Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arden's Julius Caesar
Excellent introduction and notes plus relevant extracts from Plutarch's Lives and descriptions of the characters make this so much more than a copy of the text - a veritable study guide.
Published on 13 Jun 2010 by M. Harvey

versus
7 of 73 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history but poor resolution
Having read much historically about the the Roman emperors, I was very excited to be reading JULIUS CAESAR. It was interesting at first to compare the characters of the play to the same names we read about in history books. I felt that this is one of Shakespeare's most difficult books to interpret in today's language. Even though this edition does have extensive...
Published on 8 Oct 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arden's Julius Caesar, 13 Jun 2010
By 
M. Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent introduction and notes plus relevant extracts from Plutarch's Lives and descriptions of the characters make this so much more than a copy of the text - a veritable study guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful introduction covering the many aspects of how and why Shakespeare's Julius Caesar has been staged through time; insight into Shakespeare's motives in writing the play set in context of the Elizabethan court and much more. The play itself is clearly set out with footnotes and further information at the back of the book. For study or purely personal interest it is well worth paying a bit extra for this publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 31 July 2006
Ok, so you wouldn't exactly pass a history exam if you based your knowledge of Julius Caesar only on Shakespeare's play - he manipulates historical material and sources, so sometimes it seems as if days pass rather than years between the various historical events of the play; however, this is all done to achieve a brilliant dramatic effect, with countless paradoxes, ironies, juxtapositions, and contrasts. Shakespeare is the master of language in this play, from the arrogant, larger-than-life Caesar and the blood-drenched metaphors of murder to the emotional rhetoric of Mark Antony. And if you're worried about the dates, don't fear, the Arden Shakespeare contains a brilliant introduction which includes a discussion of how Shakespeare condensed historical material available to him and what the Renaissance view of Caesar was. The annotations are very helpful and plentiful, even if you're just starting Shakespare this would be the ideal play for an introduction to his language and dramatic techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars School resource, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Just what my son also needed for his English lesson, what a good book. I have recommended it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Julius Caesar, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Library copy with a cover on. No markings except at the top of one page which we trimmed out. Arrived fairly quickly, great price. Absolutely no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIKED IT, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I LOVED THE BOOK AND ITS STATE. VERY CLEAN AND NEW, AND WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR BASICALLY FOR MY STUDY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it !, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
the book was very help full it gives you a full break down of what happenes in the play, this book is good if your at drama school or on a drama course !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 19 Oct 2012
By 
AndyL (Cambridgeshire/ Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I'm reading this to my kids who are in the first and third year of secondary school. I love it, I love the rich language, the plots and everything about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare's most modern play, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Of all Shakespeare's plays, Julius Caesar is the most modern. You do not need to update it in order to set it in modern times. Shakespeare wrote a play that he knew would always be modern to the people performing it.

Leaving aside the ur-Hamlet business, without Julius Caesar, there would be no Hamlet. They have essentially the same theme behind them: a noble character laments the moral decline of his society and tries to restore honour and virtue. But which character is Hamlet? Brutus, the loyal and noble Roman who assassinates Caesar seemingly for the good of the republic, is the obvious candidate, though there are shades of Macbeth in him too. However, let's not forget Cassius, who initially seems to have an Iago-like hold over Brutus and admires his honour in the way that Hamlet admires Horatio's. Hamlet even makes a joke about the play Julius Caesar.

The central conflict of the play, one that will always be present in politics, is the respective merits of a government led by old-fashioned values and reason and a populist government based on personality and appealing to the emotions of the public. Caesar has a god-complex but the majority of the people seem to love him. Brutus prizes virtues such as honour and old-fashioned rhetoric, but his rhetoric is no match for Marc Antony's.

Some argue that after Antony has finished his speech, the play runs out of steam, but I disagree. The tables have turned on Brutus and his fellow conspirators and the fall of Cassius and Brutus begins. The play needs to continue after Antony's speech because this is when we realise that Brutus probably got it wrong, or certainly didn't plan what would happen after Caesar's assassination.

I would recommend this play to a Shakespeare beginner who perhaps feels intimidated by the archaic sounds of other Shakespeare plays, as this is a very readable play and is strikingly modern. The reader can see the events described in the play happening around them and so they can recognise Antony's rhetoric as modern day cant.
This political conflict is just one of the many themes that pervade the play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven stars for Wordsworth cheap paperback Shakespeares, 15 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
REVIEW of the Wordsworth edition of "Julius Caesar" (in fact, all the Wordsowrth paperback editions) NOT the play itself

If readers want a review of this great play, please read elsewhere. I am reviewing just the cheap edition produced by the Wordsworth company. I recommended this and other Wordsworth editions to my students simply because they are cheap and, for examination purposes when it is essential to highlight, annotate and make other notes on texts, they are ideal. It does not have any notes or other additional information; it is perfect for study because, without the notes, it tends to focus students on the text itself.

It does not present itself as anything other than a cheap paperback - unpretentious and outstanding quality which my students used to great effect over many years. Well done, Wordsworth. They also produce the very best study CDs I had seen at the time and, in one edition, it is possible to buy both for an exceptionally cheap price, a bargain I recommended to all my students. No, I am not in Wordsworth's employment but, as an educationalist, I know a great bargain when I see one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics)
Julius Caesar (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 1 May 1992)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews