Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2010
Note the title: this isn't a 'style' book but an historical overview of Edwardian-era houses, briefly covering every aspect of their construction, fixtures, fittings (including services) and decoration. It's aimed at the general reader/householder so it isn't too technical, but it packs a huge amount of detail (and illustrations) into what is a relatively short book, and even as a professional conservationist I've found it useful to have in the office as a handy reference source.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 September 2010
I cannot recommend this book series highly enough! Each volume contains a treasure trove of usefula and fascinating information about each type of architecture, and what's more, is fully illustated - not just a windbag of text. No, these books are fun! There are a wealth of diagrams, fully labelled, plus lots of photos to explain all those large and small features of a period house, much of which I hadn't noticed and very much wish I had. These books are an excellent first choice for any student of historical architecture, house renovators, and dolls house modellers, especially the latter.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
Having just bought an Edwardian house with my wife (yet to move in) we've been researching the era to give us ideas for how to decorate in sympathy with the house. This book was such a surprise - I was initially disappointed that there were no coloured pictures, but once I started reading it I couldn't put it down - a fascinating glimpse into styles but also how life was for those who lived through Edwardian times. Definitely worth a read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
If you have an Edwardian Period property and you have an interest in it and its history, this is an essential book for you. Well written and understandable.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Yet again Trevor Yorke has excelled himself with this clear guide to the Edwardian house. His excellent illustrations and clear explanations make it most interesting/
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Excellent range of information about layouts and interiors. It is particularly welcome that it provides direct comparisons between small, medium and large houses in many different respects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
We just moved into a new house of this type, and I bought this book. It provides a review of the structure and key features, which is very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
It's small and concise it shows all the elements you would find in a house of that period, would of been better with more photos though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
For the size of this book there is a lot of basic information in it. I wanted inspiration for room decorating and it helped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Christmas gift for my son. Book is smaller than I expected, didn't look much wrapped up. Hope he finds it interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)