Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars21
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2013
I have to address my love for this graphic novel. It's a really well paced, and entertaining. There are criticisms, some justified, some not (MAYBE SPOILERS?);

1)Failure to save the little girl despite having the 'gadgets' can be explained as this is only the fourth 'Legend of the Dark Knight' story, so the lack of tools is because we are shown a young batman.

2)Batman written out of character can be explained by the personality affecting drugs which are VERY STRONG and he has been taking for at least THREE MONTHS.

3)The fact he is so distraught over the girls death is self-explanatory, as well as the fact that early batman would find it difficult to come to terms with letting a drowning girl die, let alone any other man.

4)Perhaps he should have picked up on the Father's unsympathetic response, however Batman is so distraught on what he let happen that he may have been a little distracted to notice details such as that

5)Alfred coming with him on the island is the only thing that didn't make sense to me, but may be due to the fact that he needed someone to fly him there, and Batman is not yet a confident flyer...

For all the questionable points, there are more amazing moments to counteract. The writing for Alfred is nailed in this than most others. He is a witty character who maintains Batman's life, exchanges conversation to help boost his thought process, and tries to be a moral compass, suggesting to read when Batman is physically obsessed and shows his displeasure when Batman crosses the line peacefully. Tears welled up in scene where he is standing outside the Batcave, helping Batman with the addiction - Worth it for this scene ALONE!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
Collecting the original story arc from 'Legends of the Dark Knight' #16 to #20, this is certainly one of the great Batman stories. The writer, Dennis O'Neil, has a really solid understanding of the character and sets up a convincing series of events and choices that lead to Batman developing a drug addiction. The conclusion, where our hero resolves to bring to justice those who caused him harm drives right to the heart of Batman's origins whilst the ending leaves you to question the price that he has been forced to pay in his nightly quest.There is also plenty of action, handled superbly by the artistic team of Trevor Von Eeden (layouts), Russell Braun (pencil art), and Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez (inker), really making you feel the weight of the rocks and the speed of the van chases. These action scenes are a vital part of the story with Batman not always coming out on top, leeding both the character and reader to question whether he will make it past that next goon or stop that approaching shark. His decision to take a performance enhancing drug can be sympathised with thanks to some terrific writing from the author.In short this book is a must have for any comics fan. It takes the high-speed cliffhanger action scenes of the past and merges them perfectly with the adult themes and character driven plots of the modern age. You will not be dissappointed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is definitely worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
This comic is quality, lots of action, a great story and Batman being a bad ass. Although most silver age comics are designed for 8 year olds, this comic is aimed at a more mature audience. The story keeps me constantly entertained, and excited when reading this book. Batman is a drug addict in this story, which makes sense, for any people put off by this concept. And he fights a freaking shark!!! Denny O'Neil is a great comic book writer (Batman No Mans Land, Green Lantern Green Arrow) and he writes this. I love comics, but sometimes the stories are repetitive, so to have a really interesting plot, makes it refreshing, this story has a great plot. Must buy for any Batman fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Very well written strory that serves as a prelude of sorts to knightfall, by introducing the drug venom. This book also explores the more fragile side of batman, and how devastating it can be for him to lose.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Read some reviews that this wasn't a good read with remarks like 'well why didn't batman use his gadgets to save that girl at the beginning?' 'The story is weak batman turns to steroids aka venom to keep himself at his prime?' These opinions put me off but been a batman fan I bought it an personally it is one of the best graphic novels I have read. Not very often I'll read a graphic novel twice or more but I have with this one. Must read!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Not in my top 30 batman books, not unpleasant to read, just nothing special, remarkable or memorable about the story or characters. If you love everything batman then give it a go, after all, just my humble option. Felt to me like a silverage type story with very one dimensional cardboard characters .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Wow, this is a great comic if you want to learn more about Batman's guilt. The darknight cannot save everyone and this is a really good story on how he would do anything to rectify this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
Ive heard a lot of good things about this story and been after it for quite some time, finally I got it today and its a bit of a letdown. The story opens with Batman trying to save a little girl from drowning in a tunnel and quite shockingly he fails, its incredibly dark and makes it much more convincing when Batman starts using the steroids Venom to increase his strength later in the story. One early scene sees Batman visit the dead girls father to deliver the news of her death in an almost comical manner he tells him she died "alone and in fear" good choice of words Batman!
The story of the addiction and Batmans struggle to go cold turkey are all nicely done but the final part of the story sees Batman hunt down the people who gave him the drugs and this is where it falls apart, in one scene Batman fights a shark, that pretty much says it all although it is fun to see him in a jungle enviroment away from Gotham.
The set up for the story is so good its easy to see why its considered a classic but the end result is flawed mainly due to the final act being so naff, still it does lead to Knightfall and is another story from Batmans early career along with the long halloween, snow and gothic that are worth a read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
A fantastic and epic story, recommended for any fans of the Batman new or old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.