Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and magnificent
While the various cinema and television dramatisations of her books have deservedly contributed to making Jane Austen known and loved beyond the study of her writing in the classroom, it would be a shame to settle for the adaptations and never read those exquisitely written novels.
I have just reread "Sense and Sensibility" and have once again marvelled at the...
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by jfp2006

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A treat!
I was quite surprised to find myself reading this. Despite having done English A level I've managed to avoid the whole world of C19th women's novels until now. Having nagged my kids that they ought to read more classics, I thought I'd better give it a go myself. I struggled through the first fifty or so pages - the world Austen writes about is almost as far...
Published on 12 Feb 2006 by Jezza


‹ Previous | 114 15 1620 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Nice Wordsworth classic version of a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books I've read., 12 Mar 1997
By A Customer
Jane Austen's dry and sarcastic sense of humor spans the 175+ years between her time and ours. This very enjoyable, lighthearted, fun reading. It might take a while to get used to the early 19th century grammar, but it is worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 13 Oct 2014
By 
J. Broughton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a gift and recipient is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen's First Look at English Society, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (Paperback)
Most people who have read Jane Austen will have read Pride and Prejudice. With a title like Sense and Sensibility, most readers will assume that the two books can be interpreted and enjoyed in the same way. Other than having three word titles that employ alliteration in the first and third words, the two novels are more different than similar.

While Pride and Prejudice is primarily about miscommunication, Sense and Sensibility is about the maturation of two sisters as they find themselves confronted by adversity. The former topic allows Ms. Austen more room to roam, but within the later topic she has plenty of opportunities to display her story telling and comic talents. While maturation is an important sub theme in Pride and Prejudice, you see maturation better developed in Sense and Sensibility.

When their father dies, Elinor, Marianne and Margaret find themselves in exile from their family home with their mother. The family estate had been left to their half brother whom their father exhorted to take care of them. But that promise is soon diluted into doing almost nothing through the selfishness of his wife and his vacillation. A relative kindly offers them a country cottage near his home and takes obvious pleasure in their company.

At this modest new home, Elinor found herself entertaining the welcome attentions of Edward Ferrars. Elinor's younger sister, Marianne, is all aflutter over John Willoughby who seems to be committed to her. In fact, everyone assumes that there will soon be wedding bells for Marianne and Willoughby.

All of these pleasant connections are, however, soon disrupted. Willoughby leaves and ignores Marianne. Elinor finds out an unexpected secret about Ferrars that puts her on her caution in pursuing their relationship. As these complications develop, Marianne soon finds herself distraught despite having attracted another suitor, the reliable, but older, Colonel Brandon. Elinor steps into the breach to try to help her sister regain her equilibrium. Both learn what a broken heart can feel like and adjust in their own separate ways.

In vintage Jane Austen style, all bets are off near the end of the book as characters take unexpected steps that open up new possibilities. There's no one quite like Jane Austen for pulling great twists in her romantic comedies. These twists will cause your jaw to drop.

Try not to compare this book to Pride and Prejudice. It's clearly a lesser work, but one that can certainly be enjoyed in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jane austen, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always great to read a Jane Austen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect gift for a book worm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
realy enjoyed listening to the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really worth reading., 4 Dec 2003
This is the second book of Jane Austen's that I ever read. I had seen the film and thought it was really good but the book surpassed my expectations. The detail with which Jane Austen writes is superb, especially when describing the characters. Marianne is my favourite character for reasons which become obvious when you read the book. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Nice book, arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
A fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1620 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense and Sensibility (Wordsworth Classics)
Sense and Sensibility (Wordsworth Classics) by Jane Austen (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews