Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The ruin of the Moor
"Othello" is sort of a companion piece to "Macbeth" -- both are about noble, upstanding men who are destroyed by their own weaknesses. But where Macbeth was ruined by ambition, Othello's destruction comes from his jealousy and gullibility. And the play is really ruled by the nastiest, cruelest, most devious villain Shakespeare ever wrote.

That...
Published 5 months ago by E. A Solinas

versus
4 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why Shakespeare even bothered writing this tat!
Othello. A play loved by milllions of people around the world. Well, it's certainly not loved by me, as I can truthfully say that I could have written a better play when being beaten with a pillow. Hard. While sleeping.
If you bother to read this far, I'll just tell you a bit about it. There's this bloke called Iago, and he keeps on accusing people of things...
Published on 8 Oct 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The ruin of the Moor, 22 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
"Othello" is sort of a companion piece to "Macbeth" -- both are about noble, upstanding men who are destroyed by their own weaknesses. But where Macbeth was ruined by ambition, Othello's destruction comes from his jealousy and gullibility. And the play is really ruled by the nastiest, cruelest, most devious villain Shakespeare ever wrote.

That villain is Iago, a high-ranking soldier who has a grudge against the noble Moorish soldier Othello, who has just eloped with the beautiful Desdemona. Using a nobleman as his pawn, Iago first turns Desdemona's father against Othello, but the new soldier defends himself agains claims of witchcraft.

But Iago's true plan is far more devious, as he disgraces Othello's lieutenant Cassion and plants Desdemona's handkerchief in Cassio's room. Othello finds himself confronted by a chess game of lies, deceit and suspected infidelity, and his jealousy reaches a fever pitch that can only end in death.

Yeah, the real star of this play is undoubtedly Iago. This is the most repellent mixture of absolute malicious evil and crazy-smart intellect that anyone could write -- he is the person you love to hate, even as you admire how devilishly perfect he is at playing the chessmaster who whispers poison into your ear while playing your "friend." He doesn't quite think of EVERYTHING, but he comes close enough that you would NEVER want to deal with someone like this.

But this tragedy is also underscored by the depiction of Othello, a truly noble and loyal soldier who is turned into a deranged homicidal mess. It's somehow even more disturbing to see him deteriorate than it was to see Macbeth, because this guy was on top of the world in every way -- he was smart, eloquent, a brilliant soldier and a newlywed. And look what happens to him.

And Shakespeare deftly builds up this tragedy with a subtle, interconnecting web of lies and misdirections, with the tension building slowly until something has to blow. His writing is typically powerful, generating some quotable phrases ("It is the green-ey'd monster") and lots of cynical, dark dialogue ("Who would not make her husband a cuckold to make him a monarch?").

"Othello" is a strangely fascinating tragedy, with Shakespeare absorbing us again in the tale of a good man corrupted. Definitely a good, if harrowing play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for money - delivered promptly, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Was very happy with the product and received in great time. Would recommend to others, perfect for the course I'm studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Othello, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Really reasonable price, arrived the next day, conveniently sized and good font. I would recommend to all those coursework students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Othello is my absolute favourite of all Shakespeare's plays, it's just absolutely brilliant. It's a wonderful, but tragic play that has one of the best villians of all time. (Iago) The reason why this play remains so popular today is because the concepts of love, hate, jealousy, racism and violence are still very much relatable to today's society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Quick delivery and I bought it for my GCSE so i could revise, although i did not need to buy it as the school provided it. I have not yet attempted to read Othello, however for the price it's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Good book for my brothers english class. an enjoyable book and my brother would definatly recomend it. recommended if you want your own copy for english or even just for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well...., 22 Aug 2011
By 
J Downey "Lulu loves books" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Not for me but for my daughter studying for her A -Level English.It arrived in good time and excellent condition she was very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I gave this four stars because it was as described and in immaculate condition. It gave lots of detail and is very useful with a glossary attached. Couldnt hace asked for anything more to be honest. Simply amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Othello, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Muhammed Arshid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A very good play. I had no trouble recieveing it. I enjoyed it alot and there were no hesitations to recieve it. It also was in great COndition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why Shakespeare even bothered writing this tat!, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Othello (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Othello. A play loved by milllions of people around the world. Well, it's certainly not loved by me, as I can truthfully say that I could have written a better play when being beaten with a pillow. Hard. While sleeping.
If you bother to read this far, I'll just tell you a bit about it. There's this bloke called Iago, and he keeps on accusing people of things when really they're innocent, and he finds this extremely funny. Well, unless I'm missing something quite important, I am quite sure that Iago would raher have gone down the pub or played on his Playstation 2, or maybe had a quick game of Internet half life. But no, Good old Bill Shakespeare had him spreading irrelevant rumours.
Considering people in the 1600's were still picking wax from their ears and sleeping all day with the only occaisonal sign of activity being the odd grunt, I find it hard to believe that any such man living in those times could cope with thinking about more than one motive at a time.
Then there's this fool called Roderigo who really doesn't get life. No really, he doesn't. He thimks he;s got a chance with this Desdemona bird, but c'mon, he looks like he's been hit by a train. It's just so illogical!! Whats the point! Shakespeare has created a play which has, is, and will forever cause unknown amounts of stress to A Level students. C'mon Shakey...Why did you write this? Pointless from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Othello (Wordsworth Classics)
Othello (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 1 May 1992)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews