Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2010
A very useful guide for all those Parishes about to enter an interregnum. Written in an easy to understand manner, the book answers all those questions which you thought of and then those you had no idea about. I have been through three interregna before and I still found this book useful. I especially liked the cartoons which appear throughout the book. As well as being funny, they helped to higlight points within the text.

Don't wait until the Vicar's gone to buy this book, indeed, if you are a Vicar about to go, how about buying it as a goodbye present for the PCC as soon as you decide to move on.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
Wish we had seen this earlier. We are now 5 months into interregnum and this book is so helpful, with a sense of humour too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I bought this because our Vicar is retiring in a few months' time and as Lay Chair of our PCC I will have a lot of responsibilities in this vital area. I have other books which look at this subject from a "legal" position but, although useful, they are rather dry. "So the Vicar's Leaving" is on the other hand a thorough and comprehensive guide which is easy to read and includes some excellent cartoons to inject a little humour into this serious area.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to Church Wardens and PCC members and indeed any CofE church member who wants to "easily" find out more what happens during an interregnum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This is a good practical guide with the basic leagal facts of how an Interregnum should be ordered,which must be tailored to each church.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Big help, as we have just had ours retire. Good book to have in a Church Library, with a sense of humour
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
This is an excellent, comprehensive guide to a challenging period in any Parish. It clearly sets out who does what, how and when in sensible, digestible chapters. I actually think that, apart from having to decide as Parish leaders where the next incumbent should be heading, this book de- mystifies the legal and practical pitfalls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
The subject is vast, and the guidance is fairly basic. Parish Representatives and others involved in the appointment process, but without experience of dealing with a previous interregnum, would find the guide a helpful introduction to their task. Having read it, they would do well to consult a more detailed reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
When there is so much to do, you need a clear pointer as to how to prepare and navigate your way through the vacancy period.
This little book will help you prepare for and work through the interregnum. Hopefully come out the other side stronger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
This book is an excellent guide to Church Wardens, PCC's and others involved in planning for when a vicar leaves and seeking a new incumbent. Essential reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
This book is very useful for Churchwardens when faced with the prospect of having to run the Parish Church during an interregnum
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)