Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rambling, funny and good-natured C18th tale
In Tom Jones, Fielding hangs a huge and rambling tale on the life and travels of a foundling. Often cited alongside Richardson's Pamela: Or Virtue Rewarded (Oxford World's Classics) as the first great novels of English literature (however innacurate that label might be), this works very differently stylistically.

Fielding breaks the cardinal rule of...
Published on 22 April 2011 by Roman Clodia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts
I love to be lost in long books. But this book took all the patience I had. HF has all the hallmarks of a great writer and for that I stuck at it. The story as it stood would better told in half the pages. His constant preambles had to be skipped after a while, he unfortunately feels the constant need to expunge his vast knowledge on all subjects which became very off...
Published 12 months ago by mark m


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excessively long and hard to read, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
3 stars because it's too long and the old language is hard to read but it is a good story if you have the time and patience which i did not have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 10 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Did not refer to any of his famous hits. Didn't mention his leading role in the voice and didn't even refer to his failed marriages. In fact, it mentioned absolutley nothing about Tom Jones whatsoever.

It's a big fat 0 from me folks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointing waffle of a book., 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Jodie "Yoda" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
The story of Tom Jones could really have been quite a good book and I really did enjoy the bits where the actual story was told.
But in all honesty if this novel was written today it would be finished/edited down to about 350 pages, not the whopping 856 pages that this book is.

The major problem I had with this book is that there is so much waffling and philosophising in the first 500 pages to make you want to throw the book at the wall, but then the last part of the book, when boy finally gets girl or looks likely of getting girl (which is the payoff of the book) is rushed through and has events and scenes entirely glossed over. It is almost as though one of Mr. Fielding's friends or publishers said "I think the book needs to be finished up, don't you? It's getting a tad long".
Yet, earlier in this epic novel, there is almost 50 pages of drivel on a character "The Man Of The Hill" which once finished the character was never mentioned again and added nothing to the story, almost 50 pages and at the end of the novel we get a two page gloss over of Tom Jones's wedding. Come on, I've read 850+ pages! I'm invested! Another 50 pages to finish off the most important part of the story won't hurt that much. Will it? Grrrrrrr.

So, as said in the title of the review, very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try another narrator, 6 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Tom Jones (Audio CD)
Whilst Edward Fox may be a great actor , his narration of " Tom Jones " may be best described as mechanical ; he goes to the motions of reading it & makes little attempt to differentiate between the different characters by using different voice inflections . I am sure that any of the other narrators of "Tom Jones" would be better than Mr. Fox . Because I have listened to 40 or so audiobooks over the last 2 years , I have a very high standard of what to expect - and this particular audiobook is a waste of time & money in my opinion .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
difficult to understand what this all about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for amateur dramatics, 27 July 2005
This review is from: Tom Jones: A Comedy (Paperback)
A good choice for an amateur dramatic society as it places minimal strain on the actors. The story is explained to the audience mainly through Tom Jones' narration (although others get to talk to the audience), leaving the players to perform a series of slapstick set pieces. Good fun if you're into this sort of thing and on stage (or have friends on stage), if a little tiresome for the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 15 April 1998
By A Customer
I loved the movie on A&E, and I can't wait to read the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics)
Tom Jones (Wordsworth Classics) by Henry Fielding (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews