Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Absolutely fascinating book which contains everything (surely!) anyone needs to know about the Victorian house. Small houses, large houses, all those in between, every one is subjected to great scrutiny with accompanying drawings of the types of brick used, the layout of the bricks, the names of different kinds of window. Layouts, designs, the changes in architecture...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Hel S

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair introduction.
Not quite the detail I was expecting, but a good introduction. I will therefore need to seek out another title with more extensive detail as this is a fascination topic with so many houses still around, and many beautifully restored in our cities.
Published 2 months ago by Gill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Absolutely fascinating book which contains everything (surely!) anyone needs to know about the Victorian house. Small houses, large houses, all those in between, every one is subjected to great scrutiny with accompanying drawings of the types of brick used, the layout of the bricks, the names of different kinds of window. Layouts, designs, the changes in architecture over the period, what equipment kitchens would have, light fittings, kinds of light....and so it goes on. For such a small book it certainly gives value for money, and has many photographs as well as the drawings to fully explain everything. It also talks about the different classes and who would live where (less obvious when you get to upper lower and lower middle!)

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None better or more fun to read, 13 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I cannot recommend this book series highly enough! Each volume contains a treasure trove of usefula and fascinating information about each type of architecture, and what's more, is fully illustated - not just a windbag of text. No, these books are fun! There are a wealth of diagrams, fully labelled, plus lots of photos to explain all those large and small features of a period house, much of which I hadn't noticed and very much wish I had. These books are an excellent first choice for any student of historical architecture, house renovators, and dolls house modellers, especially the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative summary and an absorbing book, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Careful Hans (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Pitched at the intelligent enthusiast but also a useful summary and style guide for the professional architect and surveyor, this little book (127 pages) is a good find amongst a lot of the dross that passes for learned architectural treatises these days. Trevor Yorke really knows his stuff, loves his subject and is an excellent draughtsman. The text is nicely balanced with the sketches and photographs, making the book a pleasure to read. Check out his other books in the series as well. The writing is a little chatty at times, as you'll see from the preview pages, but don't be too put off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Coverage of Victorian Houses and Living, 23 Feb 2013
By 
C Miller (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
For anyone who wants a compendium of the architecture, terminology and living styles of the Victorian period, this book is an invaluable guide. It is very helpful if one, like me, is trying to explain to others or understand better, in informed detail, especially builders and surveyors, about things you want done or need to know about. I would recommend this book to anyone. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fair introduction., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Not quite the detail I was expecting, but a good introduction. I will therefore need to seek out another title with more extensive detail as this is a fascination topic with so many houses still around, and many beautifully restored in our cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for my daughters History of Art A level project, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
My daughter is doing her A Level History of Art project on architecture from the renaissance in relation to social class and this litttle book has been very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good and useful book if you are interested or are renovating a victorian house, the photos do not come up very well on kindle version, but that's no fault of the author. I recommend the real book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Victorian House Explained, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I love this Author! Like his other books this is an excellent resource for the Interior design student. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Yet another great little book with
so much content. A good series in every case compact but full of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
An interesting and easy to read book on the subject. I learnt quite a bit about Victorian houses through reading it. Would definately recommend it to anyone interested in finding out a bit more about the development of houses during Queen Victoria's reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History)
The Victorian House Explained (England's Living History) by Trevor Yorke (Paperback - 19 Oct 2005)
6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews