for Tom Buchanan's wife is as superficial as he believes it deep.

The tragedy that befalls Gatsby at the end almost feels superficial to the real tragedy that F.Scott Fitzgerald has laid before us - that it is not just Gatsby and the Buchanans who ruin the lives of others, it is the very ethos behind their acts that continues to this day; the pursuit of power and love by means of wealth.

Needless to say, the book fair blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWENTIETH CENTURY CLASSIC, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
What makes this book so good? Is it the way that theme, character, plot and setting effortlessly combine? Or the sharp, pared down dialogue? Or the atmosphere, sick with money? Or the mysterious Gatsby himself, the ultimate hollow man? Or Scott Fitzgerald's entranced ambivalence about the American Dream? All of the above, probably. There are no rules about what makes a great book, but to me, this is the real thing, strange and compelling, and different each time you read it.

How To Be A Writer: The definitive guide to getting published and making a living from writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for school work, 9 Feb 2012
By 
Meshell (Lincolnshire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Bought this on request from my daughter doing her A level in english lit. It arrived quickly and well packaged, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To replace my old copy, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for myself as I cannot find my old copy and wanted to read it again, excellent book. Price and delivery very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1145 146 147159 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Gatsby (Wordsworth Classics)
The Great Gatsby (Wordsworth Classics) by F.Scott Fitzgerald (Paperback - 1 May 1992)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews