Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand!
Being brought up in a mining community on the Notts/Derbys border its refreshing to read my heritage in print......indeed one thing that Thatcher couldn't destroy. A wonderful little book with words and phrases I had not heard since childhood. With the advent of political regionalisation these sort of books ought to be a must in educational establishments to remind...
Published on 8 Sep 2003 by The Humble Ram

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A guide to Derbyshire dialect
If you're mystified by the meaning of words like "jitty" and "sucker", and if you're not sure whether you're being insulted or complimented when you're called "bonny" or told that your tea tastes like "mazziwatter", then you need this book.
"Ey up Mi Duck" is a short book of definitions of Derbyshire dialect words,...
Published on 6 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand!, 8 Sep 2003
By 
The Humble Ram "Thehumbleram" (nottingham, nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
Being brought up in a mining community on the Notts/Derbys border its refreshing to read my heritage in print......indeed one thing that Thatcher couldn't destroy. A wonderful little book with words and phrases I had not heard since childhood. With the advent of political regionalisation these sort of books ought to be a must in educational establishments to remind children the origins of their fathers, mothers and grandparents dialect. The sort of book you hold for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for those you've moved away, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
The main thing I have left from growing up in Heanor in South
derbyshire is my (some would say broad) local accent.
This book is a wonderfully humorous and affectionate look at
something I hold dear, and has some surprisingly scholarly
discussions of the local drawl next to the funnies.
A must for those who like me no longer live in the area for
when you feel homesick, also just about passes muster as a translation guide :-)
any road tat tar mi ducks SEIVE THEE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bril-yunt, 16 Jan 2009
By 
Pedro Conejo (Fuerteventura, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
I hadn't seen this book since I was a teenager but have recently come in for some stick for my accent by some other expats here in Spain (I do produce entire classes of Derbyshire-sounding Spanish kids in school). I have no intention of changing and this book has helped me remember how I should be speaking instead of ah sum mardy suthner thinks I should speak. Works as a dictionary too. A linguistic classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bobby dazzler!, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
I was born and brought up in Ilson in the 1950's, now living in Wales, and this little gem brought back so many wonderful happy memories of my childhood. Most of my family are sadly not around anymore, but this book reminded me so much of uncles, aunts, and my mum , who all spoke with the old dialect. Even at the age of 60, and having lived in Wales for 40 years, there are still phrases I use that are to be found in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A guide to Derbyshire dialect, 6 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
If you're mystified by the meaning of words like "jitty" and "sucker", and if you're not sure whether you're being insulted or complimented when you're called "bonny" or told that your tea tastes like "mazziwatter", then you need this book.
"Ey up Mi Duck" is a short book of definitions of Derbyshire dialect words, especially as used in the south Derbyshire town of Ilkeston.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Derbyshire Dialect, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a gift to my son, as we have a duck joke thing between us, both he and myself found this book interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ey Up Mi Ducks, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
The Erewash and Amber Valleys have lost a lot of their distinctive features over the years, most recently with the closure of Stanton Ironworks, so it`s good to see something of local culture preserved.

One thing I would say though, it may be worth seeking out the three original paperback volumes of Ey Up Mi Duck, which were privately published by the authors, or the later reprints from a firm called Hargood, as these contain a bit on Derbyshire customs, folklore and history which is worth a look.These are also available on Amazon.

Having said that, the Notts/Derbyshire border has much to offer (the industrial heritage, the canals, the countryside) which the outside world is too often unaware of, so I welcome anything which raises it`s profile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ey Up Mi Duck, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
Another nostalgic offering for folks who have left their native South Derbyshire and the Erewash Valley. Will this language survive? Probably not, so this book is important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Facts & Fun, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
A good mix of facts and fun, this is a fascinating exploration of the East Midlands dialect. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect) (Paperback)
This book was bought for a friend, I had read the book years ago before buying this copy for her. Good to have a service that will also deliver to a requested address rather than to account holder only. Many thanks. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ey Up Mi Duck!: Dialect of Derbyshire and the East Midlands (Local Dialect)
5.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews