Customer Reviews


288 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A better class of Agatha Christie!
OK, turn of the century lit may not be everybody's cuppa...but if you enjoy Agatha Christie or other genteel murder then this is definately for you. The main character being a priest with a true understanding of the human condition gives these stories added depth lacking in most books in this genre. I couldn't put it down! If you enjoy his style of writing try some of...
Published on 19 Nov 2000 by playing@mediocrity.fsnet.co.uk

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Father Brown
An old classic that I have been promising myself to read for ages. Did not live up to my expectations but others might find this collection of short stories of interest.
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Struan


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars old fashioned, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't finished as I think it's the sort of book you can just dip into. Really loved the style of writing. I could picture the scenes taking place and enjoyed the gentility of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pa brown, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
everything expected of product easy to download very fast download has provided easy reading pleasure through the kindle. I would quite happily go through the procedure again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Father Brown, 8 Dec 2012
By 
J. C. Pellatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good humoured mysteries brilliant written. However, some of the stories tend to be repetitive, which is one of the dangers to short story writing, and Father Brown does seem to be a trivial too clever at times. Nevertheless a good read in good English writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the tv series. Can not wait for the next holiday season for I can have a great time relaxing and enjoying this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars father brown mysteries, 20 Nov 2012
By 
E. A. Irwin (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read - lots of short stories I am only on the fourth story but it is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy return to Father Brown, 18 Nov 2012
By 
George Brand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
many years ago I had a copy of the Father Brown Collection. This has long been lost and I never thought I could renew my contact with the clever detective,but this was before Kindle. Thanks to the editor who chose this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good stories but..., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writing abounds with racist and anti-semitic nonsense coupled with what today seem rather unbalanced pro-catholic diatribes. Spoils a lot of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars father brown, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Father Brown Mysteries, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value, can lift and read an episode at a time, then leave to whenever....... Sometimes a bit OTT, but amusing and light reading. No Great dramas, good for passing time, i.e. on the bus or train, or bedtime. A.H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great collection for those who find they have a problem reading long novels. Great stories with a wonderful central character. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Father Brown Stories
The Complete Father Brown Stories by G.K. Chesterton (Paperback - 2006)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews