Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this book as it was on one of the lists of books to read before you die which I am currently working my way through. These were the first Sherlock Holmes stories I have read and will not be my last.

Each story is about 20 pages long and the bite size chunks will get you so intrigued in the character that you will not be able to wait for more. (I also found it quite fun to try and guess 'Who dunnit' whilst reading. Needless to say I only got it right once, emphasizing Conan Doyle's vivid imagination and creativity). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best and the worst, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Fiona Duff (Lucan, Co Dublin, IE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This book contains the best and the worst of the Sherlock Holmes stories. The Adventures are earlier stories and some of the best in the series. The Memoirs are the latest short stories and written after Conan Doyle had lost interest in the character. Needless to say all of them are still worth a read and even the worst are still better written than many modern stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
If you've never read any of the Sherlock Holmes stories (where have you been?!), then this is the perfect place to start. Each story is a complete pleasure from start to finish, and you'll be amazed at how Conon Doyle has managed to cram so many twists and turns into such a small word count. Absolutely perfect!

If this book doesn't instil a lifelong love of Sherlock Holmes, nothing will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, 24 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
My 14 year old son purchased this book and enjoyed it so much he purchased a copy for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 Dec 2013
By 
S. Theobald (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this collection of short stories enjoyable and were long enough to read just before falling asleep. Sherlock Holmes is more likeable in the book than on screen. I will be reading the other books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed reading the original Sherlock Holmes after the watching the may modern @spin-offs@ on film and TV. It is timeless and the illustrations only complement the stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of Sherlock, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I have read the Sherlock Holmes stories many times so nothing i nthis book was new to me. In fact, he reason for me purchasing this book is to replace my old dog eared Sherlock Holmes books. I really like the Wordsworth format. The books are just the right size to make for comfortable reading in bed, my preferred venue for a spot of reading. Really great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes crime stories, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I love reading Sherlock Holmes stories. More adventures with the crime fighting duo Holmes and Watson. Sherlock Holmes always gets the criminals in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This is a great edition of the Sherlock Holmes books and a fantastic way to introduce someone to Doyle's work. I bought this for a friend overseas so they could immerse themselves in the world of Sherlock Holmes. The cover is nice and the quality of the book is sturdy and durable - great for withstanding all the rereading it's bound to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Another good read. Really getting in to Sherlock Holmes. Perfect condition and super fast delivery. Will keep eyes open now for
more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics)
The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Wordsworth Classics) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - 10 May 1992)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews