Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the modern classics of Western literature
Dorian Gray at the age of eighteen seems blessed beyond all other young men, possessing wealth and beauty. While having his portrait painted by the artist Basil Hallward, Dorian meets Lord Henry Wotton, a cynic and thinker who convinces Dorian that his youth and beauty are his most important possessions. Falling under Lord Henry's spell, Dorian wishes a fateful wish, that...
Published on 24 May 2006 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A contrary view
Oscar Wilde's writing is renowned for its intelligence and wit. I found it so irritating I couldn't finish the book.

The first problem for me was the pompous chatter of pompous people who have never done a day of work. For some reason, it is wonderful to read Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte and many others writing about people who fall in the same category, but...
Published 5 months ago by hfffoman


‹ Previous | 130 31 3242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The picture of Dorian Gray, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a great read as are all the books I have read of Mr Wildes the story was well written and easy to read would recommend to any one doing exams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The picture of Dorian gray, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It keeps you wanting to read more. On reading this book I felt there is a bit of Dorian in all of us. Wanting to stay forever youthful but at what price?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The iconic tour de force of Oscar Wilde just took my breath away. The lyrical language unrivalled, and the book still has relevance today. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The picture of Dorian Gray, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent novel I would strongly recommend to anyone searching for an insight into victorian life and moral conventions. Easy read and quite short too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic story well written there is a moral to ..., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great classic story well written there is a moral to the story but because it's so well written it doesn't take anything away from a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book
great story
great author
free - so amazing price
can't complain
good read
very pleased indeed
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 8 May 2013
Great service. It was so quick and efficient. I haven't read it yet but it looks very promising. There is a plethora of knowledge waiting to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing and beautifully written, the film doesn't do this book justice. Oscar Wilde is one the most amazing writers in the whole world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was a bit disappointed in this book, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit disappointed in this book, maybe it was not what I expected, I did read it all and it was an ok story but nothing out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came in plenty of time. Looks good. Good value for money. Was pleased with the item. No problems with the purchase, would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 130 31 3242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Picture of Dorian Gray (Wordsworth Classics)
The Picture of Dorian Gray (Wordsworth Classics) by Oscar Wilde (Paperback - 5 May 1992)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews