Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ REVIEW FOR ***CORRECT TRANSLATION***
There are three significant translations of this book, and amazon's lacklustre book-sorting system creates nothing but chaos when searching for the correct format / translation of this book. I'm here to help!

note: (find the version you are looking for with the ISBN numbers I've provided at the bottom of this review, you can just copy and paste them into the...
Published 23 months ago by coolhand

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book fine, download product can be better
The book itself is fine, the download product needs better conversion, when changing background mode to be dim etc, it does not translate well.
Published 4 months ago by J. Moyle


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Evergreen Classic, 18 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
"Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea" is a wonderfully constructed science-fiction wherein there's a perfect blend of science and poetry to gift the world a rare genre of literature punctured on various occasions in its narrative flow by philosophical intonations and dark premonition about te future of the world. The first person narrative,a conversational tone and an innocent conincing adeptness lend the novel a touch of soothing feel and that intermingled with the exotic descrptions of not only the undersea world but the submarine itself moulds this novel into a classic. Here Jules Verne illustrates an imaginable picture and indeed the awe in which the great French author is held id made even more amazing by two strange facts. One is that when this novel was composed,no one had conceived the idea of a submarine let alone construct it and the other is that the undersea world was still yet to be explored. Jules Verne thereby becomes a great visonery and a man with a rare gift to write in a unique and pleasing flavour.

But "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea" isn't just a narration of the undrsea;it's much more subtle in its implication;it's about man's continous wrestle with Nature and his urgency to conquer her;it's about man's conflict with man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Jules's jewels after all, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the book as a child! Loved the Disney movie! But my re-reading it after all these years revealed the narrative as rather dry and the dialogue as a bit clunky. Maybe it's the translation to blame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book started well but went down hill after and did a lot of unnecessary explanation. and there are characters who turn up and we don't know who they are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the read, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book but it did lose my interest often when the explanation of the marine creatures got quite technical and filled with jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book for a rainy day, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad read, tends to Be rather drawn out in places which loses the readers interest,but on the whole not a bad read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and I regret I found it a disappointment. But then what do you expect, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this many years ago as a boy, and I regret I found it a disappointment. But then what do you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Belongs in the past, 28 Feb. 2009
I am sure that my review will be considered heresy to many but I am fully aware that I am giving my honest opinions on a novel written well over a century ago and one that has been long cemented as a literary classic.
I probably should have got round to reading this `Boy's Own' adventure years ago, but I somehow never got around to it and when I eventually did it just seemed dull. Even classics age, and Verne's epic tale of what at first appears to be a giant sea monster terrorising ships, but which turns out to be something far more sinister, is both plodding and flabby. The Victorian style grated on me immensely, whilst the descriptions of the `sea monster' merely reflect Nineteenth Century ignorance and the age's desire for man to be Lord of all - whatever the cost.

By all means give this a go; it remains a ground-breaking science fiction novel and an example of how man felt about his place on the Earth at a time when the British Empire was at its height. However, don't expect to be thrilled; if you want an example of gripping Victorian drama that continues to resonate today, try Mary Shelley's Frankenstein instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Wordsworth Classics)
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Wordsworth Classics) by Jules Verne (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews