Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic book series I've ever read
The art, the humour, the characterisation, the dialogue - there is simply nothing not to like about Preacher.

If you're not familiar with the story, go buy Gone To Texas (Preacher Vol 1) and begin reading one of the best comic book series ever made, if you've been following till here...

Our heroes arrive in New Orleans, where an old friend of...
Published on 2 Oct. 2010 by Mishaal M. Bayoumi

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another bumper filled book of swearing, with no apparent storyline or point
The Preacher series get rave reviews all over Amazon. As a big fan of comics I decided to give them a try based on these recommendations, but was really disappointed by what i found. First complaint is the language. Page after page of unnecessary and repetitive swearing; i am no prude and appreciate the use of profanity to a fairly high tolerance, but the repeated and...
Published on 1 Sept. 2010 by Matt Share

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic book series I've ever read, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
The art, the humour, the characterisation, the dialogue - there is simply nothing not to like about Preacher.

If you're not familiar with the story, go buy Gone To Texas (Preacher Vol 1) and begin reading one of the best comic book series ever made, if you've been following till here...

Our heroes arrive in New Orleans, where an old friend of Cassidy's -- who just happens to be a voodoo priest -- may be able to help Jesse unlock the secrets locked deep within Genesis. Unfortunately, a dark aspect of Cassidy's past threatens to interfere with lethal consequences.

A masterful installment of a masterful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preacher, you know em you love em so why not read some more, 19 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
I first started reading preacher in Judge Dredd megazine, when i realised i was on;ly buying it for preacher i decided it was time to buy the books.
Dixie fried is yet another excellent installment of the preacher series. As with most of the preacher books, it keeps you hanging on with twists, action and excellent artwork.
be prepared to see characters in a whole new light and see Jesse Custer confront genesis to find out the truth about the saint of killers.
all round, an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic book, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Ms. S. Greenwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my sister- who is a complete fan - cannot comment beyond this really as not my cup of tea - but she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Story is building, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as the first four books but when you look at the preacher books as a whole it's needed to fill in the gaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
In all honesty I must firstly say that this isn't exactly the best Preacher TPB of the series. The story takes itself a teensy bit TOO serious here, with TOO much pointless graphic violence, and the bizar humor is also on low-profile for the time being (which is not a good thing here). Cassidy has some good oneliners but that's pretty much it for the humorous bit in this trade. The first two issues in here are about Jesse having to face Tulip again after what he did to her in France (see "Proud Americans" for that). Tulip handles it in her own manner and then wents out to get a drink in the bar, where she gets to hear a disturbing confession from Cassidy. After that she meets an old friend and the rest of these issues is filled with them talking and reflecting on their lives and relationships these last couple of years. In the rest of the issues (#29-33) Jesse thinks of (and tries) a way to try and get in contact with the Genesis entity in his head (an idea he had because of what the angel in the previous volume said). When he goes to meet the person who can possibly help him with this it turns out that Cassidy and this person have a (negative) history together, and if that isn't enough there's also a group of wannabe vampires called 'Les enfants du sang' who know Cassidy from the past and need him to do something for them now (a past that is cleared up in the Preacher Special "Cassidy: Blood & Whiskey" which is also collected in this trade). One of the positive notes that I need to share here is the return of Arseface in this trade. His goal is to avenge his father but he turns out to have another carreer-perspective ahead of him (a hysterically funny one I might add), which DOES really come to the good of the mood in this trade. Also, the included Preacher Special about Cassidy is also good reading. Not that important for the general story, but very nice. In here the humor IS at level.
The story in this TPB seems nothing more than a filler, which wouldn't even need to have been so bad if the humor had been at level. But that, like I said, isn't really the case. Overall pointless violence has the upper hand without the sub-plot adding anything to Jesse's quest. Now I don't wanna make it sound like it's an awful book because it IS pretty nice reading, but for Preacher standards I consider this one of the lesser volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little off the wall, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
Personally, I like the pseudo-vampire wannabies in this volume, (Especially Lilly) as well as the Cassidy backstory. This is the first real glimpse we get that Cass isn't the good time guy with a nasty side that we thought he was, but something far darker. The echoes of Xavier's previous friendship with Cassidy resound throughout the rest of the series. This one is a little short of the mark next to the rest of Preacher, but 5 stars anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another bumper filled book of swearing, with no apparent storyline or point, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Preacher: Dixie Fried (Paperback)
The Preacher series get rave reviews all over Amazon. As a big fan of comics I decided to give them a try based on these recommendations, but was really disappointed by what i found. First complaint is the language. Page after page of unnecessary and repetitive swearing; i am no prude and appreciate the use of profanity to a fairly high tolerance, but the repeated and often pointless use of it in this book was actually distracting. I swiftly became inured to it, and in fact started to tune out to what was going on. There are frequent hyper violent sequences (i have never seen so many people shot in the head in a comic series) that are merely held together with profanity. If this was an infrequent structure it would be more bearable, but it is far from that. Much of the story follows this pattern.

There are some good characters in this tale, but their development remains strangely stunted and one dimensional; characters like Cass and the Allfather D'Aronique are drawn larger than life and have potential to be fascinating but this potential is rarely fulfilled, and fairly ludicrous characters like Jesse (a man whose voice is literally the Word of God but who chooses to usually use his fists - and always wins despite the odds) and Herr Starr fill the storylines with a blandness and lack of believability that strains the readers credulity.

The storylines are the biggest problem however; what starts off as a grand and ambitious story arc (the abdication from heaven of God in the face of a new creation spawned of Angel and Demon) seems to zigzag wildly, with hugely important events and themes covered in such a cursory and unengaging way that the overall story meanders horribly. After a while i found i was just reading fairly mundane events from Jesse and Tulips life that seemed punctuated with significant moments that went nowhere. Ennis's previous work has been mediocre in my opinion and this was no different - well before the conclusion of the story he appears to have lost interest and the resulting conclusion to the book is almost an afterthought, and highly unsatisfying. Even the scarcely credible strands of plot could have worked with a bit more thought and effort but as they are, they just stink.

Some of the artwork is great however, and Glenn Fabry's cover art is fantastic throughout.

So in conclusion i thought Preacher was a really poor example of a comic. They rely throughout on Ennis's ability to shock the reader with violence and profanity, and this wears off really quickly, revealing a disjointed and underwhelming story with badly realised characters punching their way through a tiresome storyline. Some good potential with story and characters is wasted in favour of yet more sex and violence. If you are a 14 yr old boy who thinks Natural Born Killers was the best film ever made then this is probably for you. If you like something a bit more cerebral with a plot and proper characters, go and buy something by Alan Moore or Frank Miller, or any of the other great writers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Preacher: Dixie Fried
Preacher: Dixie Fried by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 30 Oct. 1998)
Used & New from: £4.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Preacher Volume 5 TP
Preacher Volume 5 TP by Steve Dillon (Paperback - 26 Aug. 2014)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1)   
Buy new£14.99
In stock

Preacher, Vol 6: War In The Sun
Preacher, Vol 6: War In The Sun by Various (Paperback - 13 July 2005)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   
Buy new£13.50
In stock

Preacher Book 4 TP
Preacher Book 4 TP by Steve Dillon (Paperback - 1 July 2014)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2)   
Buy new£14.99
In stock