Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection of Wierd Tales
This is a great selection of 22 short stories by Edgar Allan Poe. There are loads of classics, including `Murders in the Rue Morgue', `The Black Cat', and three stories which I always remember because of the films with Vincent Price: `The Fall of the House of Usher', `The Masque of the Red Death' and `The Pit and the Pendulum'.

My only misgiving is that some of...
Published on 24 Jun 2009 by I. M. Knight

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!!!!
In fact, this collection of "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" prove to be quite as they are described, no less, no more. The book contains some great thrillers that contain a deeper message about humanity in general, but unfortunately some fail to come to a satisfactory end, and come across more as sketches to fill the gaps.
All in all, this collection was an...
Published on 10 April 2003 by JennyHerring


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection of Wierd Tales, 24 Jun 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This is a great selection of 22 short stories by Edgar Allan Poe. There are loads of classics, including `Murders in the Rue Morgue', `The Black Cat', and three stories which I always remember because of the films with Vincent Price: `The Fall of the House of Usher', `The Masque of the Red Death' and `The Pit and the Pendulum'.

My only misgiving is that some of the detective stories can seem a bit long and drawn out but other than that this is a great collection and a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrives in good time and well packaged! Lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesone introduction to Poe's prose., 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
This book is amazing, it is the book that first got me really entralled by Poe's writings. I would suggest to anyone that they should read this book. If you like horror films, this is the origin of many of the themes that are in most horror films. A truely scary book at points. Utterly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Depiction of the Macabre., 14 Jun 2000
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Edgar Allan Poe is the epitome of the genre that is the macabre...simply put. A man whose lyrical lucre and gamut are fueled as much by an almost vivid imagination for the grotesque as much as his proclivity for the philosophically preternatural. Only Vladimir Nabokov has ably rivalled the vocabulary that is so evident in the convolutions that are as much a precedent to Poe's works as are his theoretical musings. Constantly in an endeavour to blur the lines between tale and short story, he congeals one into the other in an almost mid-methodology of sorts to create a passage that is part fable and part vision. His scientific musings on the "Murders in the Rue Morgue" border on the Doylish, while his ornate description of the red room in the "The Masque" is an exercise in baroque art and can adorn every manual in decorative imagery. While "The Pit and the Pendulum" are epics of the macabre, rivalled only by the likes of "The Descent into the Maelstrom", and "King Pest", vivid imageries conjured in "The Man of the Crowd" are absolute literary masterpieces of the subliminal nature. Though his oeuvre was largely the result of a dying age, his was the talent that would attract posthumously as was the result. Once beheld, once forgotten....as Poe himself would quote, "Silence was never this golden until it was exemplified with verve".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!!!!, 10 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
In fact, this collection of "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" prove to be quite as they are described, no less, no more. The book contains some great thrillers that contain a deeper message about humanity in general, but unfortunately some fail to come to a satisfactory end, and come across more as sketches to fill the gaps.
All in all, this collection was an extremely enjoyable read, and I recommend it for all readers, from the age of 13 or 14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worthy of four and a half stars, but I don't know how, 7 Sep 2003
By 
steven cong (Rohnert Park CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Hmm, let me see, macabre, check, horror, check, an immortal title, check, worldwide renown, well, maybe not at that particular moment, but later. And so it brings us to the point where Poe was a poor, miserable, beggar even though he's got all of the above. Alas, the weakness of the human heart, I do declare that it is a fortune--only for us, the miserable soul--that he is poor, his experience in the cruelty of this earth enabled him, I daresay, to astound the later world and distinguished writers with his original creativity, his active love of writing, and his strong heart even though he is a misfortunate soul in the midst of the world of wealth and power whom the goddess of misfortune pursued with an unwearied eye/jinx. Those stories each gives you a different horrific sensation that is worthy of recognition: "The Cask..." lets you experience the insanity and horrible triumph of revenge, "The Black..." brings the old tradition of witch's cats to a new circle, astounding the general audience by its venemous strenghth of mind. So being able to accomplish such a task is quite and achievement. Now, I would like to remind the reader of two Poe facts and one historic fact. It is true that Poe lived in America, when San Francisco was a small town, and gold was about to be discovered, and he died in 1849, the year gold was discovered. Now, his love literature and the need of money combined, well, we'll let the reader think about the hundreds of stories that could've came out if he had lived just three years more. All in all, Poe was a great influence and a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics)
Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Wordsworth Classics) by Edgar Allan Poe (Paperback - May 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews