Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use in conjunction with other resources
Would recommend. I used this book along with 'Questions and answers' for Drcog and passed. You need to cross reference this book with the official curriculum as this book covers perhaps 90-95% of the curriculum so you need to use other resources as per the recommended reading for each section.
Published 6 months ago by Medicellie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but you won't master the DRCOG
This is a handy book if you need a quick guide to O&G that is easy to read. I would reccommend it for medical students especially, but also to GP trainees and junior doctors starting an O&G rotation. However I am only giving it 2 stars because the title is misleading, it is far too basic for you to master the DRCOG and you will need other resources to supplement it. In...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by DHarris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but you won't master the DRCOG, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
This is a handy book if you need a quick guide to O&G that is easy to read. I would reccommend it for medical students especially, but also to GP trainees and junior doctors starting an O&G rotation. However I am only giving it 2 stars because the title is misleading, it is far too basic for you to master the DRCOG and you will need other resources to supplement it. In fairness most sections do contain suggested further reading such as NICE guidelines which should be sufficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use in conjunction with other resources, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
Would recommend. I used this book along with 'Questions and answers' for Drcog and passed. You need to cross reference this book with the official curriculum as this book covers perhaps 90-95% of the curriculum so you need to use other resources as per the recommended reading for each section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good pictures, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
The diagrams helped me better understand labour & delivery. Good informative section on contraception. The author clearly loves her subject; its a nice read. No past questions to help you focus specifically on the exam though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too waffly to be a useful revision tool, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
While the details in the book may all be there (I'm about half way through the book), it's written in long paragraphs that make it difficult for the important learning points to stand out. I suppose this text would be useful to someone who has never done an O&G placement, as it goes through the basics of procedures etc with long explanations, however, as I am studying for the DRCOG, it is not an easy study tool, as you need to read everything, as you have no idea where the imprtant points are hiding, and what you can just skim over. As the exam is now close, I don't think I will spend time reading the rest of this text, and will change to a better structured style, such as the oxford handbook of O&G or the oxford handbook of clinical specialties, and do lots of practice questions, as those books give clear explanations on learning points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 5 May 2010
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
although its quite a nice read, the book is just too basic for the DRCOG, too many paragraphs, lots and lots of typos and errors. needed to go into more detail. could potentially be a good book with some serious bulking and editing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obs, gynae, contraception, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Glenda Deane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the DRCOG (Paperback)
I am currently undertaking a Contraception & Sexual Health course and found this book invaluable for learning and reference. The information is clearly laid out and easy to access. I would recommend this book to doctors, midwives, practice nurses and any clinician dealing with women's health or contraception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering the DRCOG
Mastering the DRCOG by Jamila Groves (Paperback - 29 Jan 2010)
37.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews