Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for any adoptive or foster parent
I'm afraid I have to quite disagree with the previous foster carer who suggested that this book is only useful for those children who have been sexually abused. This is a wonderful book, easy to read, hands-on and parent-friendly. It's intelligently written and backed up with careful research. I cannot recommend it more highly for any adoptive or foster parent. It's a...
Published on 1 Sep 2006 by de facto

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best adoption book out there
This book does have some good ideas but the author does not execute them at all well. So poorly in fact I even wondered if the book was ever edited. I understand why we were asked to read it as part of our assessment as compared to a lot of the workbooks that our out there it seems to offer a more practical way of parenting but the ideas are so all over the place I am not...
Published on 22 Jan 2011 by Amstar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best adoption book out there, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
This book does have some good ideas but the author does not execute them at all well. So poorly in fact I even wondered if the book was ever edited. I understand why we were asked to read it as part of our assessment as compared to a lot of the workbooks that our out there it seems to offer a more practical way of parenting but the ideas are so all over the place I am not sure that it will ever be of any real use.
The author flits between simple and non simple language (who has ever called a baby a young human), exclamation marks are everywhere and just when you think she is actually going to give you a piece of advice you can use she tells you to go read another book that will explain it better.
I am not saying don't read this book as if you have to read it for your assessment of course you are going to read it, but just don't let this be the only book you read. We found our social worker a much better resource than this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well intentioned but confusing, 11 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
We were also asked to read this as part of adoption assessment. There's no doubt that there's a lot of useful information, particularly for children who have suffered a particularly rough start in life and anything that helps them is to be supported. However the bit I didn't like was constantly suggesting an approach and then saying (in bold) BUT DON'T DO THIS IF.. I would have found it more helpful to have chapters split out for children who have been subject to different types of abuse or neglect before being adopted or fostered as at least you could read a whole section that might be more appropriate to your child.
Some of the suggestions I just found very odd - e.g putting honey on child's mouth and then licking it off yourself or letting your child streak in the rain? I understand what the author is trying to achieve but I found it a bit off-beat for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for any adoptive or foster parent, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
I'm afraid I have to quite disagree with the previous foster carer who suggested that this book is only useful for those children who have been sexually abused. This is a wonderful book, easy to read, hands-on and parent-friendly. It's intelligently written and backed up with careful research. I cannot recommend it more highly for any adoptive or foster parent. It's a sad fact that today, nearly all children adopted have been through the care system with complex and traumatic histories - they're rarely babies these days. Caroline really understands this and the shock it is to the many parents who are ill-prepared for the pain their child is in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
A good book for adoptive parents with many helpful points to help deal with attachments issues and easy to read. Can appear a little negative at the start but don't let this put you off. Great to keep as a reference book for future use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Steps in Parenting Book, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
An excellent way of increasing your knowledge and awareness on this subject. Easy to get into from start to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 28 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
I agree with the 2nd review i 1st borrowed this book from the library as we are looking into adopting a toddler, and i have to say that this book is fantastic and i am now going to buy it from amazon !It is full of practical advice alot of it is common sense but sometimes when you're in a situation you can't always think of the most straight forward solution, and this book gives lots & lots of great advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the themes are just wrong, 28 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
Overall I think this book is a useful resource, however, you quickly know from how thin the book is that it doesn't go nearly far enough.

Some of the things mentioned in the book, the honey on the mouth, encouraging your children to run around in the rain naked (it's usually cold when it rains); getting a larger bed and having your child sleep in with you, nursing your adopted child (!?!?!) are simply wrong. I would not recommend these things and I don't know anyone that would.

The previous reviewer that said the book should be split to deal with different types of abuse had it right.

I still would recommend this book, but don't switch your brain off and simply take it as how things must be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of useful ideas, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Christina (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are lots and lots of very practical ideas in this book. Many books explain the theory but don't tell you how to apply it, whereas this is more of an activity book. The only thing is that because it's for very young children, it mostly focuses on the positive actions you need to take e.g. how to build attachment, rather than how to manage it when they are on the floor kicking and screaming in a supermarket, without undoing all the good attachment work you have been doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Preparation, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
Received purchase quickly and condition of book very good. Useful practical and emotional tips for preparing for reciving a child through Fostering or Adoption
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful to those adopting abused children, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers (Paperback)
I am fostering a bereaved child, and whilst I found some of the advice helpful, I found the book concentrated upon children who had been sexually abused. It would be useful to potential foster carers or adoptive parents of such children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Steps in Parenting the Child Who Hurts: Tiddlers and Toddlers
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews