Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and accurate
I visited Gran Canaria in January and the time was ideal for long walks in the mountains. Not too hot, some very cool days but with appropriate clothing there were no problems. When the clouds were low, it was easy to pick lower routes. I used to book for both selecting routes and navigating on them. There were no problems and the instructions were easy to follow. In one...
Published 16 months ago by Jippu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed experience
The routes are nicely written and I think its a good book if you intend to exclusively follow the walks as described. But there are a lot of other paths and roads crossing those. The maps are also consentrated on the routes and difficult to use for other purposes. Since my goal for the trip was to both walk on and off "the trodden path" I met some difficulties.
Published 4 months ago by Kaj Johansen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and accurate, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I visited Gran Canaria in January and the time was ideal for long walks in the mountains. Not too hot, some very cool days but with appropriate clothing there were no problems. When the clouds were low, it was easy to pick lower routes. I used to book for both selecting routes and navigating on them. There were no problems and the instructions were easy to follow. In one case did I select a wrong downhill route (in rather bad shape) about which there was no warning but otherwise it was fine. The Camino Real to Maspalomas from San Bartolome is, as the author says, not yet ready, so he gives just the highway route which is not for walking: (too many cars and lots of bicyclists). With the map one can find a much better footpath route, so a good map is very useful!
In any case I warmly recommend this guide. It keeps the good Cicerone standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All brilliant ... just one request...., 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
The individual maps for each walk are excellent, as were the directions. The only addition I would like, and be willing to pay for, would be an overall map, to show all the routes and their interconnections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed experience, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
The routes are nicely written and I think its a good book if you intend to exclusively follow the walks as described. But there are a lot of other paths and roads crossing those. The maps are also consentrated on the routes and difficult to use for other purposes. Since my goal for the trip was to both walk on and off "the trodden path" I met some difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maps let the book down, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Some of the route descriptions lack clear directions of reaching the start - essential information before you can get going. The style of walk descriptions is at times rather terse as if you are on a route-march instead of doing it for pleasure.

My biggest disappointments were the maps which are not detailed enough. I would recommend 'Gran Canaria Tour & Trail Super-Durable Map' from the reliable and accurate publishers, Discovery Walking Guides Ltd. Unfortunately they don't have a walks book at present though their Tour & Trail Map includes a good number of clear and up to date walking trails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it!, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
We bought this before we went to Gran Canaria and did some walks from the book. All of them were great, every one of them different. We have great experience with these books, it is very well described! If you want to do walks, u must have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant "must have guide", 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Brilliant - a absolutely must have book for walking this island!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good routes, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book. Good route descriptions and adequate mapping. My only concern is that most of the routes are linear whereas I expected more circular routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Used it on my trip, and loved the details the author has put into every walk. But the walks are not for unexperienced....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides)
Walking on Gran Canaria (Cicerone Guides) by Paddy Dillon (Paperback - 25 Oct. 2013)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews