Customer Reviews


976 Reviews
5 star:
 (729)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre
This is a beautiful story - the best romance ever written. But don't let that put you off - Jane Eyre is as passionate and wilful a character as you could ever wish for. Written in the first-person, Jane Eyre is both compelling and exciting. You haven't truly read anything if you haven't read this!
This is a fast-paced story (not as wordy as people are inclined to...
Published on 26 Oct. 2008 by Book Worm

versus
59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On receipt
Just received this and disappointed to see that it is abridged. I cannot see any reference to this detail on the screen information. I have not yet listened to this item. This is just the first point to note. May I suggest that the word 'abridged' should be clearly shown on the screen information that we see when we are considering buying an item.
Thank you
Published on 29 Oct. 2008 by J. Hopkins


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre, 26 Oct. 2008
This is a beautiful story - the best romance ever written. But don't let that put you off - Jane Eyre is as passionate and wilful a character as you could ever wish for. Written in the first-person, Jane Eyre is both compelling and exciting. You haven't truly read anything if you haven't read this!
This is a fast-paced story (not as wordy as people are inclined to believe), which is impossible to put down after you have begun to read it! This edition of the book is a comfortable book to read, with reasonably big type, although it makes the book fatter. The cover is in a very romantic style, which may not suit everybody, but I would definately reccomend the layout inside. There isn't a 'dictionary' at the back with difficult to understand words or phrases that are no longer in use, which might be a good idea for younger readers, but I'm definately a younger reader, and yet I'm finding it perfectly easy to understand!
If you haven't read this, then buy it NOW and read it. Oh, and buy it for everyone else you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A literary triumph, 23 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
I was slightly reluctant to read Jane Eyre. In the past I have had bad expieriences with what people would deem 'intellectual' books and wrongly dub as 'contemporary classics', but I can honestly say that Jane Eyre deserves to be referred to as a classic.
It is written in an autobiographical style and tells the story of Jane Eyre (obviously), who was orphaned at an early age and taken in by her uncle, Mr. Reed, who shortly also died, leaving her in the care of her cruel Aunt, Mrs. Reed, and at the mercy of her malicious cousin, John Reed. However, at the age of ten Jane Eyre leaves the Reed household to attent a charity boarding school known as Lowood where she befriends the mild mannered Helen Burns and gains the education that allows her, at the age of eighteen, to take a position as a Governess at Thornfield Hall. Here she meets the 'dark and sardonic' Mr. Rochester and falls in love with him. But alas, their union is not to be when Jane discovers a dark secret of Mr. Rochester's that forces her to leave Thornfield Hall and her chance of happiness as a married woman.
I will not go into the plot any longer, in case of spoiling the ending, but there are many aspects of the book that I was shocked to see in a novel written back in the 1800's. One that was not so surprising however, was the religious and moral references that frequently crop up, but don't be deceived into thinking that Jane Eyre, Mr. Rochester and all other lead chracters are pious and preachy with the shared desire to 'do the right thing'. Jane does try to do what's right, but Mr. Rochester is often sly and occasionally seems cruel. He is far from a typical 'hero'.
And Jane is far from the typical heroine. This is what I believe makes the book so refreshing despite the fact it was written such a long time ago. Bronte takes pains to impress upon the reader that Jane is no beauty (and nor is Mr. Rochester) and while Jane eventually forgives Mrs. Reed and those who did her wrong, she is often wilful and passionate in her search for independence. While reading the book you really get to know Jane and start to care about her. The whole way through this book all I wanted was for Jane and Mr. Rochester to finally get together. You can fully understand Jane's dismay when she comes up against obstacles that hinder this.
The book is divided into three volumes. The first two volumes are absoultely exquisite, and so it the end of the third volume, however the beginning of volume three does drag on a bit.
I would recommend this book to anybody who loves classics, and to the rest who are scared (such as I was) to start reading them. Jane Eyre was my gateway into the world of old English literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her First Published Novel, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Kindle Edition)
The last of the Bronte sisters to have a novel published, although they did all appear in the same year, Charlotte originally put forward The Professor to be her first novel, which was turned down (quite rightly), thus only being published after her death. As with her two other major novels, 'Villette' and 'Shirley' you can quite clearly see how Charlotte played with her readers and their expectations.

We read about Jane Eyre growing up and how she falls in love with Mr Rochester, only to find out a secret after he has proposed to her. With gothic settings and an end that would have been a surprise for most readers of the time this was first published, this novel was ultimately said by Miss Oliphant to be the starting of the 'Sensation Novel'. Readers since its first publication have fallen in love with this story and it was well received by most critics at the time, with the exception of those of a more strict religious persuasion - after all it is a romance, but of an illicit type.

Nowadays apart from still being a very engrossing read this also gives some idea of how people were treated and what normal expectations their lives had. Of course Charlotte, by creating what was an illicit romance between two people would have still been a bit of a shocker at the time, as such things were greatly frowned upon, and this shows Charlotte's sophistication and willingness to appeal to her readers. She followed up such things with 'Villette' where she goes out of her way to play with her readers, and with 'Shirley', because at the time the name was only just becoming to be associated as a female name instead of a male. If you think about it you would have picked the book up seeing the title and expecting the character to be a male.

Told in the first person Jane Eyre talks to us and brings her story to life with a certain amount of pathos, thus making us as readers really feel for her and ache to help her. Although nowadays perhaps seen more as a teen girl's book this is for all of us, of whatever sex, or even sexual orientation. How many of us have fallen in love with someone who is unavailable? I would think most of us at one time or another. Having a strong narrative that really draws you in and captivates this is truly a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is Jane Eyre, sir, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
It's hard to imagine a better gothic romance than "Jane Eyre" -- gloomy vast houses, mysterious secrets, and a brooding haunted man with a dark past.

In fact, Charlotte Bronte's classic novel has pretty much everything going for it -- beautiful settings, a passionate romance tempered by iron-clad morals, and a heroine whose poverty and lack of beauty only let her brains and courage shine brighter. And it's all wrapped in the misty, haunting atmosphere of a true gothic story -- madwoman in the attic and all.

Jane Eyre was an orphan, abused and neglected first by relatives, then by a boarding school run by a tyrannical, hypocritical minister. But Jane refuses to let anyone shove her down -- even when her saintly best friend dies from the wretched conditions.

But many years later, Jane moves on by applying to Thornfield Hall for a governess position, and gets the job. She soon becomes the teacher and friend to the sprightly French girl Adele, but is struck by the dark, almost haunted feeling of her new home.

Then she runs into a rather surly horseman -- who turns out to be her employer, Mr. Rochester, a cynical, embittered man who spends little time at Thornfield. They are slowly drawn together into a powerful love, despite their different social stations -- and Rochester's apparent attentions to a shallow, snotty aristocrat who wants his wealth and status.

But strange things are happening at Thornfield -- stabbings, fires, and mysterious laughter. Jane and Rochester finally confess their feelings to each other, but their wedding is interrupted when Rochester's dark past comes to light. Jane flees into the arms of long-lost family members, and is offered a new life -- but her love for Rochester is not so easily forgotten...

"Jane Eyre" is one of those books that transcends the labels of genre. Charlotte Bronte spun a haunting gothic romance around her semi-autobiographical heroine and Byronic anti-hero, filling it with brilliant writing and solid plot. It has everything all the other gothic romances of the time had... but Bronte gave it depth and intensity without resorting to melodrama.

Bronte wrote in the usual stately prose of the time, but it has a sensual, lush quality, even in the dank early chapters at Lowood. At Thornfield, the book acquires an overhanging atmosphere of foreboding, until the clouds clear near the end. And she wove some tough questions into Jane's perspective -- that of a woman's independence and strength in a man's world, of extreme religion, and of the clash between morals and passion.

And Bronte also avoided any tinges of drippy sentimentality (Mrs. Reed dies still spewing venom) while injecting some hauntingly nightmarish moments ("She sucked the blood: she said she'd drain my heart"). She even manages to include some funny stuff, such as Rochester disguising himself as an old gypsy woman.

The story does slow down after the abortive wedding, when Jane flees Thornfield and briefly considers marrying a repressed clergyman who wants to go die preaching in India. It's rather boring to hear the self-consciously saintly St. John prattling about himself, instead of Rochester's barbed wit. But when Jane departs again, the plot speeds up into a nice, mellow little finale.

Bronte did a brilliant job of bringing her heroine to life -- as a defiant little girl who is condemned for being "passionate," as an independent young lady, and as a woman torn between love and principle. Jane's strong personality and wits overwhelm the basic fact that she's not unusually pretty. And Rochester is a brilliantly sexy Byronic anti-hero with a prickly, mercurial wit.

Of Charlotte Bronte's few novels, "Jane Eyre" is undoubtedly the most brilliant -- passionate, dark and hauntingly eerie. Definitely a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an accidental read, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I read Jane Eyre quite by accident.

Many years ago i watched a period drama on television, and 2 weeks ago i thought i would finally read the book, so imagine my surprise when the book didnt tally with what i had seen on screen. It later came to me that what i had actually watched was Emma, by Jane Austen, but by the time i discovered my faux pas, i was so into Jane Eyre that i did not care one iota.

I was hooked from the first chapter, and enchanted by this poor creature who was enduring so much mental and physical torture, who was unloved, unwanted and alone.

As the story progresses we see Jane mature from a young rebellious thing to a fine, upstanding, sweet natured woman, who is headstrong and determined, and completely selfless.

Narrated in the first person, Bronte's writing instantly draws the reader into the story, compelling us to read another chapter, and another, without much respite. I found the book incredibly hard to put down. The way the story unfolds is mesmerising, and it is so intelligently written and absorbing; i often found myself musing over the previously read chapters when i did eventually put the book down for a rest.

The last two chapters had me in tears, literally; i was reading the final chapters while sat in my garden, sunglasses on, though when the tears began to fall, i had to remove them because tears just fell onto the plastic lenses, and then they fell onto the very pages which bought those tears on. I rarely get this emotional when reading, and i am quite sure i have never shed so many tears over any book until now.

Jane is such a likeable character and i am sure most readers identify with her, even today, some 180 years since its first publication, her situation and predicaments are something we all experience in our lives at some point.

Ten years ago i would not even have attempted to read such a book, i would have dismissed it as some pretentious, Victorian Gothic drivel, as boring as watching paint dry, but let me tell you, it is so beautifully written, so enchanting, and so easy to read; do not think for one second that it is complicated because it is not; the poetic way Charlotte writes will mesmerise you.

It is no wonder that this story has stood the test of time, and i am sure that in another 180 years time this fine example of english literature will have its fans as much as it does today.

Read Jane Eyre, i urge you, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jane eyre hardback unabridged collector's edition, 21 April 2009
By 
this is my 3rd Collector's Edition book i have and i want MORE! from the dustcover which hides the lovely red velvety feel of the book to the gold edged pages with permanent ribboned marker. What a treat! I agree not so good for eyes that can't see properly as the book is rather small but i'd recommend a big magnifying glass to go with it! the book reminds me (as obviously do their stories) of times gone by when books WERE books. Just love everything about this. originally had the penguin version (paperback) but just wanted something a big smarter! Every year i have to read Pride & Prejudice (collector's library, naturally) just in case Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth DON'T end up together. The books are just the right size to hold and i lurve 'em! as for Jane Eyre, probably one of my least favourite stories EVER - that was until the BBC did the version in 2006 and suddenly made Mr. Rochester "sexy"????!!!!!! had then to buy the book to see what HADN'T been put in the tv series, ended up reading it in 2 days and it made me cry at the end! what a lovely story. i've even bought of amazon the 1986 tv series with Timothy Dalton AMAZING!!! what an overly underrated actor he is, a bit too good looking for Mr. Rochester but a superb bit of acting (shame about james bond!) Can't praise this book highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector's library, 28 July 2007
Very nice edition! it is smaller than a "normal" book, as is clear from the dimensions given in the product information section, but is not more difficult to read. I have many of these books and i absolutely love them, I am just disappointed that some authors are not published (like Mrs Gaskell).
I found it a bit misleading to give 1 star to a book like Jane Eyre just because somebody didn't like the dimension of it, so i decided to write this review to give my impression of these editions which are absolutely elegant and special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless romance, 23 Jan. 2003
Young Jane has a tough childhood growing up with her cousins and aunt after her parents passed away. Treated like a servant, and not like a member of the family, Jane felt she was all alone in the world, and it doesn't make it better when she's sent away to school. First as a student, and then as a teacher/guverness, but neither is like a dance on roses. Then her skills bring her to a mysterious and quite arrogant Mr.Rochesters house where she becomes the guverness...
This book illustrates very well the passionate love from a woman's point of view. No longer is the female character a background character, but becomes independant with feelings, passion, integrety and a strong mind.
The book is very realistic, and you can easily identify yourself with the feelings that the main character has. Her devotion for what she loves, and her effort to make the best out of her life.
Charlotte Brontė, who first published this book under a pseudonym, is probably the most well-known of the Brontė sisters who all died very young. Jane Eyre is a brilliant book of a woman who can be a role model for young girls of today. Her determination to make life the best for herself as no one else seems to bother, and her passion for what she loves. One of the first romance novels written. A true classic that I very much enjoyed to read, and I'm certain I will read it many more times. Even my friend, who doesn't like reading very much, totally loved this book. I warmly recommend this to anyone who loves a good novel, and most certainly to young girls. I think the language might be a little advanced for anyone younger than 16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful literature, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Kindle Edition)
Until recently I had avoided the 19th century female authors, having seen film versions of some of their books. However the easy access to them on Kindle tempted me to try and I hope not been disappointed with the Brontes. Jane Eyre in particular is an excellent story, beautifully written with content and style that is relevant today. I loved it. It well deserves the place it holds in English literature. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great English literary classic, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
A. J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Kindle Edition)
As someone long familiar with the appeal and popularity of Jane Eyre, but unfamiliar with the story itself, Jane Eyre was not a disappointment at all.
As someone who enjoys classics, but has often been daunted by the rather un-digestable nature of certain British classics, not least of which those from the pen of Dickens, Jane Eyre was a decent opportunity for this reader to absorb a well renowned British classic.
As a story focused on one individual, Jane Eyre takes a rather unpredictable, though thoroughly enjoyable narrative through the life of the central protagonist, with many surprises, twists and turns along the way.
As one may find oneself longing for a happy ending, at times such an outcome seems inconceivable with the cruel blows dealt by fate within these pages, but all readers should persist and read to the novels conclusion.
In all, a highly readable, imaginative, and faultless tale. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Eyre (Wordsworth Classics)
Jane Eyre (Wordsworth Classics) by Charlotte Brontė (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews