Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cheap edition of the text - nothing more but great
Wordsworth Classics do not try to be anything they are not, a feature I have liked about them for years. They contain the text in a basic paperback format and are produced at a very cheap price. For students at Key Stage Three or GCSE, these are excellent texts, allowing them to annotate, underline and highlight in the knowledge that "they are expendable". For play...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by RR Waller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars altogether a disappointment and I must remember never to buya "Wwordsworth Classic
had expected more of the text and much less of the "chatter". altogether a disappointment and I must remember never to buya "Wwordsworth Classic.
Published 1 month ago by d.margaret bates


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A cheap copy of Macbeth was what I wanted and the entire book met my expectations. It is simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my gcses and it is really small and fits perfectly into my bag. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
very ok! well I don't have much to say anymore. i have just said my bit. the product is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value for money sent within time stated my daughter loves it would definetely recommend it to my friends and family, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
good value for money sent within time stated my daughter loves it would definetely recommend it to my friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Bought for my son to help with his English course work. Already been put to good use and is well marked woth notes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics), 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A quarter of the price I would have paid locally and that includes the P&P - and that makes me a very satisfied customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the darkest and most powerful tragedies ever written by a true master of his craft, which is my favorite of his works., 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Undeniably astounding and breathtaking Shakespeare is considered one of the greatest play writers that has ever lived, and once you read his work is it clear to see why. Macbeth (or the Scottish play) has to be one of my favorites that I studied innumerable times at school and whilst at college studying English Literature. It is so powerful, moving and poignant that it never fails in moving audiences to tears, with his words striking a cord in our hearts and minds forever. It is full of deep meaning and purpose, written with such intent as to have you standing on the very edge of despair one minute to undeniably feeling electric intensity and passion. Set in Scotland, the play dramatizes the corroding psychological and political effects produced when its protagonist, the Scottish lord Macbeth, chooses evil as the way to fulfill his ambition for power. He commits regicide to become king and then furthers his moral descent with a reign of murderous terror to stay in power, eventually plunging the country into civil war. In the end he loses everything that gives meaning and purpose to his life before losing his life itself. It is Shakepeares shortest, bloodiest tragedy that tells of great ambition and greed with the concequences of the protagonists actions being clear and direct. Cosumed by evil thoughts Macbeth comes to a sticky end as he endures years of guilt, paranoia that leads to madness. The bloodbath swiftly takes Macbeth and Lady Macbeth into realms of arrogance, madness and eventual death.
Over the course of many centuries, the play has attracted some of the most renowned actors to the roles of Macbeth and Lady Macbeth. It has been adapted to film, television, opera, novels, comic books and other media. It contains some of the most reconizable and distinctive characters within great literature (from Duncan the King of Scotland to Banquo and Macduff), that remain to this day a part of literary history that is so important. Shakepeare's works have defined and shaped the world and the written word, hence he should never be forgotten nor overlooked as one of the most remarkable men who ever graced this earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macbeth, 22 Oct 2012
By 
R. Horn (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This was bought as a school book for my son's English GCSE. Not much to say really but that it is a book that is readable. Arrived on time and have no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars altogether a disappointment and I must remember never to buya "Wwordsworth Classic, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had expected more of the text and much less of the "chatter". altogether a disappointment and I must remember never to buya "Wwordsworth Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books ever written in terms of language, story, and character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics)
Macbeth (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews