Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem of a book.
I was at the stage where my own European Eagle Owl was flying free and ready for the next stage of training as we progressed (hopefully) to the day when he would take a rabbit. Having read books by other author's (including one called "Falconry" in which the subject of falconry itself is not even covered!) I needed the right book - and I needed it now.
When the...
Published on 27 Sept. 2004 by Ned Middleton

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of taking up Falconry - don't buy this book!
The best part of this book is the law section, which is written by a UK authority and there it ends! The book appears to be a good advert for the author's courses and will instruct the tyro little about how to train a bird of prey. The section on choosing a hawk isn't bad and I agree with the author's advice concerning Buzzards. The book has been written with all...
Published on 3 Jan. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem of a book., 27 Sept. 2004
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
I was at the stage where my own European Eagle Owl was flying free and ready for the next stage of training as we progressed (hopefully) to the day when he would take a rabbit. Having read books by other author's (including one called "Falconry" in which the subject of falconry itself is not even covered!) I needed the right book - and I needed it now.
When the book first arrived it looked as though it might end up being a 4 Star book - but I was wrong. You see, each and every book I review (and I have reviewed several hundred), commences with a full quota of 5 stars. Stars may then be lost for any number of reasons - but they have to be lost through some shortcoming of the book itself. There are no shortcomings here.
The book measures 9½in x 6¼in (24cm x 16cm) and contains 150 pages. It is well laid out, well written and well illustrated. The subjects range from an introduction to the subject of falconry, getting started, equipment (and it's all in there!), your first bird, care, illnesses, rules of the sport and the law.
Not only did I come to the book with a lot of questions, but as I read the book (some sections more than once) I found myself asking yet more questions. It says much for the competence of this author that all the answers were found - within the book itself. I have already adopted the author's prescribed method of intruding a Rabbit lure to my bird - and it's working.
In short, I am so delighted with this book that I could not find a single reason to deduct one star. The reader gets exactly what it says on the cover; This is a book about "Falconry for Beginners" and an excellent one at that.
NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falconry for beginners, 21 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
This book contains plenty of information for anyone who is considering taking up falconry. It outlines exactly how much time and commitment is required to own a bird of prey. Before anyone even thinks about so much as attending a course on birds of prey, I strongly advise reading this book before going anywhere near a hawk. After having attended a course and gained some experience, it will become rather limited however. As the title suggests though, it is a book for beginners.
The content is concise, no-nonsense and to the point which I find makes the book extremely readable although I admit he does repeat himself, particularly in the equipment section where he advises against ordering items via mail order since they cannot be checked in person.
All in all it is a good read for anyone who is interested in birds of prey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best place to start for accurate advise, 4 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Well, what can I say.
It is the most interesting book on Falconry I have read. The information is very helpful and it has convinced me I want to be a Falconer, but has provided the essential advise other books (and I have read a few) lack!!!!
If any would-be Falconer is seriously looking at becoming a falconer, this book would have to be your first step in gaining valuble advice and information. A MUST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential pre-reading before starting!, 4 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Just what I needed to clarify in my mind just what was involved before starting falconry as a pastime (or obsession!) - having enjoyed a one-day taster at a local Birds of Prey centre, I had a vision of raising and training a falcon. What this book explains, in a clear and easy to read style, is just what is necessary to get from a vision to a reality - the effort and commitment required, plus the costs and the practical issues relating to equipment, training etc.
Totally recommend this book to every other enthusiastic beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB-SUPERB-SUPERB, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Being very new to falconry I have bought many books on this complicated subject. It has to be said however that this book without any doubt is the finest of them all. Although it does not cover training birds of prey it covers vital areas which any responsible beginner would wish to abide by. The author writes in plain English which really helps people like myself. My advice to anyone thinking of taking up this sport is to purchase this book, believe me your'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falconry, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Very good book for someone just starting out or a seasoned falconer, written by someone who obviously knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars packed with understandable information to help any beginner, 12 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Being new to falconry, this book is filled with all the information to set the beginner off on the right tracks. This book is a must for anyone starting off within a sport of such high demands. BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of taking up Falconry - don't buy this book!, 3 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
The best part of this book is the law section, which is written by a UK authority and there it ends! The book appears to be a good advert for the author's courses and will instruct the tyro little about how to train a bird of prey. The section on choosing a hawk isn't bad and I agree with the author's advice concerning Buzzards. The book has been written with all good intentions, but spend your money on something else, like Jemima Parry-Jones's book, or Philip Glasier's classic. The section on building a weathing for a bird is terrible, please take other advice & don't follow these instructions. Save your money and choose another title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must ., 10 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Intrested in falconry?
Worried about the skills your'll need, the time your'll have to find, the money your'll have to spend.
Worry no more. Get your hands on a copy of this book and start enjoying falconry. Falconry for beginners takes the beginner through the pros and cons of the sport and gets down to addressing vital issues. A top book written for the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helps with every thing you need to no bout falconry, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport (Hardcover)
Helps with every thing you need to no bout falconry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport
Falconry for Beginners: An Introduction to the Sport by Lee William Harris (Hardcover - 5 Oct. 1998)
Used & New from: £13.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews