Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meaning to Mystery
'Tokens of Trust' explores the meaning of the Christian creed in a clear, crisp and concise manner. Whereas many writers seek to demystify the Gospel through analytic deconstruction, Rowan Williams develops the gospel's sense of mystery and encourages a relationship of trust between the reader and his/her maker, the communion of humanity and the world created according...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Victor Pilmoor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too academic
As an 'Introduction' to christian belief, you I assumed this would be a bit more basic, aimed at those who may not already have a belief. Sadly I found it too academic and not really enlightening.
Published 6 months ago by Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meaning to Mystery, 28 May 2007
By 
Victor Pilmoor (Watford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
'Tokens of Trust' explores the meaning of the Christian creed in a clear, crisp and concise manner. Whereas many writers seek to demystify the Gospel through analytic deconstruction, Rowan Williams develops the gospel's sense of mystery and encourages a relationship of trust between the reader and his/her maker, the communion of humanity and the world created according God's order. This work is fundamentally spiritual and uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful clarity., 7 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
I thought this would be a very dry book, but it is a passionate explanation of Christianity. I've read it several times and often found more in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tokens of Trust, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
One of the best introductions to the meaning of Christianity. Written with deep insight. I would suggest this to people of all faiths and unbeliever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for anyone, Christian or not, seeking to understand more about what a life of faith is actually about., 20 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. M. D. HOPPS "matthopps" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
Tokens of Trust is an excellent book. One that I would recommend to new belivers or anyone seeking an acessible refresher of what characteristics lie at the heart of the Christian faith. That is because Rowan Williams analyses Christianity in an applicable and relevant way; one that avoids religious jargon or overuse of (direct) Bible verses in favour of a discussion that lets you see how to actually live a trusting life (using the Creeds - or statements of belief - as guidelines). Here are some of the main points:

Page 8 "-to pick up two centrally important words in the Letter to the Ephesians - peace and praise. This and this alone is God's 'agenda'."

Page 35 "..the moment of creation is now. ...It means that within every circumstance, every object, every person, God's action is going on, a sort of white heat at the centre of everything. ... whatever you encounter is there because God chose that it should be there."

Page 37 "Faith doesn't try and give you an alternative theory about the mechanics of the world; it invites you to take a step further, beyond the nuts and bolts, even beyond the Big Bang, to imagine an activity so unrestricted, so supremely itself, that it depends on nothing and is constantly pouring itself out so that the reality we know depends on it."

Page 38 "Christianity says that the sum total of all that there is is held together by God's action and will, and that God is not 'exhausted by that - if you took the universe away, there would still be a God no less great that before."

Page 44 "I have been trying to suggest the picture of a God whose almighty power is more of a steady swell of loving presence, always there at work in the centre of everything that is, opening the door to a future even when we can see no hope."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-written look at the essentials of Christian belief from a more mystical angle, 2 July 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tokens of Trust (Hardcover)
This book is based on Rowan Williams' talks in Canterbury Cathedral during Holy Week 2005 and is an introduction to Christianity focusing on six major themes - trusting in God, creation, Jesus, suffering, the church and life after death. These themes are considered with reference to the Apostles' Creed and the Nicene Creed alongside reflections on historical characters such as St Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, Martin Luther and modern people and events.

The book doesn't presuppose significant knowledge about Christianity but the writing style is rather wordy and feels a little more academic than usual in books aimed for this market. It isn't the usual checklist of basic Christian beliefs but is instead a well-written and interesting approach in discussing the trustworthy and unchanging love of God and how we begin to live in the light of this knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In God we trust!, 17 Dec 2011
By 
P. Worthington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
'Tokens of Trust' takes us on a revealing ride from 'the crisis of trust' discussed in the first chapter to the poetry of George Herbert, and tells us much about ways into understanding the pillars of the faith on route. That God's agenda is for a
'reconciled world' is a tremendous hope. That so many wise insights from others are included, from Thomas Aquinas to Tom Stoppard is also a real pleasure.

I found the analysis of the activity of some of the great figures of the bible very helpful, and particularly the thought of
'Abraham, Moses and St Paul' not questioning God's existence but, 'caught up in something the imperative reality of which they can't deny or ignore'.

I liked the use of the chapter title, 'A Man for All Seasons' for Jesus Christ - previously I had associated the title only with Thomas More and Charlton Heston! This chapter showed much light on its subject.

The conversational style of the book is a great gift to the reader.

'Tokens of Trust' is a book for all seasons and a firm basis for hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read all about i!, 19 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
This is, IMHO, an important book. It is an exciting account of the Archbishop's understanding of the Christian Faith. It is clearly written, practical, non-patronising and away from the usual superficial fundamentalist insecurities that thrust a manipulative message that says, 'accept this and all will be well'. Abp. Rowan lets us grow up and reason with ourselves and God. A must for all those seeking a God who may be trusted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tokens of Trust, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Ewen Donald Cameron (Gordon, New South Wales, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
- a profound and impressive account of traditional Christian belief. Thsi book requires and repays careful reading.

very worth while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too academic, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
As an 'Introduction' to christian belief, you I assumed this would be a bit more basic, aimed at those who may not already have a belief. Sadly I found it too academic and not really enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief (Hardcover)
Nice book. However it is a little expensive for such a small volume. It needs to be about 3 cheaper...please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief
Tokens of Trust: An Introduction to Christian Belief by Rowan Williams (Hardcover - 27 Mar 2007)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews