Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful but lacks enthusiasm
We've just returned from a trekking holiday on La Palma and found this book invaluable. The route descriptions and specific maps kept us on track and together with the excellent signs on the ground made for an enjoyable trip. However,there are some minor and one major issue where the book could be improved:

The route location map of the whole island shown...
Published 13 months ago by Dr Ron Crawford

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We nearly died!
This 'guide' led us on a walk where we nearly expired.

La Palma is very steep.

Some of these walks are not possible without a mountaineering past.

You can't walk on La Palma, it's all climbing up or climbing down.

Beautiful it may be, strolling it isn't!
Published 12 months ago by Beerdadtwy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We nearly died!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This 'guide' led us on a walk where we nearly expired.

La Palma is very steep.

Some of these walks are not possible without a mountaineering past.

You can't walk on La Palma, it's all climbing up or climbing down.

Beautiful it may be, strolling it isn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful but lacks enthusiasm, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
We've just returned from a trekking holiday on La Palma and found this book invaluable. The route descriptions and specific maps kept us on track and together with the excellent signs on the ground made for an enjoyable trip. However,there are some minor and one major issue where the book could be improved:

The route location map of the whole island shown before the Introduction is too small and lacking in detail. It should be enlarged to cover two pages and include topographical, route and road details like those used in the Rother guides La Palma: Rother Walking Guide.

As mentioned by at least one other reviewer, the author needs to bring the routes to life by better use of adjectives and enthusiastic descriptions. I appreciate that given the 45 walks described, it's not feasible to dwell in detail on each of them but the following suggestions would make useful improvements. On walk 20 from Tijarafe down to the astonishing abandoned cliff dwellings at Poris de Candelaria, which we did on a blistering hot day, the paved zig-zag exposed cliff path at the bottom barely gets a mention when it's by far the best part of the walk. Clinging precariously to the cliff face it's an amazing piece of workmanship. Similarly the variation of walk 39 on the section from Las Tricias to Buracas is glossed over too quickly. The steep stone steps climbing out of the far side of the Buracas cave system are a delight.

The guide would also benefit from selecting the top 5 or 10 walks on the island. This book is a very worthwhile purchase and trekking companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow - lots of walk options, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Easy to carry - Walks were very easy to follow - tied in exactly with the marked walks on La Palma - and the walks are very well marked - it would be difficult to get lost - lots of very practical information and excellent maps of the walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has a lot of good walks but it is a bit dull, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This book has a lot of useful information and a lot of good walks which are quite easy to follow. We used it a lot during our 2-week stay in La Palma. However, we did find that it was much drier and duller than any other book of walks we have used. We usually found ourselves wondering what he had against the use of adjectives; it would have been very useful to know what a walk would be like before we set off, but there was no way to know from the dry descriptions. This led to some amazing surprises, which was good in a way, but in order to choose between walks it is useful to have information to help you to choose which one you think you would enjoy more. A few more pictures would have helped, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good walking guide for La Palma, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
A well-researched and well-written walking guide for La Palma. I brought several guides to the Island and this is the one I ended up using the most.

The route descriptions are superb, but unfortunately the mapping is not up to Cicerone's usual standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Walking on La Palma, 22 April 2013
By 
J. Friedmann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a serious walker this book is a must. We did a couple of shorter walks and loved the island (especially for its astronomy) but the volcanoes came close second and this book makes planning and executuing a walk well worth while. Take a walking pole as well as the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Very accurate descriptions of the walks and plenty of choice with ability to adapt some. Handy size book for taking with you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, followed two of the longerdistance walks on ..., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent guide, followed two of the longerdistance walks on a recent holiday on the island and deatils of the walks were readily understood and easy to follow. Use in conjunction with the La Palma Tour and Trail Map (David Brawn) for best results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good walking book, 7 Sep 2011
By 
R. F. Leonard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This is a good walking book for the very serious walker but lacks an adequate large scale map of La Palma and I would also have expected for so small an Island a general synopsis of the "must see" sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GR131 trek, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I used this guide while completing a full traverse of the GR131 through all the islands in winter 2011/12. I used Cicerone guides exclusively and my comments relate to all Cicerone guides to the islands. (Gran Canaria and Lanzarote were not waymarked at the time of my walk).
First, these guides are up to Cicerones usual high quality. The route descriptions are excellent and you are unlikely to get lost even without a map. The info on accomodation and buses is very useful. Ferry info is necessarily vague as the timetables change regularly.
The guides are obviously aimed at day walkers using a fixed base for their walks and as such there is some important info missing for long distance hikers on the GR131, notably water supply points. I often found water at ermitas and picnic places (particularly in the western islands) although the text didn't always mention this. Consequently I often carried much more water than I needed. In the eastern islands water was mostly scrounged from cafes and bars and it was normal for me to carry up to 5 litres.
As wild camping is illegal the guides don't give any suggestions for night halts under canvas. On the forested islands it's easy to find somewhere discreet for the night, on Fuerteventura and Lanzarote much less so.
Trekking the GR131 in a "oner" is possible but it's pretty tough mainly because of the lack of water and legal campsites.
Probably the best guides available in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking on La Palma: The World's Steepest Island (Cicerone Guides)
£10.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews