Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing..
Very inspiring and wellwritten guide, we are so looking forward to be walking from St. Bernhard to Rome next september.
Published 9 months ago by Kim Pedersen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Having used other Ciccerone Guides in the past I was very disappointed with it
Used this for my pilgrimage this year. Having used other Ciccerone Guides in the past I was very disappointed with it. The maps were pathetic. No topographical maps either. Too many errors, Distance calculation suspect in some sections, wrong telephone numbers can be forgive as numbers change, but sporadic detail on directions to the obvious accommodation choice. i.e...
Published 5 months ago by R W Ward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Having used other Ciccerone Guides in the past I was very disappointed with it, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
Used this for my pilgrimage this year. Having used other Ciccerone Guides in the past I was very disappointed with it. The maps were pathetic. No topographical maps either. Too many errors, Distance calculation suspect in some sections, wrong telephone numbers can be forgive as numbers change, but sporadic detail on directions to the obvious accommodation choice. i.e. Ostellos and instructions to turn left when it should be right and thus incurring extra distance with tired legs tends to make regret your choice of guide. However. Walked with others who had another English language guide who thought it was far batter than theirs??? Its strong point is giving some route variation options which was welcome and allowed you go 'off piste in places with a degree of confidence, and no requirement to make you reliant on GPS coordinates, thus you walk with your 'head up' so not all bad and I did after all get to Rome using it so two and a half stars would be a better reflection of my views of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
We have just completed walking from Canterbury to Rome and took along part 1 and part 2 of this book and in my opinion there are far too many mistakes in the book (left instead of right and right instead of left) there have also been quite a few changes to the route and a couple of the described routes are very overgrown or difficult to follow, However there are plenty of route markers to guide you on the new trail in Italy. France and Switzerland however have very few waymarks. The accommodation information and town info are good however some of the Std codes are wrong. I feel the book would benefit greatly with more detailing given to the mapping (as we found in other books) but overall the book had some uses in our adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing.., 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
Very inspiring and wellwritten guide, we are so looking forward to be walking from St. Bernhard to Rome next september.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good example, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am walking the Via Francigena as I write this review. Most of the directions are impossible to follow unless you walk with your nose in the book, there are so many left, right, KSO that you can just as easy get lost in the book as on the trail. The route is so well marked that I have only had the need to read the information about each town and where the hostels are, and it could have done with more info in those sections. The maps are pointless, and of no use when trying to find your way. In all, I would say this is expensive for what it provides, and I would recommend looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
haven't read it all and looks fine. but book a little heavy when counting the KGs on ones back. blah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. S. A. Humphery "Arnsidereader" (Cumbria England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
This is am excellent book which will help hopefully when we do some of this walk in April this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars poor directions., 10 Nov. 2014
By 
SWL Strickland "SWLS" (Abu Dhabi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
Not very clear in parts; poor directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Carole Noble - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome - Part 2: The Great St Bernard Pass to Rome (Cicerone Guide) (Paperback)
The best guide for this pilgrimage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews