Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, convenient edition of a masterpiece; bad notes.
Obviously, Shakespeare's Hamlet is a masterpiece, so my review is aimed solely at the Penguin Popular Classics edition edited by GB Harrison (ISBN 0140620583). If you're looking for a cheap, pocket-sized edition of Hamlet, this is the one to go for. If you're looking for good notes, this edition is to be avoided. The notes are sometimes interesting, but often they...
Published on 1 Feb 2004 by Modern Viking

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's not the Penguin Edition
I clicked on the Kindle edition and the review I read indicated it was the Penguin edition - which it isn't. I want the introduction and notes - so no use to me.
Published 3 months ago by Donald G. Holden


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, convenient edition of a masterpiece; bad notes., 1 Feb 2004
By 
Modern Viking (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously, Shakespeare's Hamlet is a masterpiece, so my review is aimed solely at the Penguin Popular Classics edition edited by GB Harrison (ISBN 0140620583). If you're looking for a cheap, pocket-sized edition of Hamlet, this is the one to go for. If you're looking for good notes, this edition is to be avoided. The notes are sometimes interesting, but often they either explain things that are very obvious, or are actually plain wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best footnotes I've ever seen., 5 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Very easy to follow and wonderfully simply explained textual footnotes make this a very user friendly Hamlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's not the Penguin Edition, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Donald G. Holden (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet (Kindle Edition)
I clicked on the Kindle edition and the review I read indicated it was the Penguin edition - which it isn't. I want the introduction and notes - so no use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It did the job!, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed this book for my A-level English course. I reccomend it to anyone who needs 'Hamlet' for the same reason, as its a simple and cheap book, so it doesn't matter if you scribble all your notes in it. Very pleased with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Should Read It, 10 April 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to delve into the plot, the characters, the themes, the philosophy and the atmosphere as I am no professor. It is enough to say that this is the best play, written by the greatest playwright of all time. Anyone who can read should have a go at this. More importantly go and watch a performance; it is a play after all, not a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to read Shakespeare, 6 July 2009
Having the commentary beside the text is the only way I can fully enjoy reading Shakespeare. The commentary is useful and adds a lot to the text. Some of the commentary seems to be explaining the obvious but since the book is used by schools studying Shakespeare, I can't complain. It's better than them missing out things which I'd like to have explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Version of the Best Play!, 23 July 1999
By A Customer
Great version of the classic with incredibly detailed footnotes and a clear and well presented text. Hamlet is not only the greatest of Shakespeare's plays but one of the greatest books in the English language; beautifully written, flawlessly structured, with a dozen deftly woven subplots all open to countless interpretation. At times you can almost taste the words in your mouth like honey. What more could any literate human being want from fiction? And remember, Shakespeare was written to be spoken, so lock all the doors, sit down and read it out aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about Arkangel's 'Richard II', 13 Dec 2009
Arkangel have produced a highly listenable edition of 'Richard II', which (along with the Roman plays like 'Coriolanus') contains some of Shakespeare's most powerful political insights.

Arkangel's production never allows the listener to forget the subtle complexities at work. The actors do a marvellous job wringing meaning out of lines which might never have been gleaned from the written text, and the unspoken nuances, for instance, when Mowbray is told of his banishment, are palpable. The opening scene is intensely acted, with Bolingbroke and Norfolk spitting venom at each other before a king whose decadent boredom is obvious. Rupert Graves is excellent as Richard II, with highly expressive delivery (amused condescension, anger etc.) changing as his character's situation changes.

Also worth mentioning (in a play that completely lacks humour) is John Nettleton as the Duke of York, coming across as such a pompous old duffer that I almost laughed out loud each time he opened his mouth. The play's music is highly memorable, too, and was stuck in my head for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hamlet (Wordsworth Classics)
Hamlet (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 1 May 1992)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews