Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an intense, emotional, rewarding, hightly successful novel.
Women in Love is the intensely successful sequel to The Rainbow. Originally the two novels were fused in one volume known as, 'The Sisters', but later Lawrence decided to split them, and revise them to create the two separate novels. Lawrence treats his characters with an emotional, linguistic and psychological intensity and delicacy that transmits the ideas, problems...
Published on 29 Jan 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and uninspiring
Not being a fan of D.H Lawrence in the first place, I decided to give this novel a try as i've always made an exception for Lady Chatterley's Lover (which, may I add, is fantastic and much better than everything else Lawrence has written) but this however just didn't do anything for me. I took an instant dislike to most of the characters (apart from Hermione Roddice as...
Published 4 days ago by kate dodwell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an intense, emotional, rewarding, hightly successful novel., 29 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Women in Love is the intensely successful sequel to The Rainbow. Originally the two novels were fused in one volume known as, 'The Sisters', but later Lawrence decided to split them, and revise them to create the two separate novels. Lawrence treats his characters with an emotional, linguistic and psychological intensity and delicacy that transmits the ideas, problems and feelings which Lawrence struggles continually to explain. It follows the progress of Ursula, the character pushed into view in The Rainbow, as she searches for a man who can embody and fulfil all her emotions, needs and wants. She finds this in Birkin as they struggle towards the Lawrentian goal of the true spiritual relationship. Also in the novel, appears Gudrun, similarly fighting for emotional, physical and mental success in Gerald. Throughout the novel, Lawrence holds the reader under his influence with his descriptive, repetitive language which seeks to persuade the reader towards his ideas. This novel which is highly enjoyable whether read alone or after The Rainbow, will lull the reader into the psychological depths of Lawrence's mind and leave him/her with a lasting impression of human relationships between man and woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I think I am in love with the void.", 2 Aug 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Written in 1920 and often regarded as D. H. Lawrence's greatest novel, Women in Love is the complex story of two women and two men who scrutinize their lives and personal needs in an effort to discover something that makes the future worth living. The personal and social traumas of post-World War I, combined with the rise of industry and urbanization, have affected all four main characters, often at cross purposes as they explore love and its role in their lives. Intensely introspective and self-conscious, each character shares his/her thoughts with the reader, allowing the reader to participate in the inner conflicts and crises that each faces.

Ursula Brangwen, a teacher in a mining town in the Midlands, is attracted to Rupert Birkin, a school supervisor; her sister Gudrun, an artist whose sculptures have drawn some attention in London, is drawn to Gerald Crich, whose father is a mine owner. As the two women earn their living and consider the issue of marriage, which they regard as an impediment to their independence, the men deal with issues of sexuality and power, and whether the love of a woman is enough. Both men have homosexual urges which compete with their feelings for women.

Gerald is the most conflicted of the four. Taking over the mines upon the death of his father, he is fiercely committed to making them successful, even if that means hardening his heart toward his workers. He feels no sense of responsibility toward them, dedicating his efforts toward success and power, an attitude he conveys also toward Gudrun, who finds him self-centered but physically attractive. Rupert Birkin, who is eventually drawn to Ursula, is often thought to have been modeled on Lawrence himself, and his sensitivity, self-analysis, and feeling that love is not enough--that one must progress beyond love to another plane--display the kind of agonized soul searching done by many other young men of his age following the horrors of the world war.

Extremely complex in its exploration of the period's social and philosophical influences on the characters (who are archetypes of society), the novel is also full of symbolism, with many parallels drawn between love and death, which the characters sometimes prefer to life. As the love affairs of these four characters play out, filled with complications, disagreements about the meaning of love, questions about love's relation to power and dominance, and the role of sexuality, Lawrence projects the tumult of post-war England as the values of the past yield to newer, more personal goals. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lawrence's greatest fictional masterpiece, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This novel has permanently affected me since I first read, and then later dissected and analyzed it for my final thesis at university. The mythical images which are woven into the plot, descriptions, and the actions of the characters are brilliant. Most fascinating, however, are the discussions held between the characters (all with very potent personalities) on such topics as modern life, art, identity, and love. This is a MUST READ for anyone interested in 20th century literature. I cannot praise this novel enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush and intimate, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Women in Love (Kindle Edition)
A continuation of The Rainbow (Oxford World's Classics), this tells the story of the Brangwen sisters' love affairs. Lush, sensuous, and intimate, it also engages with issues of class, gender and identity.

Lawrence always has an almost philosophical approach to love, using the idea to investigate what it means to be human in all kinds of ways. Exploring the ties which bind and the problems of independance this has a very modern sensibility.

So far more than just a romantic tale, this is sophisticated and serious as well as being an absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review of Lawrence's masterpiece Women in Love, 20 Nov 2002
By 
amy (Rugby, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Lawrence's novel sets the scene just before the first world war in England, in atmosphere of anxious ignorance. Lawrence intimately explores the lives of the two sisters Gudrun and Ursula, as they discover what it is to be in love and the confusion of emotion that accompanies it. Gudrun falls in love with the charming Gerald whilst Ursula and Birkin embark on a more cynical and cautious affair; the different personalities of the sisters allow Lawrence to illustrate contrasting approaches to love and lust. The unique style, typical of Lawrence, takes the form of philosophical conversation in different scenarios, which is brought to life by the individuality of the characters and their beliefs. The issues that the novel raises are conveyed in a very personal way that allows Lawrence's mind to shine through his characters and additionally permits the reader a greater incite into the authors philosophies and vulnerability. Lawrence's attention to detail of the two protagonists displays his superb understanding of the human mind and sexual desire. This is a story that is strongly driven and created by its characters, who never allow the focus to waver or the reader to tire....
Other books that might be enjoyed: E M Forster, A Room with a View, D.H. Lawrence The Rainbow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and uninspiring, 26 Aug 2014
Not being a fan of D.H Lawrence in the first place, I decided to give this novel a try as i've always made an exception for Lady Chatterley's Lover (which, may I add, is fantastic and much better than everything else Lawrence has written) but this however just didn't do anything for me. I took an instant dislike to most of the characters (apart from Hermione Roddice as she was the only one who offered intrigue and insight) as they were so unbelievably arrogant. I found Birkin in particular extremely insufferable and conceited, which is ironic considering he is supposed to be a reflection of Lawrence himself. His ideas on everything from human nature, the psyche and society in general were ludicrous, nonsensical and contradictory. Even his manner was contradictory as in one instance he was the affable gentleman, the next he would display this bitter and contemptuous attitude to everyone around him. The characters of Gerald and Gudrun were complacent and they seemed fully aware that their positions in the social hierarchy were above everyone else's'.
Lawrence's style overall came across as highly pretentious and even narcissistic. Through the medium of his characters (Birkin as we know) he conveys his ideologies. It's as though Lawrence tries too hard to appear the academic. His ideas have no weight in them and merely seem as though they've been thrown together and interwoven as an attempt to impress the reader, but with incessant ramblings. I just didn't buy into his views and I did intitially give the book a chance, but after a few chapters I just had to stop it there.
I won't be returning to this lacklustre book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious ramblings, 3 Feb 2014
Having read this in my youth, when Lawrence was more appreciated than he is now, and not really getting what the fuss was about, I thought I'd give it another go. I remember finding it very difficult to understand Birkin's position, so did some reading up before hand to try and get me over the intellectual hurdles, including F.R. Leavis' book on Lawrence. Now I realise that I didn't get over the intellectual hurdles because Lawrence (and Leavis!) didn't either. The Lawrence figure in the novel, Birkin, always seems on the verge of saying something important, but he continually lapses into incoherent, extreme, or unattractive attitudes. For instance, he continually pours scorn on working class people, but at least they don't end up as a parasite like him.

Birkin is a school inspector and, in one of the better chapters, he shows that he's a good one, by explaining to Ursula, a school mistress, how to make her Botany lesson better by improving the kid's drawings in a way that increases the artistic and scientific impact. But he throws up this job to live on his private income, and drags Ursula away for some tedious ramblings on the continent. Note that Birkin doesn't actually do anything creative, he isn't an artist or a writer. As the other characters repeatedly point out, his views on large-scale intellectual & social issues are ridiculous and incoherent, so how could he be a writer? Only if he put his incoherent and useless ramblings in a novel and called it art. Birkin is a reserved character, so he sensibly avoids doing that, unfortunately Lawrence did not!

Birkin's friend, Gerald Crouch, is a mining magnate, and Lawrence tries to show that Gerald's life is meaningless because he makes his main cause in life to improve the mines by mastering technological and management procedures. Actually I think Lawrence creates such a positive picture of Gerald that he undermines his thesis! I could only think, "Good on you Gerald!", and was rooting for him throughout the book at the expense of Birkin and the sisters. Lawrence has to undermine Gerald by giving him a nasty streak - he makes the miners work too hard, he thumps Gudrun.... But some combination of Gerald's approach with that of his father, who is a Christian and forever trying to ease the lot of the miners, would make for a very attractive character who would really show Birkin up for the incoherent parasite he is, and provide a better, and quite believable, hero for the novel.

Besides the many, lengthy, obscure ramblings about such things as "dark gods" and "the evils of industry", there are too many tedious love scenes, which are even more obscure than the intellectual ramblings - I guess to avoid the censor. The censor would be likely to fall asleep, or skip, before working out what is going on, or if he did would certainly not be sexually excited, just bored to tears, and would think "the wife" or "the servant" wouldn't have the intellectual capacity or interest to follow the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wome in Love, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women in Love (Kindle Edition)
I know it's classic - but I find the eternal navel -gazing of the characters tedious.
Perhaps it's my age!

Jan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incomparable Book, 26 May 2011
By 
Mr. J. N. Plant (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Women in Love' was produced in two parts on BBC 2 TV. I endeavoured (ckd with Shorter Oxford) to watch the first part but it lacked the passion I associate with D.H. Lawrence. I am grateful for Amazon's prompt service because I could settle, a short time afterwards, quite easily into one of the two greatest novels. Unless reading is a dying art I urge anyone who might have ventured to watch the BBC's travesty to read the authentic article.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only about love, 28 Jan 2009
By 
D. C. Folch "Keen reader" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just finished "Women in love" and I have to say it had been a long time since I felt so overwhemed by a story. I loved every paragraph, every line of thought, every conclusion...
It was my first "Lawrence-experience" and surely it won't be my last.
This novel is full of interesting dialogs, the characters are strong willed and with so much personality that it's difficult to feel detached from it. The are some magical moments: *BEWAHRE SPOILERS* the hand- clasping between Birkin and Gerald, Birkin's proposal to Ursula Brangwen, Birkin's thoughts when he sees the cold and dead face of Gerald...
If you haven't read this novel, I strongly recommend it...
I'll go on with Lady Chatterley's lover, see if it's as good as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women in Love (Wordsworth Classics)
Women in Love (Wordsworth Classics) by D.H. Lawrence (Paperback - 1 May 1992)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews