Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars178
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2013
An absolute classic a delight from start to finish. A comprehensive account of a sea faring voyage. Way ahead of its time and obviously well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Excellent story and most informative - I would have given five stars but found some of the descriptions of the flora and fauna a little repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
and every school child should read this kind of book, move over Harry Potter this is a real adventure, well written and of course now classic film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 1999
The best translation in English. Satisfies the intellect and imagination. Translated to show the truly beautiful qualities of Verne's writing that no other version can equal. The adventure comes alive by not omitting the breadth and depth of Verne's aesthetic ability originally entrenched within this masterpiece.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
A thrilling classic that has withstood the test of time. I enjoyed reading this as it gave me an insight into another world deep in the oceans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
The book itself is fine, the download product needs better conversion, when changing background mode to be dim etc, it does not translate well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
A classic author and a classic book. Time has not diminished the enjoyment gained from reading this story, and I return to it every so often
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Wonderful book - Jules Verne is truly a master of the literary arts. Book was shipped extremely fast and came to me in pristine condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Fantastic read. Cannot put it down. Old science fiction, but it's still fresh. Should have read this when I was younger as it's a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 October 2009
In Jules Verne's classic adventure story, a large & incredibly fast sea monster is attacking ships in oceans all over the world. When a marine professor is sent to investigate, he & his companions discover that the 'monster' is in fact an amazing submarine, built & captained by the mysterious mariner Nemo. Amazed by the Nautilus' advanced technology & charmed by its captain, the professor finds it impossible not to admire the very man who has taken him prisoner.

I picked this up after being intrigued by Alan Moore's portrayal of Captain Nemo in The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen & I was not disappointed. The original Nemo is every bit as deep & unfathomable as the oceans he commands. Because of this, 20,000 Leagues is still a satisfying read, despite being rather dated in places. Of course, submarines are something which we tend to take for granted nowadays but the atmosphere Verne weaves had me just as mesmerised as the professor, when he's shown around the Nautilus for the first time.

Verne tends to go overboard with the details, merrily cataloguing the dimensions of the vessel, how much water it displaces & the co-ordinates at which various events take place, and so on. But despite this, Nemo's charisma along with the rousing adventure story at its heart made this book difficult to put down.

Looking at the various editions available on Amazon, it seems that many are marketed towards children. Because of the large amounts of detail & dated terminology, I would recommend buying a suitably edited version for pre-teens & would recommend the original for adults, who will get more out of the complex central character, while enjoying a good adventure story.

So despite being a little dated, a timeless heart beats within this novel. The true sign of a classic. As such, I had no hesitation in ordering the sequel The Mysterious Island (Forgotten Books).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse